We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly spot”
Review of Waves Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waves Byron Bay
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. The room was extremely comfy and spacious. Service was friendly and cheerful and we enjoyed the wine-tasting on Saturday night. What a lovely touch! Great idea to provide coffee and muffins for a light breakfast in the mornings served in the very pleasant foyer. Unfortunately the muffins were a little on the stale side on our first morning but were beautiful and fresh the second. Overall this was a very pleasant place to stay in a beautiful part of the world. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katee30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really appreciate your comments.
Our wine-tasting evenings are on both Friday and Saturday evenings and are very popular.
We are sorry that you found our muffins unsatisfactory on your first morning - this is very unusual as they are the famous homemade Byron Bay Muffins!
We hope to see you again at Waves! Byron Bay is just too beautiful to not visit more than once!

The team at Waves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 318 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

Upon returning from another awesome stay at Waves Byron Bay 25/5 for 3 days, I can't wait to go back. The location is ideal to walk to CBD Byron, be it The Beach Hotel, to the beach, to parks, or just a wander down the streets of Byron Bay.

The room we stayed in (we now call it OUR room - Room 11), is clean, comfy, spacious, luxurious black marbled bathroom, and extremely spacious balcony. It has a king bed, and two double sofa beds if so required.

But the best thing about our stay was and is the staff, especially HELEN, what a gem! Nothing was or is a problem, an absolute delight. The professionalism shown by all staff is what is sadly lacking in other establishments be it at Byron Bay or where ever, so its the normal saying 'You treat me with respect, l will also. You show me laughter, I will also'. The foyer area is also comfy, with a light breakfast and newspapers are available early mornings, however 'early' on this weekend stay, didn't do it for us, but at least we knew it was there if we needed it.

The Waves has become our second home in Byron Bay, and will continue to stay - bless all the staff especially Helen

Room Tip: Ask to be put in a room away from Lawson Street if possible, towards the beach/park, as there is a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradisetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Waves and that you found our staff professional, friendly and helpful.
We really loved having you stay with us and look forward to meeting you again!

Kind regards
The staff at Waves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and couldn't believe how awesome our room was! We got a deluxe suite and it was huge!! Bathroom was large and the room itself was huge, we were really impressed with it and how perfect it all was upon our arrival. The location is perfect, I love staying at Byron and love to try and stay at places right on/near the main streets and this place is perfect for that. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puppiespaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We arrived prior to the 2pm check in and we were able to park our car within the facilities but had to come back to check in at 2. Not a problem, location is central and minutes walk to beach and the main hub of Byron Bay. The room was spacious with a nice big bathroom, however, the shower head could do with a clean out to make it spray properly. There was only a small balcony which could have done with a stool of some sort to sit and enjoy the view over the park area which would usually have fire twirlers or muso's gathering for a bit of a jam. Housekeeping failed to come on our second day, front desk were very apologetic and bought fresh towels and coffee cups,etc for us.

Wi-fi was additional cost, $5 for 1hr or $10 for 4hrs. I had trouble connecting from the room and had to go down to reception to connect but once I was connected, it worked fine in the room. Reception did offer a complimentary extra 4hrs if I wanted to remain connected rather than having to keep coming down to reconnect at night but I didn't use up my initial 4hrs so it wasn't a problem.

Hotel also offered complimentary muffins, fruit, juice and coffee in the mornings and wines in the evening, as you please from the lobby area... Nice touch.

All in all, good stay, Byron is my favorite place in Australia. Such a relaxed and layed back town, full of interesting people, locals and tourists alike.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneMacFarlane, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments on Waves. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Please come back and stay with us again! Please also mention that you are repeat guest for an extra special deal.

Kind regards
The team at Waves Byron Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This hotel was ok, I probably wouldn't stay there again though. The reception area closed at 6.00pm and there hotel didnt have a restaurant, so no service at all after 6.00pm. They provided muffins and coffee in the reception are in the morning and that was it. I was led to believe my room had a courtyard, but it was actually a shared courtyard with 2 other units.
There was a dead/squashed mosquito on the ceiling of our hotel room when we arrived and for the 4 days we were there the cleaner never cleaned it off.
The location of the hotel was brilliant through,within walking distance of everything you would need and the beach, yet nice and qiet - no backpackers around.
For the room we had it was $280 per night, it was a good size but the pilows were the hardest pillows I have ever slept on! The bed and doonas weren't that comfy either.
I can't really comment on their sevice because there wasn't any.

Room Tip: THe courtyard is shared - not private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NattiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneMacFarlane, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Hi there!
Thank you for your review of Waves. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our reception closes at 7pm at weekends and 6pm during the week. We do not advertise a restaurant but we are a literally a 3 minute walk from some of the best restaurants and bars in New South Wales.
Although our reception closes in the evening, we have an emergency contact number made available to all of our guests should they need it.

We provide a complimentary 'light start to the day' every morning between 7am-1030am of coffee,tea, locally made muffins, fruit and juice and there is a free winetasting for all guests on Friday and Saturday evenings in the lobby.

You booked through an online web agent and I cannot find anything on their website to indicate that your room was supposed to have a courtyard. We have checked the room that you occupied and have not been able to locate a dead mosquito on the ceiling. Had you informed us of this during your 4 night stay, we would have removed it.
You are certainly right about the location though, one of the best in Byron Bay!

Our Boutique Suites are comfortable and can easily sleep 3 - with 1 king bed and 1 sofa bed. We do not have doonas as we prefer to use fresh sheets with 2 blankets. Doona's are just too hot in our sub tropical climate. We are sorry if you found our pillows hard - you should have asked us for replacements!
Our reception is open from 7am every day and our friendly staff can help you with enquiries, local tours, information on restaurants, walks and even places to surf!

We look forward to greeting you again at Waves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ATHENA R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
YvonneMacFarlane, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed one night 4/3/12 with my son & grand daughter. People (or elephants in room above) jumped and thumped the floor till 1am, stopped, and started again at 3.30am. At 4am I went into the foyer and read till receptionist came in at 7am. When I told her, the only reaction I received was that the room was carpeted & I should not have been able to hear any noise. On check out she asked my son if he enjoyed his stay & he told her he hardly slept because of the noise above and she made no comment. WON'T STAY THERE AGAIN!!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneMacFarlane, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Thank you for your comments.
We apologise if you were disturbed during your stay at Waves. I do remember speaking to you about your discomfort at being woken up by noisy guests during the night.

We do have night security and there is a number that you can call if you have any issues. We rarely have complaints about noise in the hotel and had you raised this with us at the time, we could have done something about it.
After we spoke with you in the morning, we raised the issue with the room concerned, and they were very apologetic.
We really hope that you will consider us when you come to Byron Bay again.

Regards
Yvonne MacFarlane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.1 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#12 of 34 in Byron Bay
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
2.5 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#2 of 34 in Byron Bay
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Byron Bay

Address: 35 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range: $165 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves Byron Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves Byron Bay is a 20 room Stylish Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Byron Bay on the Beach. Guests enjoy a high standard of amenities. All rooms include Air-Conditioning, King Size Bath and separate Shower,STD/ISD phones,Plasma TV's, Austar, DVD Player, Stereo System, Clock Radio, Wireless Internet, Electronic Room Safes, Ironing Board and Iron, Mini Bar and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Secure undercover basement parking. Room rates include a complimentary 'light start to the day' of locally sourced muffins along with coffee, tea, orange juice and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waves Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay
Waves Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing