We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beachside dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rae's Fish Cafe - CLOSED

Rae's Fish Cafe
Price range: $68 - $72
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The restaurant at Rae's on Wategos is widely regarded as the must visit restaurant when spending time in Byron Bay. With breathtaking views of Wategos Beach it is truly one of the great dining experiences. Specialising in the best local Seafood, we cater for all tastes and dietary requirements. We encourage guests to come, relax and laze the afternoon or evening away.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beachside dining”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Over the hill from Byron Bay, Watego;s Beach is a beautiful spot with a charming hotel and cafe/restaurant only open in summer. The views and sea sounds are wonderful on a warm evening outside but there are inside seating options for too. It's not cheap eats and it pays to book. Their menu bar a few options are all marine creatures and everything we tried was delicious in our party of 5 people. It's a mod-Oz take on seafood from fish with tamarind and lime sauce to thick, rich chowder and of course fish and chips. It's licensed. I have heard, but can't confirm, you can do take aways and choose your own seating in the small pretty park or on the beach, in which case you would have to byo booze.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ngaire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    23
    26
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food from Heaven”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Being a kiwi that requires regular sun I venture to Australia frequently chasing the Sun. I also enjoy Dining out and have a love of seafood. Well i have eaten in all the best restaurants in every state and there are a number of stand outs . But on my last visit to The gold-coast i decided to venture to Byron bay and a friend recommended the recent award winning Rae's Fish Cafe overlooking the magnificent Watego beach. Well the food was simply amazing and the Morton Bay bugs BBQ were simply off the plant. They have a new chef I was told so I cant talk highly egough of the fare they prepare.My to teenage children have now decided we must travel there again for dinner and lunch next month.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank latitude40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
“Rae's at Wategoes”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Very small meals that you have to order sides as nothhing really comes with the main ordered. It's too dark at night to actually see the menu although quite romantic. Room for improvement. Staff not very friendly.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank SojournatByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not as good as I expected....”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We were recommended this place by a friend who had been here a few years ago. The setting is beautiful, we had a lovely table with a great view but the food and service did let the place down. Our waiter although very attentive was very miserable! We tried to be friendly but he seemed like he didn't want to make conversation at all.
The food was very good but I did expect a lot better for the price we had paid, it was presented ok and the flavours were ok but nothing special at all. I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharenScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great spot but overpriced and avg service”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Went here for a romantic dinner due to its setting, which really is beautiful. But you get the same view and setting from a public picnic table about 20m away - we would just go there next time! The service was friendly but slow and inattentive and the food was beautifully presented but overpriced. It tasted good and fresh but there are other places nearby with better, much more reasonably priced food. For $140 we got two tiny fingers of bread, two small entrees, two mains and one glass of wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rae's Fish Cafe also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing