We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome holiday accommodation as always!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BreakFree Eco Beach
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Gunnedah, Australia
1 review
“Awesome holiday accommodation as always!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We recently spent a week here and it was awesome!! The accomodation was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. The pool and bbq area were immaculate and the staff are always very friendly and professional. We love staying at the Byron Bay Breakfree Eco Beach x

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneHennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Your comments are appreciated and it is great to hear that you enjoy your stays at BreakFree Eco Beach. We love welcoming guests back time and again and also introducing the resort and Byron Bay to first time visitors. We look forward to your next stay. Regards, Sharon Coleman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    160
    48
    22
    12
See reviews for
67
180
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gunnedah, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed in the one bedroom apartment which directly adjoins the pool. Our kids loved it and already want to go back. We found Sharon to be most help full and obliging. Nothing is too much trouble. She is a real wealth of knowledge on Byron Bay.
The apartment was spotlessly clean and very well appointed. It is in a great location just a short stroll to beautiful Byron beaches and town centre. We love Byron and this will be our place to stay for now on. Thanks Sharon and team.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Your praise is appreciated and has inspired my team and myself to provide even better service in the future. I have managed BreakFree Eco Beach for many years and it's a pleasure seeing guests return time and again. I especially enjoy watching how families have grown between each visit and assisting all age groups to book fun activities. Looking forward to seeing you and your family again soon. Regards, Sharon Coleman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

A big thank you to Sharon and the team for making our stay always enjoyable....I'm a regular visitor to Byron and this will always be the place to stay...the location is perfect, a short walk to the beach and town centre but a good distance away from the noise...thank you!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MaryYandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience at BreakFree Eco Beach. It's great to hear you appreciated our service and had a lovely stay. BreakFree Eco Beach is a great base from which to enjoy all that Byron Bay and it's surrounds have to offer. Looking forward to seeing you again. Regards, Sharon Coleman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great accommodation - just a quick walk into town or to the beach. The rooms are clean and comfy with good facilities. Our room had everything we needed. No noise from other guests or the street either. The staff were really friendly and happy to help with everything, The price for our stay was pretty reasonable given it was a last minute booking for the Australia Day long weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
It's great to hear you enjoyed our service and your stay at BreakFree Eco Beach. Your comments are appreciated and will be passed on to our team. We love sharing our knowledge of Byron Bay and helping our guests make the most of their stay with us. Looking forward to your next visit. Regards, Sharon Coleman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our two night stay was fantastic. We found our one-bedroom apartment very comfortable and nicely appointed. Decor was fresh and apartment spotlessly cleaned. Access to town a nice short stroll and close proximity to beach makes it a repeat motel destination. Thank you Sharon for your genuine and friendly customer service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful rating and comments. They have been shared with our team and will inspire us to continue sharing our love of Byron and ensuring guests create lasting memories of their time at BreakFree Eco Beach. Regards, Sharon Coleman, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Byron Bay is our favourite place and we visit often. Sadly this accomodation was seriously disappointing. Over priced for the standards they present. Starting with a 5 minute justification on why they hold 200$ for 7 days. Does it really take 7 days to check over a room? Is that legal? Imagine how much money they could be holding by doing this got every room for that amount of time!!! We have never experienced that anywhere and we are regular and experienced travellers.We are middle aged grandparents and don't feel the need to be informed of the consequences of playing with fire extinguishers! We noticed this accommodation is open to Schoolies, we don't all need to be spoken to or treated as! The patio and table were filthy, lounge seats and dining chairs full of sand. I refrained from sitting on the lounge and just used our bed to sit on as that was clean. Well apart from the throw at the bottom of the bed that had hairs stuck to it (not ours). Broken ironing board so clearly not checked after someone! recommend reduce prices or raise your standards.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank DownunderLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thanks for your comments. They will assist us in raising our standards. The housekeeping items have been addressed and we apologise. We have high cleaning standards and are disappointed that your stay was not up to scratch. We prefer guests notify us immediately if they have any issues so that they can be rectified and the guest made comfortable. The $200 pre-authorisation does not leave the guest's account, however the bank holds the funds for 7 days. This procedure is communicated on websites and booking confirmations and ensures all guests are treated equally. Regards, Sharon Coleman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is worst accommodation we had during our three week trip to Australia. It's a barely acceptable 1 bedroom apartment that cost us $299. And to add insult to the price it charged $25 for internet connection that gave you only one user access. But that's not the worst part. Worst part was the service. I booked the room over phone. When we got to Byron bay at 7:00 pm we couldn't find the place. So we called and got a message that we close at 5:00 pm and we will open tomorrow morning. At that time I noticed that I had a text message from the hotel about how to access the room key and also the garage. I had given my cell no over the phone, and I was fortunate that agent didn't make a mistake to write down my phone number. Can you imagine if I had not gotten that text message we would have no way of knowing how to get our room key. No emergency number nothing. And we paid $299/night for this crappy one bedroom apartment. Next morning we were walking past the reception when the receptionist asked us if we going to stay one more day. We said no we will checkout. It was 10:10am. She tells us our check out time is 10:00 am, can you leave in 10 minutes? We said we can't get out in 10 minutes, we will be out in 30. minutes. She says to that closer to 10 minutes would be better.

We stayed in many different places during our three week trip of Australia, we had great experiences in all the places we stayed except for this awful place.

Room Tip: Stay away from summer time. The whole area is over priced during peak summer time
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Basu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to comment and I apologise that your expectations were not met. It seems you travelled either in school holidays or over a weekend as you have paid peak rates. Byron Bay is a small but very popular destination and prices are market driven. Our office hours, along with our check-in and out times are communicated on all websites and we do have an after hours procedure as you describe. The text message is sent from my mobile phone so after hours guests can contact me if they need to. There is also a doorbell next to the resort front door so even those arriving after hours without a mobile phone are catered for. The rooms feature new stone bench tops, new curtains, new lounges and in February will have new dining and lounge room furniture. Byron Bay is a very busy town but also one of the most friendly and it is surrounded by some of the best uncrowded, pristine beaches you will find anywhere. Regards, Sharon Coleman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
0.6 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Eco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Eco Beach

Property: BreakFree Eco Beach
Address: 35-37 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Eco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Eco Beach offers a great location, affordable accommodation, and the perfect base to enjoy all the fun activities and attractions on offer in one of Australia's most popular holiday destinations. This resort offers a selection of studio rooms and one and two bedroom suites. Featuring modern decor and open plan designs, all accommodation has a casual feel suited to Byron Bay and its surrounds. All rooms include air conditioning, a balcony or patio, wide screen LCD TVs with Austar, DVD players, iron and ironing board, ensuite in all rooms, kitchenette and tea and coffee making facilities. BreakFree Eco Beach offers many onsite facilities including private surrounds with a central swimming pool, and a spa and a barbeque area far removed from the busy heart of Byron Bay. If you want to laze on the beach or hit the waves, the beach is just a 350 metre walk away. From here, guests can enjoy the distinctive character and alternative lifestyle Byron Bay is famous for by joining a surf school and yoga class, or go dolphin kayaking and enjoy a wildlife tour. The Byron Bay Lighthouse, Main Beach, Wategos beach, shopping, art galleries, cafes, restaurants and pubs are all within easy reach. Every activity is catered for in Byron Bay and is within easy reach from BreakFree Eco Beach, the perfect base for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Eco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Eco Beach Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing