We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B in quiet location”
Review of Ruskin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ruskin House
Ranked #12 of 35 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This B&B is a great place to stay in a busy town like Byron Bay. The owners are very kind and helpfull. The rooom we stayed in was very comfortable and new. For breakfast we asked for fresh fruit, fresh orange juice and cereals, which was no problem at all!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atze D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Ruskin House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 147 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2010

Rooms were very comfortable and felt very welcome. Delicious breakfasts prepared by some of the loveliest people i've ever met. I can't wait stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Reasonable room with comfortable bed, but with a slight musty smell and a little bit of noise from the main road, at a OK price (we paid $130 for a King Ensuite room on a Friday night in July but were upgraded to a room with a spa).

Highlights: Spa was a nice surprise and was great; Comfortable bed and some nice old furnishings; Close to town; Free wifi.

Quibbles: Musty smell in the room; a little bit of road noise.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank messyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Doing a round trip in Australia, we came to Byron Bay for only 1 night. But the hosts, Gavin and Lucy, were so nice and the location so great, we extended our stay to 3 nights.
We had our private entrancy, a charming garden to take our delicious breakfast, a comfortable bed, LCD TV+DVD, free Internet in the room (very rare in Oz) and place to park. The room was spotless.

Simply the best place to stay in Byron Bay!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DucatiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

My wife and I decided a road trip along coastal New South Wales was begging and despite a limited timeframe we managed to cram a lot in during a one week . We had heard a lot about Byron Bay via friends and travel literature so we were looking forwqard to seeing it for the first time. I used Trip Advisor to source our accommodation needs and we chose Ruskin House in Byron Bay based on recommendations on this site. We weren't disappointed. Lucy and Gavin were very welcoming and as it was the off season there weren't many other guests. The room was very neat and clean. The bed was a bit uncomfortable, but not too bad. There is a widescreen TV and DVD player and we were offered a good selection of movies. The bathroom was a good size with a spa bath and separate toilet. Gavin and Lucy were very helpful in offering recommendations of sightseeing and places to eat which we found really helpful. Overall we loved Byron Bay and can't wait to go again and stay again at delightful Ruskin House.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Had travelled around Oz for two months and Byron was our last stop.We were greeted warmly by Gavin with two big backpacks who showed us to our great room comfy bed plasma tv kettle and own fridge.It felt like my own home.Its a short walk into the town where you pass alot of great restaurants and pubs.Byron is everything you thought of Oz to be great beaches and Surf and cool people.Gavin is as chilled as they come.Lucy is so helpfull and they just make you at ease from the get.I can't suggets highly enough of the b and b.Amazing breakfasts from a former chef who has found his niche.thanks guys from Irish mike and Katrina living in NYC

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWANKYSTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Gavin and Lucy made our stay a relaxing and homely one. Ruskin is well run, clean and has a cute little courtyard for morning coffee. i've booked into into a fair few places over the years and this one was up there with the best. i haven't a bad word to say regarding our stay there... if you're looking for a good place as a couple in Byron, then do give Ruskin a call.

Mark.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfermark36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
0.5 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#7 of 35 in Byron Bay
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin House

Address: 131 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range: $116 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruskin House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruskin House is a quaint 4 star Bed & Breakfast which has many features designed to ensure guests' comfort and privacy. Each of the guest bedrooms has private ensuite, some with spa baths, reverse cycle air conditioning, remote LCD TV, DVD players, direct dial phones, fridge, tea and coffee facilities and rooms are serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruskin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin House Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing