We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a spectacular lunch”
Review of Cicchetti Byron Bay - CLOSED

Cicchetti Byron Bay
Price range: $6 - $47
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It will reopen in early 2018. Cicchetti is Byron Bay's gateway to Venice. The modern Italian restaurant takes its name from the Italian meaning of 'tapas' and serves up exquisite cuisine that combines traditional with contemporary. The atmosphere complements the quality of the cuisine, and the bar features an extensive wine list to perfectly match each dish.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a spectacular lunch”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

The wife and I drove down from the Gold Coast for lunch as we were keen to see this new restaurant. The fit out is great. But the meal. Flawless. We loved everything we had. We had numerous tasting plates, and they just seemed to get better as we went along.
Drove home totally content. Very much recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wine243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    47
    25
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven is a place on Earth.......Cicchetti Byron Bay”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Second time I have been to Cicchetti and it was even better than the first (if that was ever possible)!!

The service was absolutely amazing and the food was honestly to die for!!!

You don't know how good food can taste until you have eaten at Cicchetti !!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahAtallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Top Italian in Byron”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Cicchetti is a fine Italian restaurant in the town of Byron Bay. We had the banquet menu which delivered up a fine selection of antipasti, pasta courses and porchetta with salad. The antipasti highlights were the calamari with a saffron aioli and baccala (salt cod) puree on polenta. The two pastas were buccatini amatriciana and gnocchi. The gnocchi were the lightest most delightful gnocchi I have tasted. The porchetta was divine - not quite Roman style - but locally sourced and very very delicious. Excellent wine selection - Aussie and Italian - and an expert bar service with nice cocktails. Friendly service (real Italians)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RegCalabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalow via Byron Bay
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb Service”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Wow, this is the sort of service we all want from a restaurant but hardly ever get these days. Attentive. Thoughtful. Professional. Friendly. Funny. Knowledgeable. Unobtrusive. We found all the staff from the minute we arrived, to the minute we left, to be of the highest calibre. We asked for help to select our wine and the somelier was a font of knowledge and chose exceptionally well for us (a fabulous Pinot Grigio from Italy which went particularly well with all our choices). We're not ordinarily a fan of pork but the Italian-style "porchetta" (slow cooked pork roll, locally sourced from Bangalow) was recommended by the waiter and it turned out to be fantastic and cooked in a very authentic regional style. We decided to share the entrees (tapas style) and that worked really well for us. The "zabaglione" dessert (Italian style egg custard with liqueur) is also worth a mention as it was to-die-for. And the "lemoncello" liqueur was an excellent finish to our meal - very smooth and authentic too. The decor was superb too with very comfortable seating. We also loved that it was located in the quiet end of Byron, so parking was really easy to get.Thank you Marco, Luca and your fabulous team for looking after us so well. My family loved discovering your place and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SummerHillsRetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Authentic Italian Food and True Italian Service”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We go to a lot of great restaurants as we travel a lot and have two homes but I would have to say that this was amazing. They have brought in Michelin trained italian chefs and italian waiters to Cicchetti to give this restaurant the most amazing ambiance, service and food. We shared a couple of crochettes YUM! My wife had the Fish of the day, it was the freshest Barramundi and she adored her meal, I had the caciucco - traditional Livorno fish soup with prawns, bugs, scallops, calamari, mussels and clams served with crusty garlic bread and I have had this before at supposedly great restaurants and always wished I ordered what my wife did, but this time was the best ever!! We shared the zabaione e biscotti for desert (see photo) it was delicious. They have an extensive wine list and we shared a bottle of italian white which was reasonably priced at $50. We have lived in Byron for 16 years and longed for a restaurant like this, clean, authentic, wonderful italian food and service. We are taking family back this Sat night, that's how much we loved it. Has become our favourite restaurant in Northern rivers now :) We met Marco, the owner, an experienced restauranteur and a great host, thank you Marco for bringing your team to Byron :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxurytraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cicchetti Byron Bay also viewed

Ewingsdale, Byron Bay
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing