We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay in Byron” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavvanbah Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cavvanbah Beach House
Ranked #1 of 39 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Byron”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

First time ever to Byron we stayed at Cavvanbah Beach House. We do not have a car or drive so we wanted to stay somewhere that is close to everything, the position was ideal. A very short stroll to the center of town and only a minute to be right on the best part of the beach. The place itself was great. A large room with lounge area and King size bed, with white tiles so it was very clean and a great bathroom with a spa bath. An LED TV and everything you needed even a hair dryer in the bathroom. It felt like a beach house over looking the pool and greenery, you could hear the waves of the surf from our room, at such a nice level is was relaxing. We walked everywhere as we were so close to everything, out for dinner, stroll down the beach, even all he way to the other side of town up to the lighthouse was a great walk from the beach house. The best thing was the organic breakfast that was put into the fridge the evening before. The best muesli I have ever tasted, fruits, hams, amazing bread and spreads...it changed every day and was very filling and so tasty. The owners were lovely and very helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions. We felt as if we were in our own house and we were very chilled by the end of our stay. When planning on returning to Byron the Cavvanbah will be our base for our next trip. With only a few rooms nestled around the pool, I think we may tell all our friends to come next time and book out the whole place, we loved it so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blagjono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our guesthouse and the kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your first time visit to Byron Bay and that you chose to stay here.
If you have a group of 8 friends that would like to get together for a quiet getaway this would be the perfect spot.
We hope you can return soon.
Steven and Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
259
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently spent 5 nights at Cavvanbah Beach House and we loved every minute of it! We felt very comfortable and relaxed from the second we arrived thanks to the lovely owners Steven and Geoff. Our room was so nice and clean - very pretty with our own private patio and entrance. We were also very impressed with the yummy breakfast that was delivered to our room each day - museli, yoghurt, bread, fresh fruit, etc. It was no problem for them to cater for gluten free either! Steven was very knowledgable about the area and gave us several tips on activities and good restaurants which helped us to plan our week. He even left us brochures and maps in our room each time we asked a question! The location is also amazing - just a short stroll out the back of the house to the beach and about a 10 minute walk to the town centre. When we come back next time we will drive up instead of fly though - to make it easier to get around and do out of town activities, although if we came in Summer having a car probably wouldn't matter as much (as we could just spend all day at the beautiful beach!). All in all we had a great time and left planning when we could return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mm8756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are really thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us, it seemed to go all too quickly.
I am glad that you also enjoyed your breakfast so much too, and you enjoyed the gluten free option. I'm glad you found useful some tips of things to do while you were up here and that you enjoyed the day trip so much.
We keep in touch with the local food scene pretty well and know where the fun places to eat are , and those serving good food.
Please come back in Summer when you next have your uni breaks and make use of the beach more which is just across the road.
Hopefully see you again soon and thanks so much for the fantastic review.
Regards,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just stayed there for a night, but wish we could have been there longer as it is the ideal place to relax. Really friendly owners, beautiful room with a wonderful patio, clean and comfortable bedroom and bathroom. Excellent breakfast and only a short walk away from a stunning beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks Kerstin. Your stay was way too short! Next time you are in Oz, lock us in for longer. Best wishes Steven and Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

A must visit Location.
We had the pleasure to visit this wonderful B&B for a 3 day getaway for our 20th wedding anniversary. As per all the other reviews there is not a bad word to say about this little piece of paradise while owners and Steve and Geoff are ever so friendly and only to happy to help with any request or enquiry .
One of the most delicious breakfasts I have ever eaten.
We are looking forward to our return trip.
Happy to recommend this amazing place to anyone who is looking for to a quiet but handy location whilst staying in Byron Bay
Kerrie and Peter

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter346Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Kerrie and Peter - Congratulations again on your 20th Anniversary. Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to your return which of course is the greatest of all compliments. Thanks again, Steven and Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed just one night in this lovely B&B, but will definitely stay again when we next visit Byron Bay. A street away from busy Shirley Street, the location couldn't have been quieter if it tried! A short stroll and you're in the centre of town.

The king sized bed was one of the comfiest we've ever experienced away from home and the spacious room has everything you need.

The breakfast was delicious too! Outstanding muesli, fresh fruit, yoghurt and juice - we couldn't ask for anything else! I would certainly recommend Cavvanbah Beach House to anyone looking for a place to stay in Byron Bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks Lauren. Glad you enjoyed the muesli. Steven makes it himself and is quite chuffed when people make special mention of it. The yoghurt and sour doughs are organic which all go towards making our breakfast a great start to the day. See you back in Byron soon. Best wishes Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

A great place to stay, just far enough out of town to avoid the crowds but only less than a 10 minute walk into town. The service was great, with clean sheets and all that sand swept out daily. Please dont stay here as i dont want to find it booked out when i next plan to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks Azi, we always do our best to accommodate return visitors. Give us plenty of notice though as we hate to disappoint. See you next time you are down here in Byron. Regards Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

3 night stay over the June long weekend at the lovely Cavvanbah Beach House. Geoff and Steve were so lovely and accomodating. We were lucky enough to be put in the front room with private little patio that overlooks a gorgeous garden. Clean, tidy and spacious rooms. Delicious (and massive) breakfasts. Perfect location, close enough to town - 5 minute walk or 2 minute bike ride. Private little walking track to the beach. Cant recommend highly enough :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nerida s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks Stephen and Dee. Glad you made it safely home to Dublin. It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us here in Byron and we look forward to your return visit sometime soon. Take care, Steven and Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Cape Beach House
The Cape Beach House
#3 of 39 in Byron Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aaman & Cinta Luxury Guesthouse & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavvanbah Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavvanbah Beach House

Property: Cavvanbah Beach House
Address: 28 Cavvanbah St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavvanbah Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone’s throw from Byron Bay’s spectacular surf beach and just minutes walk from the town centre, Cavvanbah Beach House is set amongst lush sub-tropical gardens on a quiet, secluded street – the perfect location for your holiday accommodation so you can relax, unwind and enjoy a peaceful beachside getaway.Our boutique property offers privacy that many hotels and guest houses cannot match. Each of our rooms has its own private entrance with direct access to the salt-water pool and gardens.Our location is second to none, and our proximity to the beach has to be seen to be believed. A short sandy track is all that separates your accommodation from Byron Bay's spectacular Belongil Beach. The property is nestled in beautiful tree-lined Cavvanbah Street which is set back from the main road into Byron – far enough to enjoy peace and quiet, but close enough to give you direct access to the very best of Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cavvanbah Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing