We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planula B&B Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Planula B&B Retreat
Ranked #16 of 39 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed in a Garden Suite with private entrance. It was a nice comfortable airy room. The hosts are friendly and it was enjoyable to chat with other guests at breakfast. The breakfast was fine - coffee, cereal, muffins, fruit, yoghurt, bread & toast.

It was a pleasant place to stay. It's about 45 minutes walk from Byron down the end of a dirt track.

Bring a torch and insect repellent.

Room Tip: Garden suite rooms have own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    31
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
64
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Gorgeous little b&b set in lush surrounds. Good for non party communal living, nice if you want to meet others, shared kitchen & lounge. No TVs in rooms. Overall a great stay

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had a very quiet, relaxing and comfortable stay at Planula. The hosts were most helpful and accomodating. The accomodation was very clean and comfortable. Access to the large kitchen was great. It is a short drive into the hussle and bussle of beautiful Byron. As scuba divers were offered a 10% discount by Sundive and we had a place to store wet equipment back at Planula. We left feeling refreshed and will definately be back on our next trip to Byron!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Planula is a wonderful place to stay if you are looking for a quiet, peaceful location away from the buzz of Byron. Linda and Phil are very welcoming and hospitable and ensure you stay is everything you want it to be. at just several km's outside of town the accomodation is within easy reach of Byron by bike or taxi if you are without a car, and bikes can be rented from the hosts for a small fee of $10 per day. The shared lounge has a much needed wood burner for cold winder evenings and the rooms each have a heater to ensure you are cosy at night. Temple Byron is on the doorstep as well as two other Yoga schools (for Bikram and Inyengar) so if that's your thing you will have lots of choice close at hand.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

You couldn't find a nicer , more friendly host and hostess than Linda and Phil. The muffins were to die for and far surpassed those bought at a down town cafe. I couldn't wait for the 2nd breakfast!
Clean comfortable suite and a large kitchen for all guests to use. Close enough to the beach and shops but far from the madding crowd.
Overgrown garden gave it a wonderful feel.
How wonderful it is to find accommodation like this on the internet. However if you are looking for parties and lots of action try some where else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arty24681012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Was just such a great place to stay... we booked for two nights and couldn't leave so stayed a third! Might have had something to do with the freshly baked muffins for breakfast each morning. Planula is small with only a handful of rooms but each have their own uniquely designed privacy. At first I was a touch nervous about the shared kitchen/dining and living room but our experience was that it added to the place, making it all the more personable. We had a long shared diner with a Dutch family and left sharing phone numbers and email addresses and then breakfasted with a young couple on the last day. All the more enjoyable because of these contacts. Everything about this place was tops! Yes it would have been nice if it was located right on the beach front but value for money - this is a gem!

Room Tip: Nice option of two connecting rooms is an option
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryfromAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

had most excellent stay here for one night - clean bright rooms and fresh sheets and stuff; room is spacious enough, and there's a groovy bay window seat platform thing which was fun. bathroom/ shower was nice and water is hot! can't compare it to anything cause i haven't really stayed anywhere like it. heaps of timber (construction), and in rainforest setting.
rate was excellent - i think off-peak.
no garish signs or fittings - plain simple basic, and beaut feel.
we took our own blankets, torch, and repellent - but that's just us.
i thought the beds were a bit on the firm side - but better than too saggy.
staff friendly and unobtrusive.
close to byron bay centre but far away enough from the hustle... smooth dirt road access off a main road.
quiet except for a heighbourhood dog and crows. nil traffic noise.
substantial community living room and kitchen. brekky included beats the heck out of camping. very relaxing stay in lovely surrounds, outdoor tables and chairs on deck area (more timber); and nearby are open areas to play and do whatever.
i should really keep this a secret but utilitarianism requires me to share.

Room Tip: helpful room selection tip: get in early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brizliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.7 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
1.9 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bayhaven Lodge
Bayhaven Lodge
#8 of 39 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#19 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planula B&B Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planula B&B Retreat

Property: Planula B&B Retreat
Address: Lot 1, Melaleuca Drive | PO Box 1753, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Planula B&B Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planula Retreat offers beautiful accommodation set on over 50 acres amongst tropical landscaped gardens just over 3km from the centre of Byron Bay. You will love the relaxed atmosphere created in this modern B&B style retreat. We are the only true remaining oasis that close to town! Unwind on the extensive decks around the house overlooking the frog pond and enjoy the lush gardens. How about listening to the birds and frogs over a BBQ at night? Extensive continental breakfasts are included in all rates. FREE wireless fast broadband everywhere. Friendly hosts and great recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Planula B&B Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing