We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful with a good sense of humor, nice location tucked away from the hectic night scene on the main street. Room was spotless, and great little kitchenette for prepping with a large shaded bbq and pool area. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: There are two levels, we found the lower one great as it had direct access to the shared bbq and poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 231 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed here one night while in Byron Bay. The staff were all very friendly and willing to give ideas of things to do in the area. The room we stayed in was an older room that was bit knocked about but it was clean and comfortable. The price of accommodation was very reasonable compared to some places in Byron. The motel is a bit out of town but made for a pleasant short bike ride into town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fattima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We booked online for an overnight stay during a return trip from Bundaburg to Shellharbour in July 2011. From the moment we arrived at reception we were greeted by very friendly, polite, pleasant & what seemed a refreshingly experienced new family management. They were ever so courteous & thorough with local information of Byron & of any questions we asked.
Our accomodation in the upstairs family room was exellent. Very clean, quiet & spacious with a nice private balcony overlooking the heated pool & covered bbq area surrounded by lovely landscaped gardens. Spacious parking outside each accomodation was convenient also.
Easy directions to & from the main part of town & all the offerings of such a great coastal destination.
We wouldnt hesitate to stay again either passing through or for an enjoyable holiday. Especially with the renovations that will only modernise & increase the asthetics of an already great, tidy place to visit.
Regards Jason & Sharon

Room Tip: Upstairs room with private balcony was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandman_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The new managers were very friendly and excellent. The gardens had allready been done up and were beautiful. The studio room was spacious but the fittings tired. The new managers and owners are doing up the place as fast as they can. The room was clean, the bed fine and renovations due to start soon after we left.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I have been staying at the Sunseeker for roughly 6 months, every 2 weeks, for work. I never met the previous managers, only the now retired Pam (what a gem), but the new managers are without a doubt WONDERFUL! It's so nice to see some friendly faces when I'm away from home and you can't beat their generosity. The rooms are clean, the balconies are lovely and if you don't feel like going into town, there is a barbecue and pool: throw a snag on the barbie and have a swim. The internet access is great (though was left in a bit of a state by the previous owners and nonexistent for a couple of weeks). It's wonderfully priced (especially in comparison to the rest of Byron) and the managers told me last time I was in that they are doing some pretty great renovations/ improvements. It's about 2km from town, so if you have a problem with exercise and don't enjoy a lovely walk through Byron, maybe book something closer to town, that's got a big screen TV. Wouldn't want you accidentally exercising!

Room Tip: I find the upstairs balconies the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebbecca83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

we had consultated this website prior to tripping down the east coast and were wary based on some other reviews but we decuded to give it a go as it was on our way through. We had a nice time and found the managers friendly and helpful we had found in conversation with them that they were new managers to this motel and were keen to turn the place around from previous reviews, I would definately give this place a go as it is quiet and close enought should you iwsh to be in the action.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ubeyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We have just returned from the Sunseeker and were a bit wary after all the poor reviews we had read on TripAdvisor - but decided to go with an open mind and see for ourselves.
We were very pleasantly surprised. The service we received from Diane & Peter was second to none. They were courteous and helpful at all times.
The rooms admittedly could do with some updating (but surely that's a job for the owner to rectify, and not the Managers of the motel) - but were very clean and functional. We used the pool which was lovely and clean. We asked Peter if he had any shade - to which he promptly returned with 2 large beach umbrellas.
The cleaner was friendly and polite.
It is about a 20 minute walk into town. We had a lovely time at the Sunseeker Motel and have returned home relaxed and recharged.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandLinzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 34 in Byron Bay
244 reviews
2.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
441 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#2 of 34 in Byron Bay
210 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tallow Beach Motel
Tallow Beach Motel
#2 of 3 in Suffolk Park
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay

Address: 100 Bangalow Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range: $118 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While Byron Bay is a well-known playground for some, it is a place of relaxation, contemplation and unparalleled beauty for others. Byron Sunseeker Motel is situated close enough to enjoy the many offerings of the township, yet it is far enough away from the party scene to ensure your relaxation. Your hosts, Deborah and Graham, take pride in the serene atmosphere that is provided at Byron Sunseeker Motel. As a guest you will appreciate their undertaking to provide a relaxing experience that allows you to unwind in the comfortable rooms and within the peaceful confines of the grounds. Come and enjoy our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Sunseeker Hotel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing