We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot at sunset for dinner or a cocktail!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balcony Bar & Oyster Co

Balcony Bar & Oyster Co
Ranked #27 of 186 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Meters back from legendary main beach, Balcony Bar & Oyster Co sits perched high above the hustle and bustle of Byron Bays busy streets. This heritage listed building is reminiscent of a seaside beach house. The signature wrap around deck captures the setting sun and is the perfect place to tuck into some freshly shucked oysters with an icy cold beer or a glass or rose. Executive Chef Sean Connolly has prepared a menu reflecting his signature style of cooking; simple, approachable and where possible on the bone or in the shell, allowing the produce to speak for itself. Balcony Bar & Oyster Co. exudes a neighbourhood spot where you can drop by anytime for a drink with friends and a few oysters or small plates.
Sydney
Level Contributor
135 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely spot at sunset for dinner or a cocktail!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

The balcony never disappoints. Bit of a local legend... The food and cocktails are always amazing but only if you aren't in a rush. They are not renowned for their service. Take your time, order food straight away and expect it to take a while. That being said was with a group of 20 women last night and the service was exemplary! Fantastic, attentive and friendly. Would recommend to anyone. Great views over Main Street from the balcony and a nice chilled vibe.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brannigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    301
    180
    115
    107
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aweful, I was sick two hours later”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I'm never eating here again, I ate lunch here (I don't eat breakfast) and then went home from work sick two hours later.

Helpful?
Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Drink on the brink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

In a four day stay, we managed to have a beer here everyday. Settled on the draft Asahi as being the best as the local brew is a bit sweet. Reading past reviews, the managment must have reviewed their hiring policy because we found the staff to be friendly and speedy (except when it came to paying strangely) Great vantage point to watch the "goings on" and we ordered a late-night pizza from the Dominos across the road and got a visual "thumbs up" from the staff there when it was ready. Would go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Cool location and great decor, so I came back for a second visit on the recent vacation. Food seemed to have improved (although I was only there for breakfast). Served by a pretty stern fella who neither smiled or was particularly polite. Didn't interact with many other staff, but they seemed quite friendly. Perhaps we were just unlucky.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ololiferous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Appalling Service, Average Food, Great Ambience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The service at the Balcony was so appalling it compelled me to write a review. We visited on Sunday 30th September and I note the date so that the owners will know which staff I refer to. Let's start with the positives - the look and feel of the restaurant is fantastic, great central location and amazing effort has gone into creating an intimate Asian ambience. That's where the positives end unfortunately. We were seated, ordered drinks and then because we had children with us ordered meals not long after being seated. We waited over an hour for our meals. I have to give credit to our waitress as she did acknowledge the wait and apologise. However, this kind of wait is totally unacceptable and then to see food arriving on the tables of people seated after us added to the frustration. When our drinks arrived, they forgot one of the orders, we actually didn't remind them as we were starting to give up at this point. When the food arrived, it was average at best. Certainly not value for money. Small portions with overwhelming garnish and certainly by no means justifying the extraordinary length of wait time. Upon paying, I gave feedback to the Manageress about the unacceptable wait time for the meal. Here's where things really started to get out of control. Her approach to the complaint was first to be obtuse - not dealing with the issue but offering explanations that inferred my expectations were unrealistic. When I commented that the food really didn't provide the quality the wait justified, she became even more obnoxious [not a word I use lightly]. Was offered a discount, got the missed drinks order taken off the bill and then our final reward for enduring the Balcony's offerings was to have her ridicule me to the people settling their bill after I had finished. Here are some suggestions to the management and owners of the Balcony: a) monitor your order turnaround times, if there is going to be a long wait for orders then firstly, advise new guests especially ones with children and/or at least put a bread offering on the table to see your guests through to their order. b) less garnish more substance to your meals c) train your staff to deal politely and professionally with feedback d) work hard to re-establish the reputation your ambience and location deserves.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelwell2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balcony Bar & Oyster Co also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to Balcony Bar & Oyster Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing