We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eye of the storm”
Review of Rae's Fish Cafe - CLOSED

Rae's Fish Cafe
Price range: $68 - $72
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant at Rae's on Wategos is widely regarded as the must visit restaurant when spending time in Byron Bay. With breathtaking views of Wategos Beach it is truly one of the great dining experiences. Specialising in the best local Seafood, we cater for all tastes and dietary requirements. We encourage guests to come, relax and laze the afternoon or evening away.
Sydney
Level Contributor
238 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Eye of the storm”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Rae's restaurant or Fish Cafe, by whatever name, at Wategos beach. The patio overlooking the little park onto the beach and this evening the ragged ocean, cloudy and grey but not inside at Rae's.

Greeted and seated we opted for the open side, punting the weather may hold off. A chilled glass of Louis Roderer, the available fish and menu beautifully explained by the professional though casually engaging young lady and we were waist deep in relaxed yet sophisticated spoiling - a place we like to wallow.

Rae's is looking tired, but probably storm damaged is more appropriate, the food is still very good, the ambiance also. The location is a big plus normally but as we watched the very dark /black sky approach from the north east an ominous for boding developed.

The scallops, squid and mains were all fresh and well presented lightly and delicately infused with subtle flavours of asia with limes well represented also.

Boom the storm hit, scattering us to a back booth for protection. The front of house team, taking it all in their pleasant helpful style, the rain was a tropical torrent but guests continued to arrive and like us made the best of it, mostly laughter.

The storm continued and we were mostly drenched by the 30m dash home, it was still we worth the tempest.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BBear52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    24
    26
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port d'Addaia, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stylish, relaxed and most of all - Great Food”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Heavy rain and not having a sunset view - no worries, as the friendly welcome, and most of all absolutely stunningly delicious food was all that mattered ! After a day on the beach, it was time to dress up smart and celebrate our first visit to Byron at this stylish Restaurant. Outstanding flavours, and a good wine list. Next time will hope for a golden sunset and full moon over the bay, but until then the memory of our great meal will keep us smiling!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zensilence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Needed to kill a couple of hours pre-flight back yo Sydney. They were very happy to look after all our luggage while we had lunch. Three of us plus baby. Great wine recommendations, excellent food, very friendly people. HUGE BILL - but it was holiday so who cares!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxm1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a great find, great food, wonderful staff.”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

While wandering to the lighthouse we stumbled across this treat of an eatery. With a great Mediterranean style space for eating with a view down to the beach.

The food was excellent and bearing in mind how expensive Byron bay in general is I thought reasonably priced. the best part was the staff, informative on the menu, very attentive and also very good at entertaining.

I would 100% recommend this restaurant and will return on my next visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sultry Summer Lux Lunch”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Shelter from the heat of the day amongst the scent of the blossoming frangipani... I was warmly welcomed by Mr Rae, refreshed from a surf in the crystal clear waters of Watego's... Its not my first time dining at Raes's... I keep returning, for the simple reasoning that it is the best dining experience in Byron... the romance of the setting, the light breeze from the ocean, the Bromely's that flank the walls and of course the exquisite flavours of the cuisine and the wine... OH THE SNAPPER... yes please, more please... Thank you to Michael, it was your effortless grace in service that made our day a luxurious one, very very happy customer.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uberalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rae's Fish Cafe also viewed

 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Ewingsdale, Byron Bay
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing