We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for surf swim”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Outrigger Bay Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

A group of us have stayed here for the May surf swim for years. Great position with Byron main shopping eating area 5 minutes away. Sunday markets are over the road and beach is a 5 minute walk through the back. We had a 2 bedroom. Second bedroom is smallish and we were cold. Only a thin blanket on bed. Prices are reasonable and it would be comfortable for a longer stay as there is a washing machine, dryer and kitchen. Back area for eating looks into trees toward the beach and is pleasant. Would be good to have better wifi. We all found it impossible to get in. It was not strong.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Mjsmith64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outrigger_bay, Manager at Outrigger Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Hi Mjsmith64,
Thank you for your review. Outrigger Bay has always been popular for people participating in the May Ocean Swim because of the close proximity to the beach & direct access, and we love having such a great bunch of guests. We are very sorry to hear that you were cold and we would have been more than happy to supply extra blankets/quilts if needed. Since receiving your review we have put quilts on all the beds in time for the cooler months and extra blankets in the cupboards. In regards to the wifi, that is something we are working on and hopefully we will have speedier wifi access soon.
We hope you choose to stay with us again for next year's ocean swim.
Regards
Outrigger Bay Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 331 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

Sensational location with great proximity to shops, beach , restaurants and bars. Excellent secure underground parking, well maintained pool, garden, spa and BBQ areas. Friendly and helpful staff. Will be extremely happy to return with family and friends will definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshfeealanahmikaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outrigger_bay, Manager at Outrigger Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Outrigger Bay Apartments and look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
Thank you again,
Outrigger Bay Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great managers. Very helpful and kind!
Great location. Just behind the beach and very close to town.
Great with children. Lots of space in the apartment, nice pool and other children.
Great place to end our long vacation in Australia!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianThulstrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outrigger_bay, Manager at Outrigger Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Well Thank you Christian! It's so lovely to receive such a kind review. If ever you return to Byron Bay Australia, we would love to have you come and stay again.
Kind regards
Outrigger Bay Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment at the front of the building - which faced the road. The noise wasn't a huge issue, as we were hardly in there. The pool is adequate - nothing over the top, but you've got the beach, which is only a 1 minute walk away. The kids enjoyed the beach in the morning & pool in the afternoon. The city centre is a 5 minute walk away, so it's a very handy location.

As it's an apartment, there is no cleaning etc done during your stay. That's fine & utensils & towels etc were enough.

The managers of the complex were lovely & were happy to assist with any issue.

My only complaint is that the vertical blinds did not close properly & were broken etc & let light in. They really should be replaced. You're on holidays - who wants to wake up when dawn breaks - especially wanting the children to sleep in!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from the street, as it would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhiallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outrigger_bay, Manager at Outrigger Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Hi Rhiallie,
Thank you for the review. Outrigger Bay is a very popular place for families because of the beach access and pool, so it's lovely to see little smiles and hear the laughter of children and know that another family has left feeling happy and relaxed! Thank you for your feedback regarding the vertical blinds. We are in the process of replacing all the blinds. The majority of the complex is done, however there are still a couple of apartments which we are working on. Next time you stay, we would love to accommodate you in an apartment with brand new blinds!
We look forward to seeing you again.
regards
Outrigger Bay Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days in Feb 2014. The new owners were extremely helpful and accommodating to our needs. The 3 bed apartment was big, spacious and clean. 2 minute walk to the beach and 2 minute walk to town so once there no car needed. After having been to Byron about 10 times in my life I will definitely be returning and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Well done to the new managers who only took over recently, you made our mini break superb.

Room Tip: Ask for an end apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisyrosegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outrigger_bay, Manager at Outrigger Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words daisyrosegirl, we are really enjoying Outrigger Bay Apartments too. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Byron Bay.
Kind regards
Outrigger Bay Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our family of 5 stayed in a 3br beachside apartment and we loved it! Very conveniently located to centre of town and beach, lovely sea breeze at night, decent amount of kitchenware, great salt water pool, and a highlight for the kids - lovely Ollie the dog! So friendly and well mannered! Thanks Shannon and Bruce - you do a fantastic job! What place will you be managing in Sydney - we will look into it if we need accommodation there!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have just returned from a two week stay at the outrigger and couldn't fault it! The two bedroom ground floor apartment was clean and spacious enough room for the kids to run around. Kitchen was large as well as a bathroom with bath and shower and washing machine and dryer. We stayed at the Beachfront apartments on our last holiday to Byron Bay and this was definitely better! The family running the property were lovely and we felt like we were at home the whole time. The pool was a massive hit with both adults and kids and we swam day and night. Direct beach access out the back and short walk to town via Shirley street we will definitely be staying here again. Couldn't fault it

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee4Shabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
194 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
440 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Crest Byron Bay
The Crest Byron Bay
#2 of 65 in Byron Bay
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#2 of 34 in Byron Bay
209 reviews
0 mi away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#18 of 34 in Byron Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Bay Apartments

Address: 9 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $175 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Bay Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short stroll from town and with direct beach access, this complex has one, two and three bedroom apartments which are bright and spacious with a comfortable relaxed feel. Outrigger Bay Apartments are fully self contained and equipped with all modern conveniences, including air conditioning throughout the living area. There is also a heated outdoor pool, Hot Tub, BBQ Facilities, free wireless internet, Foxtel and secure underground parking. The landscaped gardens with BBQ area provide a relaxing escape and a safe area for children to play. There is direct beach access, and a two minute walk into town. These apartments offer a relaxing holiday experience, close to all the attractions of Byron. Outrigger Bay Apartments is also a proud winner of Gold Listing awards 2016 & 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Outrigger Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Bay Apartments Hotel Byron Bay
Outrigger Byron Bay
Byron Bay Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing