We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay @ Ruskin House.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruskin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ruskin House
Ranked #12 of 39 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Hallett Cove,SA
1 review
“Great Stay @ Ruskin House.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2009

Gavin & Lucy have just taken over at Ruskin House and we found them to be the perfect hosts.
Flat screen tv and dvd player, superb breakfasts, good local knowledge and location.
Fresh towels daily unless you wish to do your bit for the enviroment. A great Bed & Breakfast that i would recomend to friends, we will certainly use it again on visiting Byron.
Jonathan & Bridget
Hallett Cove, S.A.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    32
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
94
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adventureville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

When we arrived at Ruskin House we were shown into the reception area, only to be told that the plumbing had gone in our room and that they couldn't accommodate us. They placated us with the fact that they had taken the liberty of booking us into a guesthouse up the road. They hadn't rung to give us any forwarning, but the owner of the house assured us that the replacement accommdation was 4.5 star so we thought what was the point of arguing. The owner then went on to say how nice we were being about it all, and that some of their other guests aren't so nice (do they have the plumbing go regularly??).

We were very disappointed with their service, as we had booked this guest house for a number of reasons, including wi-fi in the rooms and having our own personal entry way etc, none of which the replacement accommodation had (although they were very friendly). I have a funny feeling we were palmed off as we had only booked for one night, and they possibly had taken a booking for a longer stay or another booking who was paying a higher rate (we booked off WOTIF). If they don't want to book one night stays - why do they sell them?

Would we go back - No. Their service was lacking - a simple phone call would have solved a lot of problems.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventureville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

Tv remote didn't work, airconditioning didn't work, the bathroom had dead insects on the floor and the traffic noise made it difficult to sleep. Rooms look nothing like the pictures either, smaller than your standard hotel room. No fresh towels supplied either.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank destinoDestino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GavinLucie, New Owners at Ruskin House, responded to this review, December 27, 2009
A general response covering our new ownership of Ruskin House. This B&B was built by my parents in 1996 and it was leased out for the last 5 years. A new leaf has been turned in terms of attention to detail, facilities, service and customer satisfaction with my lovely wife Lucie, and I, Gavin returning to Australia to run the premises. All A/C units work efficiently and quietly, there's new 32" LCD TV's in all the rooms and you now have a wonderful chef (ahem, me) preparing beautiful breakfasts for you upon request.
Prices are always sold as a bed only rate unless specified. We've had nothing but satisified customers since taking over here Dec 4, 2009, so we encourage you to look forward with us to an enjoyable stay in Byron Bay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

The best thing this place has going for it is the location. It's over priced, which still did not include the breakfast, the spa bath was mediocre in size and the owners were hardly friendly. It seem to me that they felt more put out by us staying there then anything.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

Great location - close to shops.

Clean and nice. Pillows were actually decent. In room spa was great.

Hot water took a while to come through the tap but other than that - we had a wonderful time.

  • Liked — Clean & Comfortable
  • Disliked — hot water took a while
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kriskimf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#7 of 39 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
0.8 mi away
Byron Springs Guesthouse
Byron Springs Guesthouse
#5 of 39 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin House

Property: Ruskin House
Address: 131 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruskin House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruskin House is a quaint 4 star Bed & Breakfast which has many features designed to ensure guests' comfort and privacy. Each of the guest bedrooms has private ensuite, some with spa baths, reverse cycle air conditioning, remote LCD TV, DVD players, direct dial phones, fridge, tea and coffee facilities and rooms are serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruskin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin House Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing