We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Ruskin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruskin House
Ranked #13 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Lovely B&B and breakfast in the heart of Byron bay.
We had a lovely room which opened out to a pretty courtyard where you have breakfast.The breakfasts a very nice and home cooked to order. It is run with a lovely family who are very helpful with places to eat and visit. We only stayed one night in Byron bay on our trip up the east cost and it is a beautiful place, go and see the sunsets at Wategoes beach.. Simply stunning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duckyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    33
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
96
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Manager, Gavin, on arrival greeted us by our first names at the door on arrival. Nothing was too much trouble for Gavin or wife, Lucy, who had her hands full with two young children.
Room was very well appointed - tastefully decorated with pleasant outlook on to nicely landscaped courtyard.
Rooms serviced daily by managers - great idea in that it gives the rooms that personal touch a contract cleaner couldn't give. Hard work for them but worth it.
Loved the spa and the random cappuccinos offered to us by Gavin and his wife Lucy.
Walking distance to just about everything in Byron Bay including beach.
Complimentary breakfast on leaving a nice touch.
Definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Didn't rate pool as place did not have one. Who needs a pool as place is an easy walk to beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ogrpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Ruskin House guesthouse was a great place to stay. The room was very quiet and the bed was comfortable, ensuring a good night's sleep. Close enough to the centre of town that we could walk most places. And run efficiently by a crew of friendly and helpful backpackers (apparently the resident owners were holidaying overseas). We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for one night and we thought Ruskin House was a home away from home. The room was large, spacious and clean and so was the ajoining en suite. Our room had air con and satellite tv and a fridge with two complimentary picnic bars! The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much to ask for. One of the staff even dropped us to our bus the next day. We would highly recommend Ruskin house for your stay in Byron Bay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The location is great, close enough to CBD, but distant enough to keep quiet. Very friendly staffs, daily room service, got towels, shampoo and stuff.. and very clean!!! Also advise you to try the full breakfast!!!! It was 15 dollars, but I feel it was so much more.. one whole bowl of muesli/cereal with yogurt or milk + juice + tea/coffee+ cooked meal.. (different menu).. we skipped lunch after having this breakfast.. Not a cent is gone wasted.. The house got the board games and lots of free DVDs to borrow.. overall, splendid stay (:

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinmelb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just a short stay, but we were pleasantly surprised how comfortable and friendly the staff were. The rooms are spotless, comfortable and very nicely decorated. The courtyard is a wonderful place to sit and read your emails or have some coffee. Breakfast is served from 8am but because we were driving back to Sydney, we wanted to leave much earlier than that. No problem for them, they said they would get up early so we could eat when we wanted. It is an easy walk into the city and beach

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed two nights and despite the wet weather it was perfect. Short walk or drive to town, so less busy and quieter (if you don't count the garbage trucks both mornings). Lucie and Gavin, and their 'just-arrived' relatives from overseas, were very welcoming and accommodating and the room was very clean, comfy and well maintained. Overall it was perfect and we would definitely recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: King room, no spa bath, but super comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairbear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
160 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cape Beach House
The Cape Beach House
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hibiscus Motel
Hibiscus Motel
#7 of 32 in Byron Bay
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
0.9 mi away
Cavvanbah Beach House
Cavvanbah Beach House
#1 of 34 in Byron Bay
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin House

Property: Ruskin House
Address: 131 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruskin House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruskin House is a quaint 4 star Bed & Breakfast which has many features designed to ensure guests' comfort and privacy. Each of the guest bedrooms has private ensuite, some with spa baths, reverse cycle air conditioning, remote LCD TV, DVD players, direct dial phones, fridge, tea and coffee facilities and rooms are serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ruskin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin House Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing