We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Planula B&B Retreat
Ranked #16 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We had a great stay! The staff couldn't be friendlier, the hot tub is amazing, breakfast and juice included. Will stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisdb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    31
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
65
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This place is so good. I've been annually at Easter for the last 3 years. Tim and Wandy are fabulous hosts. The guest house is separate from the main house, and has 5 very comfortable guest rooms - all with at least double accommodation (or can be adjusted to suit families or twin beds) and ensuite. There is also a big terrace surrounded by rainforest, with a guest BBQ, a guest lounge room with TV and a fully equipped kitchen. Breakfast is made very welcoming with a choice of home-cooked muffins (blueberry is my favourite), home cooked bread straight from the bread oven or other surprises. I have always enjoyed meeting the other guests and chatting over breakfast. It is wonderful to wake to the sounds of the birds in the surrounding trees. It's far enough from roads to ensure there is no road traffic noise, but close enough to walk to the main road to catch the shuttle to the Bluesfest, or to walk to the service station or shops for supplies. Bikes are available to ride into town, to avoid Easter or Xmas traffic. I keep a standing booking as it's the only place I'd contemplate for my easter break at Bluesfest. Toni

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but my favourite is on the top floor with its own private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Great accomodation if your looking for something basic. Breakfast was not overly extensive but the fresh baked bread in the mornings was delicious. A beautiful location set in the bushes and only a very short (3min) drive to town. The hosts are fantastic people who will do anything and go out of their way to help you have a fantastic time. Recommended for those looking for a peaceful retreat away from the bussle of the town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tb682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

If you're making the effort to travel to Australia you really need to try things which you wouldn't normally do on holiday. Staying at the Planula Retreat offers exactly that, something completely different, something away from the ordinary. This is not your typical 4 star hotel with sea views, heated swimming pools, repetitive food and over priced drinks.This is bed and breakfast with a difference. Firstly the rooms are large, very clean have oversized comfortable beds and a powerful shower.It is approx a 10/15 min drive from Byron Bay but that is what gives the Planula Retreat its charm, isolation and quite. Evening entertainment comes from sitting on the wooden decking gently swinging in a hammock with a bottle of red wine, star gazing and listening to the frogs, toads and crickets. The noise generated from the wildlife makes you think at times you're on a film set! I agree with all previous comments regarding breakfast - delicious!! We loved Byron Bay but also loved coming away from the noise of the night time bars and restaurants to listen to the noise of the Planula woodland. If you're not scared of the dark or swamp creatures you'll love this B&B.

Room Tip: Car hire is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filbert414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed here in january 2012 and found the property to be tranquil but quite remote and therefore quite a distance from Byron bay town centre. Although we enjoyed our stay here we found it quite expensive (£160.00) a night for a shared house. We enjoyed the bike hire and the bbq which is available to guests as well as the morning breakfast. We found a lovely beach nearby which was much closer and quieter than central Byron. We would stay here agan and recommend it but only if you have deep pockets! let them know if you arrive before 8am as they do not have a manned reception.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazzy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
planula, Owner at Planula B&B Retreat, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Planula is a wonderful retreat just over 3 kilometres away from the centre of Byron Bay. This means that even at busy times we can still offer our guests a relaxing get-away a short car drive or 10 minute bike ride away from the excitement of Byron Bay.

As mentioned in the review these guests stayed in January which is the busiest (and most expensive) time of the year for Byron Bay with it being the middle of summer and obviously the New Years Eve celebrations. Still we have very competitive prices when compared with other accommodation places in the area and people do not have to book in for a whole week either. It is worth mentioning that our rates significantly drop after the first week in January and we have regular specials throughout the year as well. Make use of our accommodation/activities packages and you could save even more!

Our check-in times are as flexible as people want them to be and we are more than happy to have people come in earlier that our 'official' check-in time of 2 pm. However, we DO recommend that if you would like to check in at 6 am you let us know in advance.

As for the reception, we live on site and the reception is manned pretty much from 8 until 8, 7 days a week, all year round.

Wandy & Tim Hochgrebe
Owners - Planula : A Retreat in Byron Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

A short drive from Byron Bay, but very peaceful, and surrounded by tropical jungle, this is a perfect place to unwind. Hosts are welcoming and very helpful. We have had a great few days of doing nothing apart from listen to the tree frogs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at Planula b&b four nights including Christmas 2011. It's a gorgeous property - a tropical jungle right next door to the heavenly Temple Byron. Clean, good-sized rooms and a relaxing, comfortable vibe. There were a couple of bearded dragons that joined us for breakfast each morning on the terrace which was fun. Breakfast included tropical fruits, a selection of breads or muffins and tubs of yogurt. Great tea and coffee facilities all day and it's easy to find delicious produce in the surrounding area and BBQ or cook your meals in the shared kitchen. Just beware that there is no housekeeping service tho we were given fresh towels every second day. We would definitely stay there again.
Jo & Ian, Sydney

Room Tip: Rooms away from the shared kitchen are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
352 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
184 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cavvanbah Beach House
Cavvanbah Beach House
#1 of 34 in Byron Bay
354 reviews
2.2 mi away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayshore Bungalows
Bayshore Bungalows
#15 of 34 in Byron Bay
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planula B&B Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planula B&B Retreat

Property: Planula B&B Retreat
Address: Lot 1, Melaleuca Drive | PO Box 1753, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Planula B&B Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planula Retreat offers beautiful accommodation set on over 50 acres amongst tropical landscaped gardens just over 3km from the centre of Byron Bay. You will love the relaxed atmosphere created in this modern B&B style retreat. We are the only true remaining oasis that close to town! Unwind on the extensive decks around the house overlooking the frog pond and enjoy the lush gardens. How about listening to the birds and frogs over a BBQ at night? Extensive continental breakfasts are included in all rates. FREE wireless fast broadband everywhere. Friendly hosts and great recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Planula B&B Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing