We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh by name, fresh by nature”
Review of Fresh Byron

Fresh Byron
Ranked #10 of 194 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fresh by name, fresh by nature”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We are regular Byron Bay visitors, but it's been several years since we dined at Fresh. had dinner with the family (2 teenage daughters) and the food was great. Very impressed with the serviced too - waiter was most helpful. I asked for a recommndation and he was quick to say "choose something from the specials - you can't go wrong". He was right, so maybe that's a tip. The ambience at Fresh is also excellent, with the streetside location and bands often performing on the footpath

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuckerfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    229
    54
    39
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Good Food and Good Service”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The food we had here was good and so was the service. We were seated quickly and are orders taken propmptly. We even had some entertainment from a local group playing on the street outside. I also think the prices were reasonable and comparable to other restaurants in Byron. Overall, I would recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AtticusFinch14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Terrible Tiramasu”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in for coffee and cake. Great service, poor coffee 6/10 and the Tiramasu was like sponge cake with topping, they must have lost the recipe they used to use!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Hubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous food! Worth a visit”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Great breakfasts!!! Brill if you fancy a meaty brekkie! Also fab veggie options - my mate said her 'spicy mushrooms on sourdough' was in her top 5 breakfasts ever!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JBPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Arrogant staff member Michael in need of hospitality training”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Went to Byron Fresh to have lunch on Sat 29th Dec in a group of 4 for my friend's birthday. Waited at front of Byron Fresh at "wait here to be seated" sign for 5 mins being ignored by at least 3 staff members. When the table right next to the sign became available we sat down unnoticed by the staff and waited..After still not being acknowledged for 10 mins I asked a passing by waitor (Michael..tall, bald with ear ring) if we could have some menus. Michael arrogantly responded with "if you haven't been seated you don't get menus". Shocked, I asked him if he was serious about treating his customers like that who have been waiting and trying to get attention for 15 mins? He pointed at the "wait here to be seated sign" threw some menus on our table and said "I can have this argument with you all day" and walked off. We immediately stood up and left and went next door to The Balcony where we spent over $300 on lunch and cocktails for my friend's birthday. It seems Byron Fresh has lost touch with how to treat their customers and some serious hospitality staff training is needed. I wonder whether in the depths of the 2013 June/July winter quiet period and another soft economic year ahead whether Byron Fresh will wake up and treat their customers better? We will certaintly be telling as many people as we can about our experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robinson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Byron also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to Fresh Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing