We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great location, Great place”
Review of Wollongbar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wollongbar Motel
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I stayed with my partner at this motel 4 nights. The staff was vert friendly and helpful. The location is great...just two minuts walk from main street and also a back gate directly to the beach. The room was very clean and nice...gave us everything we needed.
Please note that if you need WI-FI it works veryyyyy slow and cuts of all the time (25 dollars for 8 hour usage). Also the TV has really bad reception.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebecca l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Wollongbar Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 168 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed here last night, 13.8.11, it was one of the only places that let you book for one night in Byron. We knew it had it's own private entry to the beach and was a few minutes walk to the town area. The man at reception was absolutely lovely, and treated us like we were checking into a hotel (not beach motel). They give you a small jug of fresh milk upon arrival to have with the complimentary tea, coffee and hot choc (if you don't want to drink the UHT milk in the fridge). You are offered a map of Byron as well.
We stayed in room 19, room was large, clean, linen crisp and bed very comfy. Toilet and bathroom clean with shampoo/cond, shower cap/soap etc so in terms of an older but very clean motel, the staff obviously try and go a little further (there are even hairdryers). Basically the location is amazing, 1 minute walk through the shrubs to the beautiful sandy beach.
Don't expect the Hilton, it's decent value accommodation with a million dollar location and the staff are very very hospitable. The reviewers micro-analyzing the curtains need to chill out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CFCamden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Just returned from a relaxing weekend (overnight) at Byron Bay staying at the Wollongbar Motel in a deluxe family room (2 adults, 2 kids). Furnishings are a bit dated and well worn, but the beds were comfy, linen crisp, everything was clean and the kitchenette and bathroom were well stocked.
The motel is in a great location about a minute from the beach (via an overgrown sandy track) and 3 minutes to the shops. Despite this it was very quiet, no traffic or party noise.
Staff were friendly and helpful. It also has an attractive pool area.
While being a bit pricey for a motel, Byron is expensive (even to camp), and one / two night accommodation is limited. On this basis we thought the Wollongbar was good value and hope to return next time we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracam2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

There were two good things about our stay here, 1- the location very close to the beach and the town but still quiet 2- the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room however was awful. On a first look the room looks fine and then you look closer. The furniture is extremely old and has stains all over it (thats fine i can live with that) however it was only when i slept in the bed i realised that it was damp. I dont mean a little damp i mean wet. A really unpleasant night sleep. I am sure it is hard to deal with the humidity in rooms etc but seriously they need to put some money into the rooms to update them and try out their beds. Not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHamilton, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

Thank you for choosing to say at The Wollongbar Motel and taking the time to post a review. Guest feedback helps us to improve the services that we provide. It would be appreciated if you could contact me to be more specific about the damp bed. We have procedures in place to prevent this situation and it will assist in streamlining these to ensure it won’t happen again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We drove from Sydney to Brisbane staying in motels that we found via tourist information centers. The Wollongbar was my favourite because of its location a short walk to shops, bars and restaurants. I also thought the pool area was the best we had seen in a motel with a great barbecue area. It also had its own track to the beach.
We would have happily stayed for a week.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bee0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

excellent place to stay, so close to the beach, close to town

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

My Melbourne based daughter and I enjoyed a wonderful, relaxing stay at Wollongbar. The room was airy, spacious, comfortable and contained all that we required. The manager and staff were friendly, welcoming, willing and helpful, keen to arrange things for us to do.
The proximity to the beach and the township was ideal, as we were able to walk about easily.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hibiscus Motel
Hibiscus Motel
#7 of 32 in Byron Bay
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#15 of 32 in Byron Bay
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay Beach Motel
Bay Beach Motel
#21 of 32 in Byron Bay
104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Eco Beach
BreakFree Eco Beach
#9 of 32 in Byron Bay
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wollongbar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wollongbar Motel

Address: 19 - 21 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range: $125 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wollongbar Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wollongbar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wollongbar Hotel Byron Bay
Wollongbar Motel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing