We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual high standard”
Review of Byron Bay YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Byron Bay YHA
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have stayed here before (march 2012 I think?) the toilet / shower blocks appear to have been updated, they'll better most budget hotels. Usual friendly and accommodating staff on reception - room standard doorm type so not too much to say... Free parking and excellent location.

My score for value probably says more about the weakness of the pound and the exchange rate rather than the cost charged...

A lot of accommodation now offers free wifi, I do think yha in general need to adopt this as a world wide policy.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morphius187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 187 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Where do I begin. I had booked 2 rooms. 1 x Twin and 1 x 4 Berth. I had 5 International Students with me. 4 girls whom knew each other, and a male who had just arrived and outside of commumicating with me didn't know anyone. Hence the 2 rooms. He and I shared a room. After no less than 3 phone calls, I believed I had booked a room with a private bathroom. That way he and I had somewhere to change without 1 of us having to leave the room or compromised in anyway. NOT the case. We arrived on time for chk in. Rooms not ready. When we returned 1 hour later. Only 1 room had been made up and we had to return to get bedlinen for the other room later. The twin room had no bathroom it in. I went to reception to ask waht was going on, and as they where full she was unable to move us. A pathetic apology and nothing else was offered for the error. So all the effort I had gone to so that neither the male student or myself where put in an embrassing position was a complete waste of time, money and effort. We paid more for the room so that we would not have to share the bathroom facilities. What a disgrace. Upon leaving, they only seemed more interest to make sure we had stripped the beds and brought the bedlinen down to the front office. We had to put them in a laundry trolley for them as weel. Seriously, I asked. "Do you want me to vacuum the room for you as well " !!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank givemeabreakasap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Byron Bay YHA, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Hi
Thanks for your review of Byron Bay YHA. YHA takes all reviews seriously and this has been discussed with the hostel staff.
As this hostel does not have any twin ensuite rooms at all, we think there must have been some misunderstanding with your booking as you could not have been promised this room type. Unfortunately this hostel has very few rooms with ensuites and they are usually booked out well in advance. Hostels do run differently to hotels with more communal living that helps keep costs down to suit budget travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Yep this is great place to stay its clean, quiet when late at night and awesome location, and all very clean. Hammock or bean bags to chill in and Pool is awesome, good security friendly staff and you get cheap entry to the clubs. Would stay here again for sure

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I Stayed here for a few nights in October. Every time you go to use the kitchen right use wash and dry everything you use. That is you have to have clean tea towels. One night I went to make a meal. and was looking for tea towels but they were all thrown on the ground in a heap. I took a photo of them and while I was doing this one of the cleaners quickly took them away and put up new ones. Ok. Went to do laundry that night and they were thown on the floor in a heap. I just after doing the laundry. They were still there the following morning and still there at 1:30 the following day. The tea towels that were there in the kitchen were dirty. I informed reception of this and requested new tea towels oh we'll send the cleaner in with new ones and I also informed them about the tea towels been thrown on the ground and they didn't seem to care. Would you see this in any other hostel? Would you do this with your own washing? No I Dont think so.

The rooms have no air con

Room Tip: Go to another hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was here visiting a friend living and working at the hostel. The building is quite modern with a lot of facilities (big kitchen, swimming pool, laundry), the bathrooms are clean and the rooms quite comfortable and not too crowded (I was in the cheapest one and there were only 9 beds). There are a lot of activities to enjoy (movie night, pizza night and so on) and it's a great place to relax. The guys working there are all very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in this hostel it was near everything but the road down to the hostel is not lit at night! The bathrooms and kitchen were spotless! Free pancakes for breakfast some days! Free surf boards and boogie boards were available also! However I was sharing 4 bed dorm with my friends and on a Saturday night someone got into our room with a key card, pretty creepy! When we got to our next hostel I realised some of my bags of clothes that were on the top of my rucksack - beside the door were missing! There are lockers available in the room!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

It's got a nice pool, free bikes which is awesome and the rooms were clean.

Wasn't a vast amount going on while I was there in terms of events, which is what I look for as a solo traveller, but still a great place to stay if you're travelling with friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayfaringVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#8 of 66 in Byron Bay
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers
Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers
#34 of 66 in Byron Bay
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
#27 of 66 in Byron Bay
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.1 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Backpackers Holiday Village
#10 of 66 in Byron Bay
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#17 of 66 in Byron Bay
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Bay YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay YHA

Address: 7 Carlyle St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $50 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Bay YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Bay YHA backpackers hostel is in the centre of town, only 400m to the beach. The large comfy common areas and kitchen overlook a heated pool and BBQ. The hostel has both multi-share backpacker rooms, and twin/double rooms with fans. Large decks to relax on. Free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), TV room, locker room, surfboards, free tea/coffee. Hostel bikes and bodyboards available. YHA member discounts on backpacker tours and activities at hostel tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Byron Bay YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Bay Yha Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing