We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little gem in Byron!”
Review of The Lazy Italian - CLOSED

The Lazy Italian
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Italian, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: MUNCHIES offers new flavours and some of our personal specials.We are located in Byron Bay's busiest and most popular food hub, Bay Lane. At MUNCHIES we offer genuine homemade International Cuisine. MUNCHIES Byron Bay is family friendly in a relaxed dining environment. Licence & BYO...
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I went to The Lazy Italian with two friends of mine. They are a little hole in the wall in the town of Byron Bay. They are not licensed but allow you to BYO. They do not charge you a corking fee, the food is fabulous, you get a lot on your plate and the service is fantastic! I can't say enough about this place! Keep up the good work guys!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aussienan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva R, Manager at The Lazy Italian, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Hi Aussienan! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant! Loved the comment about us being 'The Best Little Gem in Byron', and are so glad you enjoyed our food and time in the restaurant. Looking forward to having you back again soon. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 139 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

The special for the night was pumpkin and mushroom arancini balls with a rocket and Parmesan salad. Amazing! My husband had the fettuccine and also thought it was so good! As a plus we could bring our our wine so enjoyed some wine with our meal! Perfect dinner

Thank 1987megans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva R, Manager at The Lazy Italian, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Hello Megan! Thank you for the fantastic review! Its so lovely to hear you and your husband enjoyed your meals and time in our restaurant! Look forward to your next visit! Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

As my boyfriend and i walked down the obscure little ally way just behind the main drag in Byron Bay, we were pleasantly surprised to see an ample amount of culinary choices before us. However it was the wafting aroma coming from The Lazy Italian that drew us closer then the specials menu that caught our eye and sealed our decision to eat there.

The mushroom and feta arancini balls and rocket parmesan salad was just the ticket!!! Fresh, delicious and filling. My bf had the spaghetti bolognese and chicken schnitzel and was super satisfied. Then we shared the steamed greens which were absolutely scrumptious. We BYO'd our wine and beer, van morrison hummed in the background and our wonderful host/restaurant owner was so sweet and friendly. And despite being so busy, had time to check in on everyone's meals to ensure their satisfaction. Thanks Spresa for a wonderful overall dinner experience. We will be back!!!

Thank JodieTilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva R, Manager at The Lazy Italian, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Jodie! Thank you so much for your fantastic review!
The mushroom and feta arancini balls have proved to be very popular with our customers so we might have to keep them round! Glad to have couples like yourselves having a beautiful time in the restaurant and walking away relaxed and satisifed.
Look forward to next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Yummy food, friendly and relaxed. We loved this place. This is simple, fresh, comfort food, like mum used to make... Only with great friendly service thrown in. Really good sized meals too. My husband raved about the chicken schnitzel, being vegetarian I had the ravioli with mushroom sauce...yum! Will definitely be back to taste some more!

Thank Meredith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva R, Manager at The Lazy Italian, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Hello Meredith,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant! We are so glad you and your husband enjoyed our food and we look forward to having you both back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Lazy Italian's tag line rings true. Honest food, fresh ingredients and genuinely friendly service. I'm often in here solo when the craving calls for a great schnitzel with a simple salad (at a good price) BYO wine if you want a drop with your meal. The host is delightful, she seems to have that rare, authentic hospitality that is a pleasure to encounter. This place is a welcome addition to Byron Bay dining and a nice alternative to the pubs and other restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FishAndTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva R, Manager at The Lazy Italian, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Hello FishAndTrips! Thank you so so much for the wonderful review! We are so pleased that you love our food and find us a welcomed addition to Byron! Looking forward to having you in again for a schnitzel and salad!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lazy Italian also viewed

 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Suffolk Park, Byron Bay
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing