We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria's at Wategos
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Brisbane
1 review
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

This is one of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed in. Beautiful house with only a few rooms. Everything was clean, and the lovely staff bend over backwards for you. There was only 1 other couple staying there, so we were upgraded to a larger room. The manager is also a phenomenal chef and cooks the most amazing breakfast that you enjoy by the pool with a glass of champagne. It is expensive, but worth every penny. I would definitely go back and stay at Victoria's.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    18
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
82
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Hedland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2009

An extremely pleasant experience. The staff were wonderful to deal with, the room was just awesome, with nice touches like complimentary fruit, port and chocolate. The location speaks for itself- Wategos is one of my favourite places.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dapescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByronBayHospitality, Owner/Manager at Victoria's at Wategos, responded to this review, January 3, 2010
It is always rewarding for our establishment and our staff, to receive positive feedback. Most people only make the effort to write a review if they have had a negative experience. Good reviews are affirmation that "Victoria's-Byron Bay" is doing it's best to provide a happy and memorable experience, to each and every person, that we have the pleasure of welcoming to our properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

Pros
- good location, a short walk to the beautiful Wategos beach
- room was comfortable and clean
- pool was nice and would be a good if you wanted an alternative to the beach, but while we were there the weather was warm and fantastic so we didnt want to be anywhere else but the beach
- quiet and relaxing
- overall service was helpful and good
- a small dvd collection for when the weather isn't great
- good recommendations on local restaurants and things to do

Cons
- we felt it was way overpriced. During our trip we stayed in a harbour view room at the Four Seasons in Sydney which was amazing and a quarter of the price and a direct beachfront property further down the coast with 180 degree ocean views which was half the price, plus others. We just could not understand what we were paying so much for.
- The rooms do not have an ocean view.
- Although the hotel is of very high standard, I agree with a previous reviewer that there's a bit too much ornate decoration (eg. columns around the spa bath, gold taps, curtain swags etc) which feels a little out of place in a laid back beach town. But this purely aesthetic.
- Bathroom area was quite small and toiletries were nothing special (home-branded)
- Although the service was good overall, there were a couple of instances that made us feel uncomfortable e.g. I wanted to have some laundry done (which was listed as a service) and I was told a bit grumpily that the commercial laundry would take priority (which was fine by me...). On another occasion, we wanted to borrow bowls from the kitchen for our breakfast cereal (as we don't eat much for breakfast and didn't fancy paying an extra $70/day for a big breakfast that we wouldnt eat) and again had a bit of a grumpy response. The 'rules' of the kitchen could have been made a bit clearer on our check-in.
- We had a huge balcony but only one sun lounger, so the other person had to sit in the room on the bed.
- Our tv only had 3 channels.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GabriellaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByronBayHospitality, Owner/Manager at Victoria's at Wategos, responded to this review, December 12, 2009
We are disappointed to find that these guests were not totally satisfied with their stay, as we do strive to offer a positive and memorable experience to each and every person that stays at our guest house.

These guests booked through a third party (an agent) and not directly with us, so may have assumed that because we are located only 100 metres from Wategos Beach, that we must have ocean views. Our rooms do however; have a lush green outlook with views up to the famous Cape Byron light house or overlooking one of our two swimming pools. We do not promote or advertise in any way that we have ocean views.

One of the unique attributes of Victoria’s At Wategos is our European architecture and classical style décor, which are features not often found in more contemporary accommodation.

Our branded organic toiletries are made exclusively for “Victoria’s-Byron Bay” by a local producer, hardly just ordinary home branded products.

We offer a beautiful, gourmet champagne breakfast daily, for only $35.00 per person, served on the terrace by the pool, which this guest chose not to indulge in. Guests are welcome to borrow items from our kitchen during their stay, the issue at hand was related to the guest entering the kitchen during our busy breakfast service and helping himself (barefoot). Due to health and safety codes, the guest was politely asked to request what he needed from the staff and they would happily provide it.

Victoria’s is a small boutique guest house, and to maintain our high quality linen and standards, we choose to do our laundry in-house. We are happy to provide a personal laundry service, and we advise guests that the guest house laundry will take priority, but guest’s personal laundry will be clean, dry, folded and returned to their room by the end of the day’ to avoid any expectations of an immediate service.

The guests were given a complimentary upgrade to an executive spa room with a large balcony, which features a sun lounge, marble table with two hand forged chairs, and large timber bi-fold doors which open from the room, which has an arm chair and chaise lounge, so there are numerous options for relaxing in and out of the bedroom.

We have installed brand new digital flat screen TV’s which access ABC 1, 2 and 3, SBS 1 and 2, Prime, Ten and Ten sport in addition to a selection of digital radio stations. We are unable to access only 1 standard Australian broadcaster; NBN and its subsidiary GO, due to a delay in the upgrading of a tower west of Byron Bay. Perhaps the guests were not aware of what button to press, and did not ask for assistance.

Our rates are structured to incorporate travel agent commissions (up to 30%), onerous council and government taxes which are amongst the highest in New South Wales, and this is reflective partially in our tariff. We offer a high quality standard of service and facilities, in a relaxed and friendly environment, which happens to be in an exclusive, beautiful and expensive region. Our rates are reasonable when compared with other 5 star lodges throughout the world, and are very comparable to accommodation of a similar or equal standard in Byron Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron bay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

Our stay at Victoria's was just what we needed plus so much more,from the moment we arrived we were treated to so many little extras that we just were'nt expecting.
It was the perfect place for us to relax,unwind and be pampered,thankyou for the warm hospitality,and for making my birthday so special,we will definately be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minkie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

This was the first time I had been to Byron Bay and everyone was telling me that we had to stay at Wategos beach! And they were right!! What a GREAT part of the world! And Victoria's is equally as fantastic! When we got there we were greeted by Helen who made us feel so welcome! She had even cooked a cake for us to enjoy! It was the little touches at this property that made it so special. The room was small but it didnt matter as it was devine. The is a plasma TV mounted on the wall and the bathroom had a spa. The pool and main living areas are great to chill out and read and watch the world go by!
about 100m from the beach we cooked a bbq down there one night with the locals which was great fun!
You must stay here - you wont be disapointed at all.

  • Liked — The small touches - ie cooking of a cake each day for the guests
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
393 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

What a fantastic stay at Victoria's. We stayed for 3 nights, were one of only a few guests as it was off season. The hotel is in a great location out of the city area of Byron Bay on Watego's beach; some may need a car as the walk into town for dinner may be to far (Parking is available).

The room was fanastic (Room 3); with king size bed, two bathrooms and seating area with two different patios. The service and food was amazing throughout; breakfast made daily with local organic products from the local market. My wife even had a massage in the room arranged by the hotel.

Short walk away from Cape Byron to watch for whales and dolphins, as well as the lighthouse. Highly recommend for anyone staying in Byron Bay.

  • Liked — Location to Wategos beach, service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2008

What a gem of a hotel. Even though you wouldn't really call it a hotel as the small number of rooms and excellent service makes it feel like you are the only guests there.
The hotel is situated a 1minute walk from Watego's Beach and a world away from the pressures of work. It's not right in town so don't expect to be able to walk to the pub, although they organise taxis!
From the moment we got to our room with spa ensuite, lounge room and powder room we were impressed with the eye for detail displayed at every turn. The King bed was very comfortable with excellent linen and turn down service.
Helen, Sarah and the staff could not have been more helpful both during our stay and also in the lead up by helping to organise massages, golf rounds and a hairdresser to do an appointment at short notice at the hotel. Well done.
Although everything mentioned above was excellent, the highlight for us were the breakfasts. Fresh local, organic produce cooked each morning with obvious care. Now, the only trick is trying to find that organic honey yogurt in the local Marketplace....

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Forgot to take port for Airmac so no qireless internet access was missed
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJoZep1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
3.4 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#26 of 32 in Byron Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria's at Wategos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria's at Wategos

Property: Victoria's at Wategos
Address: 1 Marine Pde | Wategos Beach, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria's at Wategos 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria's at Wategos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing