We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for young kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Bay Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Outrigger Bay Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great for young kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

Stayed at the Outrigger mostly based on the reviews. Never been to Byron Bay before, and was there to attend a wedding. The apartments were fantastic, everything that you need. We travelled with a 2 y.o and 3 y.o and they had a ball. The pool was a hit, beach a short stroll, so if you forgot something, it wasnt too far to go. And town was just around the corner. What more could you ask for. We all came away, well rested and relaxed. Will definately be back again one day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurs_hunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    61
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
161
32
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

One of the best equiped appartments I have stayed in with good quality appliances not the usual toys you can get in some. Shower was knackered but they had it sorted in less than a couple of hours. If you like sleeping in pick an appartment that isn't next to the pool which has toddlers in from an early hour, as you would expect. Nothing wrong with that but one did have the most piercing voice. Location couldn't be better and my teeenage son and 20's daughter walked to the surf from the room. Shops and town centre just around the corner and walkable in few mins. I've been to Byron 5 times and this is the best place I have stayed so put it on your list. Chris.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zeberdee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

My mother and I arrived home today after having stayed at Outrigger for a week of relaxation and leisure. We certainly made the right choice; our two-bedroom apartment (at the back of the complex, not fronting the road) was incredibly spacious and immaculately clean. The bedrooms were also quite large and there was more than enough storage space, as well as lovely big wardrobes.

The bathroom was very roomy; we loved the fact that both a shower and a bath were provided - you don't always get both, and the kitchen was modern and attractive. Best of all, all the utensils and crockery you could possibly want were right there - the owners have thought of everything (I was delighted to find a large water jug, not to mention wine glasses and the option of either mugs or cups and saucers, on the shelves - again, not a lot of places provide all of this and I speak from experience, lol!) A thoughtful touch were the provisions of tea, coffee and fresh milk (handy if you arrive after a long day's traveling and you are in dire need of a hot beverage then and there).

Our ground-floor apartment backed onto a gorgeous lush garden which was superb - it was like having your own back yard because it was semi-private and peaceful. All the units in this part of the complex have that luxury. There's also a big covered patio out the back with a table and chairs, as well as a big sun chair at your disposal (you also have another table and chairs at the front of the unit overlooking the pool). It was the perfect place to relax with a book, especially in the mornings when the sun dapples through the trees and you can hear the amazing birdsong.

Location-wise, the Outrigger is brilliant. It's a very short walk into the centre of town and the complex backs onto direct beach access - a mere minute's walk and you are on the sand. We dealt mostly with Julie, one of the owners, during our stay and we can't stress enough how helpful and friendly she is. Anything you want to know, just ask and she will provide. It is thanks to her that Mum and I were recommended a great movie to go and see at the Dendy Cinema on a rainy day, not to mention her advice on which restaurants were worth a visit. There are some people in the hospitality industry who really do belong there because they have the right personality and excellent local knowledge. Julie is one of those people.

I would highly recommend staying here if you are ever in Byron.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentFlyer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

Friends had recommended this resort...
but nothing could truly prepare us for how much of a hidden gem it is!
We felt warmly welcome from the moment of arrival.
The apartments were spacious, clean & generously self-contained.
We were amazed & grateful for how close we were to the beach,
whilst the hub of Byron was only a casual stroll down the road.
We have been coming to Byron for 20 years &
have found this resort to be the best value for money.
Look no further!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

I have just spent 3 nights at Outrigger with my boyfriend and another couple and I would highly recommend it. The accommodation is really spacious and spotlessly clean. Mary and Ozzie were very helpful hosts. The location could not be better - minutes from the town and beach. I would definitely stay here again. Also the photos on the website really don't do this place justice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pondy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

I loved the Outrigger Byron Bay. It was less than 5 minute walk to town, it was really clean, very well appointed and about a 3 minute walk to the beach.
It is really THE best place to stay in Byron Bay. We will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelleBBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

My original accommodation did not work out and I changed to Outrigger Bay - so so glad
they had room, made all the difference to making my mini holiday a great one.
Loved easy walking distance to town, car hire right on the corner, direct access to the beach.
Rooms are lovely, spacious and comfortable, the hosts made me feel welcome and happy
to assist with my requests ........ highly recommended - Gail - Tasmania.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tassietraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Crest Byron Bay
The Crest Byron Bay
#1 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#20 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Bay Apartments

Property: Outrigger Bay Apartments
Address: 9 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Bay Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short stroll from town and with direct beach access, this complex has one, two and three bedroom apartments which are bright and spacious with a comfortable relaxed feel. Outrigger Bay Apartments are fully self contained and equipped with all modern conveniences, including air conditioning throughout the living area. There is also a heated outdoor pool, Hot Tub, BBQ Facilities, free wireless internet, Foxtel and secure underground parking. The landscaped gardens with BBQ area provide a relaxing escape and a safe area for children to play. There is direct beach access, and a two minute walk into town. These apartments offer a relaxing holiday experience, close to all the attractions of Byron. Outrigger Bay Apartments is also a proud winner of a Gold Listing award 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Outrigger Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Bay Apartments Hotel Byron Bay
Outrigger Byron Bay
Byron Bay Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing