We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waves Byron Bay
Nearby Hotels
Byron Beachcomber Resort(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hibiscus Motel(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
$114
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Motel(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
$158
$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$372
$327
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$344
$334
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Byron Bay(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
$145
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
$93
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay(Skinners Shoot)(Great Value!)
$107
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa(Suffolk Park)(Great Value!)
$251
$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Suites(Byron Bay)
$306
$267
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveler rating
127
126
45
21
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
126
45
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary muffinsthe penthousegreat locationlovely hotelthe ground floorstay there againeach morningrestaurants and cafesmain beachbeach towelsserviced dailygreat showerlarge bathroomcoffee machinewalking distance to the beachundercover parkingcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 328 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

To be honest I am surprised at the comments on the penthouse sure its not brand new but being close to the beach with the storms that pass through I feel it's held up well.
We stayed 4 nights paying $260 for weekday and $330 for weekend. For the size and location I think the price is perfect.
Great BBQ area well stocked mini bar however no salt pepper or oil to cook with which is a bit of a pain but not to bad.
The room is huge as is the living dining kitchen area and although there is limited channels for fox all the normal ones as there.
Great undercover secure parking and an inviting reception.
One thing that left a bad taste in my mouth was wanting to charge us $10 per 4 hour block of Internet. That has to change as the Internet is so cheap these days that price is embarrassing to ask your customers for.
Other than that we were happy and will go back but only if we are not working while we are away as we NEED the Internet.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mdjwheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne M, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for your great review of Waves Byron Bay.
We do keep spare condiments and are more than happy to share them - make sure you ask next time!
Interesting that you mention internet as I do remember giving you free WiFi when you asked. It is FREE to our Penthouse guests.

It is quite usual to charge for WiFi in hotels but we are usually more than happy to give it out for free so please make sure you choose us again!

kind regards
The Team at Waves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked two nights in a level 1 apartment. As byron is so expensive, and many one or two bedroom places required more than a two night booking, we thought this turned out to be good value. The older style accommodation was neat. The bedrooms were warm at night but were equipped with pedestal fans. We were initially concerned about the potential noise. Both from other apartments and the park. But we had no trouble from the other apartments and were pleased to see the police were vigilant at moving along anyone from the park. We think they drove by every half hour to every hour. There was little need for them anyway, but it was good to see them quietly moving on a group of youngsters who were having a quiet drink in the adjoining park.
Found the location ideal for accessing beach. Park was great for our toddler. All in all, a great place if you aren't too worried about luxury.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This property is located perfectly with just a few steps to the beach and the centre of town and has partial views over Byron's main beach. On this occassion we chose the penthouse suite which provided plenty of space to relax, however the suite appeared to be a little tired and in need of fresh paint and new furniture. Our first day there was during a major storm, however after the storm had passed there appeared to be no attempt by housekeeping over the next several days to clear up the balconies of all the storm debris or retrieve the outdoor furniture which had been blown around the rest of the resort. Overall a great location but needs renovating especially for the rates they are charging.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne M, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for your review of Waves Byron Bay.
It is unfortunate that during your stay we experienced the worst storm that Northern NSW has seen for many years. It was so severe that most of our National Parks have only just reopened. It took over two weeks for the town to recover and some businesses reopened only a week ago.
We are perfectly located, just steps to the beach, as you say. Unfortunately, on this occasion, we bore the brunt of the incredibly high winds and torrential rain. In one day we had over 400mm of rain! The storm lasted for almost a week, during which time our housekeeping and maintenance staff worked tirelessly to repair the damage.

We believe that we have a great hotel in a fabulous location and hopefully, if you come back, the sun will be shining.

Regards
The team at Waves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel's location was so enjoyable. Right on byron's glorious main beach. We had a family break and so for the three of us we found it great value considering the time of year was peak too. The apartment was clean and tidy. The bathroom was gorgeous with a lovely deep bath. They were accommodating in letting us check in early with my grandmother needing a rest and the staff were pleasant and amiable. Loved the gourmet coffee machine and the muffins every morning...a super fun break at a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbarellahutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My partner and I spent a few nights here on our way up tp queensland on holidays. Its in an excelent location. Close to the beach and cbd.. but not so close you get disturbed by people leaving the pubs and clubs. Staff are very friendly. We enjoyed the stay so much my girlfirend booked the same place for the return tip home and we spent another night here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tronald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews