We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly staff, good facilities.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BreakFree Eco Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BreakFree Eco Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good facilities.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were made to feel very welcome.
It was located conveniently a 10 minute stroll from Byron Bay.
We loved the pool!
The rooms were clean, beds very clean and bed sheets great quality, the art work in the rooms was really special too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionab555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at BreakFree Eco Beach. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    136
    39
    17
    7
See reviews for
42
152
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Clean, excellent service & friendly, helpful & knowledgeable desk staff.
We stayed there 4 nights recently & would have no hesitation in recommending it- a beautifully kept apartment block, clean, private & roomy with kitchen....
Close, but a comfortable distance from all the action of busy Byron CBD.
We will stay there again, definitely.....
Jann & Gillian

Room Tip: rooms on first floor probably better....ask for one with a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. It is lovely to hear you had such a great holiday and enjoyed your stay at BreakFree Eco Beach. We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Such a disappointing stay. Self-catering does not equal penny-pinching, and this is how the Breakfree felt. From the constant reminders that we would be charged a $30 cleaning fee if we didn't do our dishes or remove our rubbish, to only having one towel each and one set of linen for a 7 night stay (hot weather and activities meant we used our one towel for 11 showers each - often damp). A result of Breakfree's you-clean policy is that our dishes were cleaned by the previous tenant! Did they use hot water and detergent and clean them properly (like a paid hotel cleaner hopefully would)? Judging by the marks on the plates...no they did not. Ick!
God forbid if we wanted to use the pool or the COLD spa pool (our week was pretty cool and overcast with rain) - a pool towel cost $5 to use! When I asked reception for new batteries for the tv remote that wouldn't work, you'd think they were made of gold. I was told they were only replaced at Christmas and I shouldn't need them. After the necessary paperwork was done (!) they did give me two new AA batteries. These didn't work. They looked into it further and discovered the problem was with the TV not the remote - nothing was done to fix this.
Aside from struggling with the broken TV all week, we also struggled with the challenging bathroom. It was small, super small, which wouldn't have been so bad if we had some hooks (or similar) to hold our toiletry bags/clothes/pyjamas/robes - a fairly basic requirement. The shower had a small soap dish on the wall - again it would have been great to have a shelf for our toiletries. The shower itself squealed every time it was used. This was about as enjoyable as having to reset the fuse in the power box when it shorted because we wanted to use the toaster at the same time as the TV. Maybe we were expected to fix the unit ourselves...should have packed my tools.
Be warned, this hotel, instead of pre-authorising your credit card, actually puts a $200 hold on your card. This money is not released by the hotel when you check out, but instead lapses after 7 days.
Other things you should know - rooms not fantastically clean, no direct access to the beach, reception only open 8/9am-5pm, some first floor apartments still require you to climb small set of stairs.
The only saving-grace of this property was their new receptionist Lizzie. She was an absolute ray of sunshine and the only thing that made us feel welcome there. She was helpful, friendly and personable.
This property has so much potential, but there practices and some small maintenance issues REALLY let it down.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter at the back of property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay. We apologise for the inconvenience that the maintenance items caused and your suggestions will help us to ensure the comfort of future guests. As self catering apartments we do ask our guests to leave them neat and tidy on departure, the cleaners do check & clean dishes where necessary and we apologise that in this instance they lapsed. The spa is heated, however the gas heater was faulty and dangerous and was turned off as the plumber was waiting on a part.
Although we do not have beach access we are only an easy 5 minute walk to the beach.
As part of our advertised procedures a $200 pre-authorisation at check in is required.
Lizzie is the latest addition to our team and it's great to hear how much you enjoyed her service.
regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a two night stay at Eco Beach, perfect location, minutes from the beach-we were told by the reception about a footpath through the back. A pleasant stroll into the town either via the beach or along the road path. Room very well equipped for self catering, very clean. A small swimming pool, ideal for a quick dip, the pool area is quite small, only room for a few people(only 3 sunbeds, maybe room for a couple more)Pleasant outside seating area, barbecue.
Added bonus of underground parking.

My only gripe being we couldn't have late check out, yet we were offered to use the Eco beach as a base for the day, but missed being able to shower after a day on the beach

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pogles63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks for your comments. It is sometimes possible to get a little later checkout, however BreakFree Eco Beach is a small resort and time is needed to clean and prepare the room for the next guest.
There is usually another recliner by the pool, however it is currently being repaired. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed the resort and it's facilities.
Regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Nothing annoys me more being charged jetstar style for every tiny thing that they can take out of your room and make you go and ask for.

We recently stayed here, and while it is very clean and the manager is very polite, the policy of leaving you with only two towels and charging two dollars per extra towel (they don't change the towels until you have been there 8 days) is just irritating. Telling me that there is a washing machine and dryer as some sort of solution is equally as annoying when I have come from Sydney for two days am not buying washing powder and surprise, I'm on holiday, I don;t want to do the laundry!

Frankly at the price they could afford to chuck you an extra towel.

Threatening you with a $30 room cleaning charge if you don't take your rubbish out is another thing that just annoyed me. Is it really worth irritating customers who have paid over $200 per night for a very basic studio by piling in the extra jetstar-style changes? Yep, I undertand that around schoolies, Blues Fest and Splendour you might need some of these extra rules, but it just irritates people like me.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are self catering apartments, and whilst we provide a small start up pack of teas, coffees, shampoo, one towel per person and so on for guest comfort, any extras are provided at guest cost and may be purchased at reception for convenience. As self catering apartments, we also ask guests to leave their rooms neat and tidy. Our free laundry facilities were merely pointed out as an option.
Regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at Eco Beach Byron Bay for 4 days this month and could not fault the service, facilities or location.
The room was clean and quiet.
You could not ask for a better location. It is located out of the center of Byron, but it is only a 5 minute walk and you can be amongest it all, and the beach is only 5 minutes away.
The staff were always friendly and helpful.
I was extremely grateful to be allowed to check in a little early, having taken three flights to arrive in Byron.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlyTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We always endeavour to check -in early arrivals as soon as possible but cannot guarantee this arrangement. Guests are welcome to sit by the pool or leave their bags at reception and head into town whilst they wait.
Look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for your comments.
regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The complex consists of privately owned apartments, managed by a company (other apartment blocks are managed by the same company in resorts such as Noosa). Their practice is to demand a bond of $200 to be was deducted from the debit card, with the promise that it will be returned 7 days later. The room was quite small compared with others we had had by this stage in our travels, but it was clean and comfortable, a bit of a walk from the town centre but not too far. The receptionist was very pleasant and helpful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndTedcametoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We love Byron Bay and sharing it with our guests. We require a $200 credit card pre-authorisation at check-in which does put a hold on the funds in your account for approximately 7 days and is then released if there are no extra charges at check-out. It sounds like you stayed in a studio which is similar in size to a motel room. Next time you might find our one bedrooms more comfortable as they have a separate bedroom to the lounge area and are more spacious. The walk to town is about 7 minutes and is an easy, level walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#9 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#13 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#19 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Eco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Eco Beach

Property: BreakFree Eco Beach
Address: 35-37 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Eco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Eco Beach offers a great location, affordable accommodation, and the perfect base to enjoy all the fun activities and attractions on offer in one of Australia's most popular holiday destinations. This resort offers a selection of studio rooms and one and two bedroom suites. Featuring modern decor and open plan designs, all accommodation has a casual feel suited to Byron Bay and its surrounds. All rooms include air conditioning, a balcony or patio, wide screen LCD TVs with Austar, DVD players, iron and ironing board, ensuite in all rooms, kitchenette and tea and coffee making facilities. BreakFree Eco Beach offers many onsite facilities including private surrounds with a central swimming pool, and a spa and a barbeque area far removed from the busy heart of Byron Bay. If you want to laze on the beach or hit the waves, the beach is just a 350 metre walk away. From here, guests can enjoy the distinctive character and alternative lifestyle Byron Bay is famous for by joining a surf school and yoga class, or go dolphin kayaking and enjoy a wildlife tour. The Byron Bay Lighthouse, Main Beach, Wategos beach, shopping, art galleries, cafes, restaurants and pubs are all within easy reach. Every activity is catered for in Byron Bay and is within easy reach from BreakFree Eco Beach, the perfect base for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BreakFree Eco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Eco Beach Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing