We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of East on Byron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East on Byron
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at East on Byron in Unit 20, a terrace villa. The unit was exceptionally spacious with high ceilings, although the main living could have had more thought in design and finish to dampen the echo. All the web site photos were accurate. Kitchen was well fitted out, comfortable bed, and fantastic double shower. Limited foxtel channels and you have to pay for wireless.There are limited ocean virews but only a 5 minute walk to Belongil Beach. Great bistro attached to the complex. There is a roof top observation deck, but most of the time it was too windy to fully enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiMi6254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne M, Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property on Trip advisor, we always appreciate feedback from our guests. I'm glad you enjoyed the room and the Belongil Bistro, (a fantastic café located at the front of the resort.)

The roof top observation decks on the Terrace villas are great to catch a sea breeze but on occasion there is too much!

I hope you have the chance to stay with us again one day.

Kind regards,
East on Byron Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    92
    33
    8
    6
See reviews for
118
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Location was good. Apartment clean and quiet. Opposite beach but better beaches elsewhere e.g. Wategos, near National Park and Lighthouse. We were cold and there was only a couple of thin blankets provided. Not enough cutlery provided. We kept on having to use the dishwasher.
Pillows were past their use by date. So thin. Beds were good. We paid an extra $50 per night for a mattress on the floor ! Not even a bed. At least you get a proper commercial rollaway at a 5 star hotel for that rate. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thingamybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne M, Staff at East on Byron, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
We thank you very much for your feedback

Some of our owner’s choose to let their units out privately, it’s unfortunate that you did not make your booking book direct with us as we always ensure our apartments are fully stocked with cutlery, warm blankets and comfortable pillows which based on your comments would of made your stay far more enjoyable. Our friendly staff are ready to assist you in any way we can.
We appreciate your feedback and do hope we are able to welcome you back to East on Byron Resort in the future.

Kind regards
Ryan & The Team At East on Byron Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in the townhouse on the edge (23) which allowed for a lovely outdoor area. The unit was quiet and relaxing.

The only problem was the washer/dryer combo. We struggled to use this as it took a long time to wash and then didn't dry properly.

Thank you for having us and we enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We Stayed in one of the Townhouses. We had to wait for the room to be Cleaned, though when we entered the apartment the floors were dirty and full of sand from the last residents. Nice and close to the beach. Townhouses are away from the noise of the pool. Air-conditioners were full of mould, dust and didn't work very well. Maintenance needed, otherwise a enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Hyperactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne M, Staff at East on Byron, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at East on Byron Resort. We appreciate receiving feedback from our guests as it ensures we continue to maintain our personal, high level of service at all times.
I’ve spoken with our maintenance team regarding the issue with the Air conditioning. The AC units in your Beach house were scheduled in to be serviced at the start of October, we do apologise for the poor timing. The Ac units have since been fully serviced and cleaned.
We were disturbed to read your comments on the standard of housekeeping. We have discussed this with our staff and the matter has been addressed. We are sure this must been an isolated incident as we do hold a very high standard of housekeeping at the resort.
We thank you once again for your feedback and hope we are able to welcome you back to East on Byron Resort in the future.
Kind regards
Ryan & The Team At East on Byron Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is our third time as a family to come to East on Byron, we do not even bother to look anywhere else anymore because we love it so much...It is nice to be left alone to enjoy your holiday and really relax the Byron Bay way...if you are looking for turn down service every night and housekeeping everyday this is not the place for you but if you are looking to really relax and chill out in the calming surrounds then look no further...We will be back again and again and again, Great for families and there is always young children around, so if you are not into that it might not be the place for you, but we love the families feel so it is perfect for us!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

East on Byron is on Belongil Beach - about a 20 minute stroll along the beach into Byron. Belongil Beach is a very relaxed abode with the Belongil Bistro and the Treehouse at Belongil being 2 fantastic places for brekkie, lunch, drinks and dinner at your door step.

East on Bryon offers very spacious, luxurious apartments across the beach. There is a swimming pool and spa and the apartment we stayed was upstairs and had a large balcony with full BBQ facilities. We also had a lock up garage which was great as we knew our two Harley Davidson bikes were safe!

We can't wait for our next stay at East and Belongil Beach !

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaIsabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

east on byron has relaxing buildings and amenities although when out side at the pool or the lovely large doors are open in the unit, there is some fan or engine noise that really takes away from the relaxing environment. this noise cuts on and off all day. very annoying and disappointing as we would prefer to hear the ocean not an engine??

Room Tip: choose room around the pool as there is much less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LapinBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
2.1 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#13 of 32 in Byron Bay
95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East on Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East on Byron

Property: East on Byron
Address: 35 Childe St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East on Byron 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the peaceful settings of Belongil Beach, East on Byron is the new style of holidaying in Byron Bay. It is positioned directly opposite the beach and is just a short 15-minute stroll to the town centre. Two acres of naturally landscaped gardens frame a billabong pool. Stunningly appointed and generous in size, these 2 and 3 bedroom villas are set in the most secluded of settings. Perfect for families, groups and couples looking for a relaxed beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your East on Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East On Byron Hotel Byron Bay
East On Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing