We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bluesfest 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mariner Bay Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bluesfest 2014”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We have literally just left Mariner Bay after staying for the Bluesfest week. Both were fantastic! We had a 3 bedroom apartment which had everything we needed and was homely and comfortable after walking around a festival for days. Staff great, pool great and good location, would reccomend mariner bay as a good place to stay. See u for Bluesfest next year!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks Luke for your great review. Bluesfest was just fantastic this year and what a line up! Going to be hard to beat next year but I am sure they will do it. We are glad you found everything to your liking and enjoyed coming back to the apartments after a hard day at the festival. We will see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    57
    4
    6
    6
See reviews for
69
13
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very frugal on providing necessary goods such as soap and toilet paper. Only two small cakes of soap were provided for five adults for a two night stay. The receptionist did not want to provide more and after a concerted request only provided two more small cakes of soap. Poor service given the tariff was fully priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi Adel, Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed but we do state quite clearly on all sales channels that the apartments are fully self-contained and we provide an initial starter pack to get you going. This pack includes soap, shampoo & conditioner, toilet paper along with kitchen essentials such as tea, coffee & milk, salt & pepper etc. It is up to guests to then purchase what they need for short or longer stays in the apartments. All of the self-contained apartments in Byron are the same, if you want a fully serviced holiday I would recommend Serviced Holiday Apartments or a hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked this apartment for an annual girl's weekend away, The apartment was nice, clean with everything you needed and only a short walk to the beach and the shops.

Our only complaint was we were told on arrival that after 9.30pm we would have to go inside to reduce noise on the complex. Our noise was through laughter not loud music but on both evenings we were reminded nicely to move inside ! It was a bit disappointing, so if you think your group may tend to be a tad noisy I suggest you look for something else as if in the event security have to be called to quieten you down it could prove costly as there is a fee charged for this !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Themis4962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Themis4962, thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review, we are glad that you had fun on your annual girl’s weekend away. Our terms and conditions are available on all our booking channels and if you booked directly, they do get sent to you at the same time as the booking confirmation.

We do have to be strict around noise after 9:30/10pm in the evening as we feel that all guests staying in the complex have a right to enjoy a relaxing holiday and have a good night sleep – you will find the majority of apartment complexes in Byron expect the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked Mariner Bay last minute for a 5 day break and loved it. Even though we came in January which was busy in Byron we still had a very relaxing time. The apartment was nicely furnished, very clean and had everything that we needed. The pool is not huge but heated and great for a lazy dip if you can't be bothered to walk to the beach. The lady at reception was very helpful and friendly and we both had a great break. If you get a chance spend some time travelling throughout the hinterland, really is a special place. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review Alice, we do appreciate it. The Byron hinterland really is a magical place and great to explore. January is peak season for us and Byron generally can get really busy with school holidays – glad you did not find it too hectic and left feeling nice and relaxed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I travel all over Australia for work frequently and this is the first time I have stayed at Mariner Bay Apartments. This will be my first choice everytime I come to Byron from now on. I checked in to a 2 Bedroom Apartment which was huge compared to most I have stayed in. Full kitchen and laundry - it had everything I needed. The location is great, close to town and the beach and all the staff are helpful and friendly - great apartment for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Malcolm, thank you for taking the time to write a review on our apartments and we are thrilled that we will see you frequently. We are happy you liked the apartment but just as a reminder we do have 3 Bedrooms available as well for any family/and or friend holidays you might be planning. We will see you back at Mariner Bay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at Mariner Bay Apartments mid February with 2 other girls for a girls weekend. All three of us were impressed with our 2br apartment. The apartment was clean and modern looking. 5 minute walk to the shops and beach was very handy. Would stay at mariner bay again. Only wished we got better weather whilst in Byron.... It rained non stop all 3 nights we were there :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reneericho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay regardless of the weather. It was a particularly wet Feb unfortunately but come back and visit us out of wet season so you get to see Byron at its sparkling best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I spent an extended long weekend here in a 3 bed apartment with family while in Australia.

We booked via a discounted website and had a wonderful 4 nights here!

The car park is underground and free , as well as spacious!

We stayed in June, which is classed as winter in Oz, but for us British girls 70f was just lovely!

There is a short cut via a wooded area behind the property and then on to a residential street, and the beach is within less than 10 min walk, we had buggies and babies with us and just about found the walk ok!

The apartment was well appointed and very spacious, the pool area was well kept although because we opted for the beach we did not use the pool.

We travelled from Brisbane and it took approx 3.5 hours of easy driving, so if you have a extended trip to Brisbane a trip here is worth while as it is worlds away from Brisbane lifestyle!

The town reminds me of Cape Cod, MA, it has a very laid back vibe, and the influence of hippies from a by-gone era is still definitely felt in the atmosphere here!

There are plenty of lovely eateries and restaurant to scattered around, we also visited the organic produce store just out of town, which sold wonderful fruit and veg!

Our trip here was worth the drive from Brisbane, and all had a great time at these apartments, great location, and tip if you don't like to hear any road noise , ask for an apartment to the rear of the property, which will also give you a tiny view of the sea!

Room Tip: Request an apartment to the rear of the property if road noise is likely to bother you, though you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank English-Rose01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, General Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this comprehensive review. We are so glad you had a great time as Australia is a long way to come from the UK. Byron is much more laid back then Brisbane and it does not take long before you start to really unwind and relax! We hope to see you on your next trip and please recommend us to any of your friends and family that are looking to visit Oz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
238 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
310 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crest Byron Bay
The Crest Byron Bay
#1 of 65 in Byron Bay
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Outrigger Bay Apartments
Outrigger Bay Apartments
#3 of 65 in Byron Bay
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Bay Apartments

Property: Mariner Bay Apartments
Address: 41-43 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariner Bay Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property offers modern self contained apartments in this family friendly resort complex. The one and two bedroom apartments are located on the ground level and have easy access to the heated saltwater pool and barbecue area. For larger families the spacious three bedroom apartments are on the first level and have a stylish mezzanine master suite, with two further bedrooms on the same level as the living accommodation.The individually furnished apartments are modern, air conditioned and well appointed, offering bright, spacious indoor and outdoor living space.Lounge around the salt water heated pool or surrounding gardens with a good book. Access to the beach is a stroll along a bushland path and the town centre is a short walk.Mariner Bay is great for a weekend escape or a longer leisurely holiday to really explore the wonders of Byron Bay and the hinterland area. Byron Bay is an amazing sensory experience that will mesmerise and capture you. Stunning beaches, littoral rainforests, the annual migration of the humpback whales and that famous icon the lighthouse makes Byron Bay a special place for everyone to enjoy.Please note that this hotel has a strict 'No Party Policy'. Any violation of this policy will result in eviction from the property and additional cleaning fees will be charged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mariner Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing