We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jeanne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Outrigger Bay Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We loved our stay at this place. Great staff, great location. Our patio backed up to a wall of beautiful foliage, full of awesome birds. A wild turkey strolled by on occation. I would recommend these apartments to anyone. Very close to the beach, a short walk into town.

Room Tip: #7 Off the street and quiet. Lovely unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 331 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

There are 2 buildings, each running parallel to the street on one side and the beach on the other side. They are separated by a small pool and courtyard. The rear bldg is quieter.
This is an apartment/condo bldg and not a hotel. The units are individually owned but are standardized from one to the other. Our unit was 2 bdr, with kitchen, laundry and 2 patios.
Management is very friendly and the garage parking is secure.
Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Towels are changed once during your stay, providing you stay a minimum of 7 nights.
The property is just a few steps to the beach and is 2-3 minutes walk to Byron's main traffic circle.
We had a great time, had no complaints and would stay again. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExNeddiesBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Hi there readers!
We checked all these reviews before booking - the reviews were virtually all great so it was with much disappointment that our 1st night (and each thereafter until we pulled the pin) were spoilt by an endless rabble of noisy backpackers heading into town from about 9.30pm at night until they returned (even noisier) between 1am -3am. BE AWARE! Do NOT accept any rooms on the road side of the complex unless you can sleep through endless loud laughing, yelling, giggling loud whistling, for about 4-5 hours. There is a fairly large backpacker facility 2 doors further out of the town. Regrettably the inmates seem to be let out around 9.30pm at night and then the noise starts. We were told the unit was double glazed as we initially were concerned about traffic noise as the units are on the main road into and out of Byron Bay. It isn't and the daytime traffic is endless - then the nightime noise starts just about bedtime.
Look, everything else about the place seemed good - see all the other reviews. However, remember you have been warned - any apartment that fronts onto the street is to be avoided. Don't stay if you cannot be accomodated at the rear section of the building/s.

Room Tip: Beach side only - aviod street side if you wanna sleep at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bushyfrombrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Great location right on the beach with a 1 minute walk to the center of Byron. Apartments are modern,spacious and very clean. I would highly recommend this place to family's and couples to stay. Truthfully we don't want to leave. See you again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cattalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed for a few nights in February and the experience was excellent, lovely spacious 2 bedroom apartment, nice pool and 2 minute walk to main beach and town centre. Very friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mez472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed here after searching TripAdvisor for somewhere close to everything in Byron Bay. Three of us flew up from Melbourne for a wedding at the surf club and didn't want a hire car but the ladies didn't want to wear their high heels down getting to the venue. They didn't - it was only 300 metres from our apartment. Even closer if you walked along the beach. Our ground floor apartment was terrific - spacious, comfortable and quiet, as it was at the back of the block away from the busy Shirley Street. Also, you could slip out our back door, out the back gate, across the disused overgrown railway tracks, up over a small dune and you were on the beach - a 60 second walk in bare feet! Straight out in the surf was 'The Wreck', a good surf spot, especially for short board riders. I hired a fish and got waves there every day except on our last when the swell dropped. Didn't matter as we went on a guided snorkelling expedition out to Julian Rocks (visible in the distance in one of my pictures) and saw an amazing variety of marine life - turtles, manta ray, all sorts of fish and several leopard sharks. Byron was terrific, the wedding wonderful and weather in March perfect. Thanks Shannon and staff for providing comfortable accommodation, friendly service and a great location.

Room Tip: Go for something at the rear, which is also what our hosts suggested to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Booked outrigger after sifting through many reviews for our 5 night stay in Byron Bay. The apartments are 2minutes walk from the Centre of town which is Johnson Street. Many restaurants nearby and a 24market which is very close by.

The apartment itself is modern and spacious with a living and two bed rooms and a common bath housing a washing machine and dryer. A well equipped kitchen is a bonus added to a dining counter and separate dining table as well.

The balcony at the front and back on the apartment adds to the openness. The apartments to the back are better as the back balcony overlooks a lush green. There is a small gate which gives you access to the main beach which is a 5 minute walk.

There is a limited stock of essentials and you are better off carrying all your toiletries and detergents etc. if staying for more than a day.
Wifi is not free, excellent parking facilities, a nice but small pool.
Very good for families, groups, and families with children.

Would still rate is as over priced.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vidhusagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
194 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
439 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Crest Byron Bay
The Crest Byron Bay
#2 of 65 in Byron Bay
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#2 of 34 in Byron Bay
209 reviews
0 mi away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#18 of 34 in Byron Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Bay Apartments

Address: 9 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $174 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Bay Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short stroll from town and with direct beach access, this complex has one, two and three bedroom apartments which are bright and spacious with a comfortable relaxed feel. Outrigger Bay Apartments are fully self contained and equipped with all modern conveniences, including air conditioning throughout the living area. There is also a heated outdoor pool, Hot Tub, BBQ Facilities, free wireless internet, Foxtel and secure underground parking. The landscaped gardens with BBQ area provide a relaxing escape and a safe area for children to play. There is direct beach access, and a two minute walk into town. These apartments offer a relaxing holiday experience, close to all the attractions of Byron. Outrigger Bay Apartments is also a proud winner of Gold Listing awards 2016 & 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Outrigger Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Bay Apartments Hotel Byron Bay
Outrigger Byron Bay
Byron Bay Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing