We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel-Highly recommended”
Review of Byron Bay YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Byron Bay YHA
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hostel-Highly recommended”
Reviewed April 19, 2011

After staying in a poor quality hostel in Brisbane this was brilliant.Stayed in a 9 bed room which was basic but clean with lockers in the room.They had a BBQ when i was there which was just 5 dollars and pizza and movie nights which is cheap and a good way to meet people.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.toilets clean and the kitchen was immaculate.
Great communal areas and good for meeting people.With this in mind it was quite later on so sleeping isnt a problem.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    85
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
2
25
63
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Only stayed there for one night. It was nice, and the people were friendly. The staff was very accommodating, and didn't ask for the usual deposit for the room key since I would be leaving before the office opened the next morning.
Everything was generally clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djagula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I had a really nice time here. Had plenty of fun and met lots of people. Really friendly hostel with a nice atmosphere. Lots to do like TV room, 100+ movies to rent, help with tours and outdoor activities. Short walk to beach. Great staff. Big kitchen. Big lockers in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

An ok hostel, since it is byron it gets a lot traffic through the doors and is full during the summer. The rooms are quite cramped but not as cramped as the kitchen! The kitchen could double in size and still not be big enough for the amount of beds! Nice pool and decent rates make up for some of this however, the place needs refreshing! Can get a bit rowdy mind so if you want some quiet time go elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2010

So i stayed here on for 2 nights as i was looking for a cheap stop over on my drive to sydney. Was a great place to stay and not very full. The kitchen was an absoulte mess but what do you expect for a communal kitchen. Was a lovely day when i was there so that made it easier for sitting outside next to the pool. Room was basic and bed was comfortable although the pillow wasnt much. Staff were not helpful at all!!
Overall would stay again as im not really there to talk to the staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tg2531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

There are 2 YHA in Byron Bay - on the same street. I stayed here a few years ago & enjoyed it. Back then the one thing that bugged me was no lockers in the rooms. This has been fixed + they have moved the paid lockers out into the courtyard & opened up a big TV room.
There is also a reading room & computer area you can relax in. Was to cold to jump in the pool for me but a couple of crazy people did - would be nice in the summer
Staff were great - organised a day walk up to the light house for anyone who wanted to tag a long - got to see some dolphins below us on the cliff's
They also had a free pancake breakfast once a week & a $5 BBQ night - we got our monies worth.
Each night there was something going on even if it was just a movie night.

Its only a short walk to the supermarket & then down the road to the centre of town before you head to the amazing beach area.

Great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timthetraveller_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in May and it did the job. I was in a 4 bed room which was pokey, quite dark but was pretty quiet and had lockers to store your things (though you need your own lock).

The hostel had a pool which was okay, a largish kitchen which was cleaned daily. The location of the YHA was pretty good, you could walk to the shops and the beach within 5 minutes - I think if it were closer it would be loud. One of the roads to the reception was quite poorly lit and some of my female friends only walked the better lit way.

The guys on reception were always friendly - big surfer place so it can get quite busy at times. We were able to hire out surfboards for free but don't know if that's because of the Oz Experience bus or whether that is available to everyone.

There is nothing great about this place, it did the job, felt a bit pokey and grubby at times but was average. M'eh. I don't think the Cape YHA would be any better but I get the feeling Byron Bay hostels are generally average anyway.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
0.2 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#32 of 65 in Byron Bay
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.2 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#19 of 65 in Byron Bay
313 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Bay YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay YHA

Property: Byron Bay YHA
Address: 7 Carlyle St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Bay YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Bay YHA backpackers hostel is in the centre of town, only 400m to the beach. The large comfy common areas and kitchen overlook a heated pool and BBQ. The hostel has both multi-share backpacker rooms, and twin/double rooms with fans. Large decks to relax on. Free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), TV room, locker room, surfboards, free tea/coffee. Hostel bikes and bodyboards available. YHA member discounts on backpacker tours and activities at hostel tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Byron Bay YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Bay Yha Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing