We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wollongbar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wollongbar Motel
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

This was a great motel for a short stay, back gate leads directly onto an awesome beach. Rooms had everything we needed

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    67
    22
    14
    6
See reviews for
28
67
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Went to Byron for a wedding and stayed at the Wollongbar Motel for 2 nights. A bit old and fairly basic accommodation but reasonably priced. Room was good size, clean with a large bathroom. Air cond. & ceiling fan, Fox TV. We were on the ground floor. Room was a bit dark so if the door was open, no privacy otherwise have to have the lights on. On the positive side. Location was good. Easy walk to cafes, shops & pub. Track through to beach a bit overgrown but easy to walk to main beach and Motel also has a pool. Better accommodation if you want to pay a bit more.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrangipaniLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

It obviously has been renovated. The rooms are large and so pleasant we decided to stay another night in our trip down the coast. Perfect position, great staff and the pool was a great chill out area. Would really reccomend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this motel which is easy walking distance from both the beach and the town center. The room was spacious, air conditionned and clean, the welcome friendly and helpful. A small private path gives you direct access to the beach so we didn't really bother testing the pool. 5 minutes from the main drag in town so shops and restaurants are close. Overall, though 120aud is more than we usually.spend, we were glad we did. Slept very well and enjoyed the comfort and friendliness of this place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtriper_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed as a group of 4 girls heading out for a birthday party, in a 2 bedroom/family style room. As with most motels you get what you pay for- its pretty old but our room was clean and quiet. Nice pool on site also. The manager responded to emails promptly and gave us a better last minute rate than offered on wotif, for just 1 night (many places in the area won't accept 1 night stays).
The reception was open til 8 or 9pm and we were also able to leave our car/luggage for the day after checking out so we could head to the beach. It's only a short walk into the centre of town, max 5 minutes. If you're looking for somewhere affordable and clean and close to town then this is it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just_lozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Big room, great facilities and location with private beach access.
Friendly staff and good value for money.

Would recommend and return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here while backpacking around Australia purely because it had austar tv and we wanted to watch Manchester united play.
so we gathered a few united fans from the nearby hostel and split the cost of the room (180$) between 6 of us. There were only beds for 3 people. but we were backpacking so don't judge us :-).
Rooms were basic but adequate. Had a lot of ants and cockroaches around though. pool area is nice and the beach and the shipwreck are 2 minute walk away through a dodgy looking gate at the back and across the now disused railway line.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrot87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Byron Motor Lodge Motel
Byron Motor Lodge Motel
#31 of 32 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.3 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay Beach Motel
Bay Beach Motel
#22 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hibiscus Motel
Hibiscus Motel
#7 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Eco Beach
BreakFree Eco Beach
#9 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wollongbar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wollongbar Motel

Property: Wollongbar Motel
Address: 19 - 21 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wollongbar Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wollongbar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wollongbar Hotel Byron Bay
Wollongbar Motel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing