We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BreakFree Eco Beach
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great accommodation - just a quick walk into town or to the beach. The rooms are clean and comfy with good facilities. Our room had everything we needed. No noise from other guests or the street either. The staff were really friendly and happy to help with everything, The price for our stay was pretty reasonable given it was a last minute booking for the Australia Day long weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

It's great to hear you enjoyed our service and your stay at BreakFree Eco Beach. Your comments are appreciated and will be passed on to our team. We love sharing our knowledge of Byron Bay and helping our guests make the most of their stay with us. Looking forward to your next visit. Regards, Sharon Coleman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 420 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our two night stay was fantastic. We found our one-bedroom apartment very comfortable and nicely appointed. Decor was fresh and apartment spotlessly cleaned. Access to town a nice short stroll and close proximity to beach makes it a repeat motel destination. Thank you Sharon for your genuine and friendly customer service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful rating and comments. They have been shared with our team and will inspire us to continue sharing our love of Byron and ensuring guests create lasting memories of their time at BreakFree Eco Beach. Regards, Sharon Coleman, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Byron Bay is our favourite place and we visit often. Sadly this accomodation was seriously disappointing. Over priced for the standards they present. Starting with a 5 minute justification on why they hold 200$ for 7 days. Does it really take 7 days to check over a room? Is that legal? Imagine how much money they could be holding by doing this got every room for that amount of time!!! We have never experienced that anywhere and we are regular and experienced travellers.We are middle aged grandparents and don't feel the need to be informed of the consequences of playing with fire extinguishers! We noticed this accommodation is open to Schoolies, we don't all need to be spoken to or treated as! The patio and table were filthy, lounge seats and dining chairs full of sand. I refrained from sitting on the lounge and just used our bed to sit on as that was clean. Well apart from the throw at the bottom of the bed that had hairs stuck to it (not ours). Broken ironing board so clearly not checked after someone! recommend reduce prices or raise your standards.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank DownunderLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thanks for your comments. They will assist us in raising our standards. The housekeeping items have been addressed and we apologise. We have high cleaning standards and are disappointed that your stay was not up to scratch. We prefer guests notify us immediately if they have any issues so that they can be rectified and the guest made comfortable. The $200 pre-authorisation does not leave the guest's account, however the bank holds the funds for 7 days. This procedure is communicated on websites and booking confirmations and ensures all guests are treated equally. Regards, Sharon Coleman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is worst accommodation we had during our three week trip to Australia. It's a barely acceptable 1 bedroom apartment that cost us $299. And to add insult to the price it charged $25 for internet connection that gave you only one user access. But that's not the worst part. Worst part was the service. I booked the room over phone. When we got to Byron bay at 7:00 pm we couldn't find the place. So we called and got a message that we close at 5:00 pm and we will open tomorrow morning. At that time I noticed that I had a text message from the hotel about how to access the room key and also the garage. I had given my cell no over the phone, and I was fortunate that agent didn't make a mistake to write down my phone number. Can you imagine if I had not gotten that text message we would have no way of knowing how to get our room key. No emergency number nothing. And we paid $299/night for this crappy one bedroom apartment. Next morning we were walking past the reception when the receptionist asked us if we going to stay one more day. We said no we will checkout. It was 10:10am. She tells us our check out time is 10:00 am, can you leave in 10 minutes? We said we can't get out in 10 minutes, we will be out in 30. minutes. She says to that closer to 10 minutes would be better.

We stayed in many different places during our three week trip of Australia, we had great experiences in all the places we stayed except for this awful place.

Room Tip: Stay away from summer time. The whole area is over priced during peak summer time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Basu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to comment and I apologise that your expectations were not met. It seems you travelled either in school holidays or over a weekend as you have paid peak rates. Byron Bay is a small but very popular destination and prices are market driven. Our office hours, along with our check-in and out times are communicated on all websites and we do have an after hours procedure as you describe. The text message is sent from my mobile phone so after hours guests can contact me if they need to. There is also a doorbell next to the resort front door so even those arriving after hours without a mobile phone are catered for. The rooms feature new stone bench tops, new curtains, new lounges and in February will have new dining and lounge room furniture. Byron Bay is a very busy town but also one of the most friendly and it is surrounded by some of the best uncrowded, pristine beaches you will find anywhere. Regards, Sharon Coleman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights and would have stayed longer with time permitting!
Quiet, clean, secure parking.
10 minute walk to CBD and town beach, also 5 minutes to markets in the reserve.
Great value compared with other byron accommodation I was looking at booking! Also has free washing/drying machines.
We did the lighthouse walk, would definately recommend doing ( achievable with kids, we did it with a baby slinged 5 month old)

Stayed: January 2014
Thank DulcieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

It's great of you to take the time to share your Byron Bay experience at BreakFree Eco Beach with others. The light house walk is one of my favourites and offers amazing views as well as great dolphin and whale watching (whale season Mid May to Mid Nov). Looking forward to your next visit. Regards, Sharon Coleman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Just wanted to thank you guys for an awesome time ! The studio was great, nice size, clean, quiet and close to main streets!
The service was what we appreciated the most from the first encounter the staff were wonderfully helpful and kind! Would recommend this place to anyone wanting a nice place to stay at Byron and great value in comparison :) will stay there next time we are in town.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thanks for such a glowing review. We love sharing our knowledge of Byron Bay and assisting guests to relax and make the most of their holiday. Whether it be skydiving, yoga or doing nothing but sit by the pool or enjoy our heated spa. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Byron Bay. Regards, Sharon Coleman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very disappointed with our stay at breakfree.
I went with friends and we were surprised by the amount of things we had to do to avoid being charged extra. You have to count every piece of cutlery and every single thing in the room at the beginning of your stay. If you miscounted or took things between rooms with in the one apartment you would also be charged. You also had to look for all the tiny damages with in the apartment, and because our friends missed one of the damages, they tried to charge us with this. The mid week service was done to the bare minimum, they replaced the towels and bedding, but our dirty, sandy were not swept or mopped as promised so we had to get a bucket out ourself and wash it. Also the fans were loud and noisy while we tried to sit on the balcony and would turn on and off. Over all, over priced and under serviced.

Room Tip: if you desperately have to stay here, i would imagine a room over looking the pool would be best, fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hgilt1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments, please refer to our response to the other guest travelling with you ohanameansfamily. We really enjoyed having you and your friends stay and are sorry to hear that you were upset about the bond claim, however any damages at check-out do need to be reimbursed by the guests,either at check-out or from the bond.
Thank you for staying at BreakFree Eco Beach and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards
Sharon Coleman
BreakFree Eco Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
516 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
2.2 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
197 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#1 of 34 in Byron Bay
236 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Eco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Eco Beach

Address: 35-37 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range: $123 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Eco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Eco Beach offers a great location, affordable accommodation, and the perfect base to enjoy all the fun activities and attractions on offer in one of Australia’s most popular holiday destinations. This resort offers a selection of studio rooms and one and two bedroom suites. All rooms include air conditioning, a balcony or patio, wide screen LCD TVs with Austar, DVD players, iron and ironing board, ensuite in all rooms, kitchenette and tea and coffee making facilities. BreakFree Eco Beach offers many onsite facilities including private surrounds with a central swimming pool, and a spa and a BBQ area far removed from the busy heart of Bryon Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BreakFree Eco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Eco Beach Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing