We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third stay at Mariner Bay Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mariner Bay Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We've stayed at Mariner Bay Apartments three times. Holidaying with teenagers, we love the two level, three bedroom/two bathrooms apartment option at the rear of the property. Our most recent stay was in Unit 13 which is really well aspected and furnished (two patios) along with a well equipped kitchen. Beds are firmer than our preference but ok for a holiday stay. Lots of pillows and plenty of spare blankets. Undercover parking is excellent and easily accessed and the grounds are kept immaculate. We like the location and enjoyed hearing the sound of the waves at night. We also experienced great service from the Managers during our stay.
Cathy - Melbourne

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Hi Cathy, What a great review, thank you. The 3 bedroom apartments are spacious enough for a family with teenagers – plenty of room for everyone, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Apartment 13 is in a great position with glimpses of the sea from the balcony – nothing better then falling asleep to the sound of the ocean. We look forward to seeing you next time you come to Byron Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 155 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went to Byron recently for family holiday - we stayed in unit 4. It was spacious and roomy. We paid extra for a roll away bed which was so hard that my daughter couldn't even sleep on it preferring to sleep on the lounge. Apart from that the location was great and easy to get to the main hub in Byron. We would certainly use this apartment again for a short stay.

Room Tip: Front room was fine as the bedroom window had double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a nice weekend away in Byron. The rollaway you had is a deluxe version with a firm mattress which suits most people so I am sorry your daughter found it too hard to sleep on. Our 3 Bedroom Apartments sleep 6 people and has 2 queen beds and 2 single beds so maybe that would be better suited next time for your family. We hope you come and stay at Mariner Bay Apartments again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in unit 5: Great location away from noise of city centre but close enough to walk to shops & restaurants and beach.

Only downside was that the we found the beds too hard which could easily be rectified by adding foam overlay.

Otherwise we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. Apartment 5 has been fully renovated so we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the feedback on the beds – we will take this on-board and look at getting some mattress toppers which will rectify the issue. We hope you stay with us next time you holiday in Byron Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I went down to Byron Bay recently with a group of friends. We were after somewhere with a relaxed atmosphere and close to the beach and shops, this is exactly what we found in Mariner Bay Apartments. We hired a 3 bedroom and 2 bedroom for 3 nights, the apartments were beautifully furnished, and kitchen supplies and utensils were abundant, this is something I certainly value for a weekend away and when cooking your own meals. Would certainly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Wow! What a great review. Thanks for taking the time to write and post on TripAdvisor. The apartments are fully self-contained so it is easy to cook and save some $$ making a holiday in Byron affordable. We hope you come and stay with us next time you come to Byron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, the apartment was furnished beautifully, quite large, everything we needed was there and it was clean. The pool was adequate, lovely but not huge and there was a well equipped barbeque area. We loved the fact we had a balcony out the front and a patio area at the back, close to the pool. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: My only problem I had while staying here was the road noise, it's on the main road into Byron Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplecheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday and loved the apartment. The pool is not huge but it is salt water and heated so can be enjoyed all year around. Byron can get pretty busy at this time of year and there is some traffic noise on Shirley Street. It does affect all the apartment complex’s along this road. We do believe that council are looking at a Bypass solution so if this happens it can only be a bonus! We look forward to seeing you back at Mariner Bay next time you holiday in Byron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We found Mariner Bay Apartments, were top accommodation in a great location and the staff were very friendly. It was easy walking distance of both the shops and beach and parking wasn't any problem. The grounds are beautifully laid out and the pool and BBQ area were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hi Diana, Thank you for a lovely review and we are glad you found our apartments ideal for your stay. The grounds are really blooming at the moment with this spring weather and the BBQ is being well used! We hope you come and stay with us again next time you visit Byron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were really pleased with our short stay at Mariner Bay as we were joined by friends visiting from France who wanted to see Byron Bay while visiting Australia. We had adjoining apartments and special arrangements were made as I am in a wheelchair and needed a walk in shower. This was our second stay at Mariner Bay and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Phone to discuss specific needs (if any) and a unit at the back would not have any noise from Shirle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashmann11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are so glad you were able to catch up with old friends from Europe. We understand that it can be hard to find suitable holiday accommodation that is wheelchair accessible so we intend to always try and ensure we have this facility. We hope to see you back staying with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#12 of 34 in Byron Bay
244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#4 of 34 in Byron Bay
286 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bayshore Bungalows
Bayshore Bungalows
#15 of 34 in Byron Bay
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Byron Bay Hotel & Apartments
Byron Bay Hotel & Apartments
#14 of 65 in Byron Bay
300 reviews
0 mi away
The Crest Byron Bay
The Crest Byron Bay
#2 of 65 in Byron Bay
293 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Bay Apartments

Address: 41-43 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $175 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariner Bay Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property offers modern self contained apartments in this family friendly resort complex. The one and two bedroom apartments are located on the ground level and have easy access to the heated saltwater pool and barbecue area. For larger families the spacious three bedroom apartments are on the first level and have a stylish mezzanine master suite, with two further bedrooms on the same level as the living accommodation.The individually furnished apartments are modern, air conditioned and well appointed, offering bright, spacious indoor and outdoor living space.Lounge around the salt water heated pool or surrounding gardens with a good book. Access to the beach is a stroll along a bushland path and the town centre is a short walk.Mariner Bay is great for a weekend escape or a longer leisurely holiday to really explore the wonders of Byron Bay and the hinterland area. Byron Bay is an amazing sensory experience that will mesmerise and capture you. Stunning beaches, littoral rainforests, the annual migration of the humpback whales and that famous icon the lighthouse makes Byron Bay a special place for everyone to enjoy.Please note that this hotel has a strict 'No Party Policy'. Any violation of this policy will result in eviction from the property and additional cleaning fees will be charged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mariner Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing