We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Byron Central” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Byron Central Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Byron Central Apartments
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Byron Central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Location was awesome - right in the heart of Byron Bay and very close to a bunch of delicious restaurants and cafes. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, very comfortable, and well appointed. The pool had sun all day and was a nice place to relax before the beach. Laundry was on site and cheap. Loved the the layout of the apartment. Bed was ridiculously comfy. Everyone was very friendly. Would absolutely come back to stay there again. I can't say enough nice things about it. I have no idea why some of these reviews are so negative. Will definitely recommend it to any of my friends coming through town.

Room Tip: We had unit 17 and it was bright and airy. We did see another unit on the main floor and it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    88
    28
    9
    3
See reviews for
60
91
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Great location in the heart of Byron Bay, comfortable self contained apartments with everything you need for a stay in Byron Bay. Good value for money would be the best way to describe Byron central apartments . Would definitely consider staying here again next time I come to Byron.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top level facing the street are quieter than rooms on the ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We booked an apartment (received unit 9) for 3 nights in early March 2012.
The good:
--Location was fantastic, 5 mins to the action, 10 mins to the beach, 5 mins to a grocery store. Very centrally located
--The newly renevated unit that we were in was nice and clean. Was a bonus to have a kitchen although it is small. Good for making breakfasts, snacks and simple meals
--Service - our host when we checked in was lovely, answering our questions about the best local yoga studio to visit (right across the street)
--Upstairs / loft was lovely and queen bed was very comfy

The bad:
--can be a bit noisy due its close proximity to other hostels. Lots would be out drinking / hanging on their balconies in the surrounding area in the evening
--ants. We had some ants in the kitchen, assuming it's due to being a ground floor apartment with lots of lush vegetation around. Kind of a nuisance (the ants followed us in our luggage to our next destination) but they didn't bite or anything. More of a minor annoyance.
--pull out couch in the main room was pretty uncomfortable due a thin mattress

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We had an unexpected stay here so were limited for choice in Byron Bay town centre as many places force a 3 night minimum stay (frustrating !) but the information centre helped us find accommodation which was fantastic. Scott at reception was friendly but he was the highlight of lur stay here.
This place was a newly renovated townhouse with the main queen bed upstairs ... very nice until you need to accommodate for 2 kids on the worst fold out sofa bed I have ever slept on. We let our kids have the main bed so we could watch tv downstairs and the fold out mattress was like sleeping on raw metal springs. For $220 I thought it was atrocious quality bedding. So whatever you do, don't book this place unless you can have the main bed ! In addition, the townhouse backs onto a communal sitting area where young party goers hang out. They communed and made noise until 1 in the morning at our back door. One of our drinking glasses was filthy and had a hair stuck in the dried grit and then we realised it's because they ask guests to was their own dishes before leaving otherwise they charge for the 'service'. Tea & coffee sachets were provided but no milk containers were provided which meant we couldn't make a drink and it was too late to buy milk for the morning. Overall - interior looked good, walking distance to everything but service zero and we had a terrible night's sleep. When we left the guy at reception didn't ask us how our stay was or say thankyou - just took the keys and ignored us ( and we hadn't complained ... he just didn't care). A lot of places in Byron seemed to have this attitude - zero concern for service. Busy tourist towm - they don't seem to care if you never come back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladycatrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Ladycatrin,
Thank you for your review and my sincere apologies for any disappointment you may have experienced. Sofa beds are never ideal for two larger people but I guess its one of those compromises that people make to save on the expense of a two bedroom apartment. As a solution we can offer a roll away bed so that you only have one person on them. Our apartments are ideal for a family if the kids sleep on the sofa bed as the cost is a lot more reasonable then a two bedroom apartment. We can also put a couple of mattresses upstairs if that's helpful.

Even though we do request our guests do their dishes they are always double checked for cleanliness. Having said that, there is no excuse for finding the wine glass the way you did, I appreciate being told and will raise this directly with my cleaners as a serious concern.

I have spoken to Oliver about your departure and he was surprised and requested I send you his apologises as it was not his intention to be indifferent. He suspects that he may have been on a call as the headset we use is fairly discrete and often people don't realise. It can be a bit tricky to ask someone to stop talking on the call to immediately deal with a customer at the front desk.

We offer complimentary fresh milk on arrival from reception as the normal practice. I'm sorry if I forgot to offer it, we like to offer fresh milk to each guest rather then the long life milk as it just tastes better.

Finally, we have zero tolerance for noise after 9:30 and request guests to call the onsite manager by dialling 100 in your room should there be any problems at all 24/7. We have notices in the room and on arrival all guests are notified of the noise restrictions and after hours number. We strongly respect guests right to a peaceful nights sleep and always have staff on hand to enforce it.

Cheers
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tassie
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Byron Central apartments with our one year old for five nights from the 1st - 6th March 2012. Although the apartment was a bit smaller than I imagined, it had everything we needed and I would definitely stay here again. After reading some other reviews about the noise factor, I did email them and ask for a room that was on the "quieter side" if possible. However, we had none of the problems that some of the other reviewing guests complained about and found it to be a very quiet complex. Most of the time we were the only ones using the lovely clean saltwater pool and the other guests that were there kept the noise to a minimum. The apartment does have a noise curfew of 930pm and even has a 24 hour number to call if any other guests are rowdy after this time... so anyone complaining about the noise after hours only really have themselves to blame for not calling the night manager. The location was great - just a few minutes to the shops and beach and we were close to some lovely restaurants too (try Earth and Sea for great pizza). The undercover parking is a great treat and we found the beds comfy and the units clean. We used the laundry they have there and did not find it "grotty" at all as another reviewer did. The apartments are not serviced during your stay unless you are there for 7 nights + - but they have everything you would need in your apartment to keep it clean and comfortable yourself and provide extra towels and sheets upon request. I have stayed in a few different places in Byron now and this was by far my favouite - especially for travelling with a little one. I look forward to staying again in the future

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which has been newly renovated and was furtherest away from the pool/communal ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tassiejac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed in a loft apartment which was reasonably clean and had a very comfortable bed. Although it had been recently refurbished, the kitchen and bathroom were very small - there's no way I could've cooked a proper meal in the tiny kitchenette without banging my elbows! For a self contained apartment, this was a disappointment. The pool area was central to the apartments and, like an ampitheatre, the noise reverberated around. The wi-fi was unreliable, the common laundry area was grotty and some of the TV channels didn't work properly. However, the apartments are situated in a great location, just a few minutes walk to the beach or the shops and not bad value for money given the overinflated prices of Byron Bay accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Epicvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Hi Epicvoyager,
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you felt the kitchen was inadequate for your purposes, all of our apartments have a full fridge, cook top, oven (some conventional) & microwave as well being fully stocked with all the equipment you might need for a Sunday roast. For guests which may be concerned about this I have uploaded pictures of both our kitchens and bathrooms to trip advisor to show their size.

Being in a regional area we some times have problems with our internet services and TV reception especially during major storm activity but generally they are very reliable. We are in the process of renovating our common laundry so I apologise for any inconvenience that may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed in a renovated apartment with our baby. The apartment itself was good. The kitchen was new, bathroom was fresh, modern furnishings, big tv, big comfy bed. Could not fault the apartment by itself.

The location was also good, down the road from the main strip and close to lots of amenities. The hotel also had underground parking for its guests.

The only downfall was that there was a communal pool in the middle of all of the apartments. Because of this (not the hotel's fault), there were lots of people (students I gather) who congregated on the picnic tables, doing their homework and walking between rooms. All the rooms had their doors open so it was a local hang out place right outside your room (very noisy and no privacy). It was quite awkward, especially when they kept going at night time and woke the baby up.

Unfortunately, due to the common area and the noise factor, we wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: As away from the pool as you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uptownerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear Uptownnerd,
Thank you for the feedback. I can appreciate the frustration of having a baby who is woken by noisy guests. We have an onsite manager who is available 24/7 to deal with problems of this nature and have a zero tolerance for noise disturbances especially after hours. If we had of known of your discomfort we would have addressed the problem swiftly. The student exchange group that was here during your stay visit for a couple weeks a year which unfortunately fell during your stay. They are general very well nature and respectful but I can understand how they might of disturbed you. Please accept my sincere apologise for your discomfort during your stay.

Scott Wanchap
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
0.1 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#12 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#19 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Central Apartments

Property: Byron Central Apartments
Address: 5 - 7 Byron St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byron Central Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Byron Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Central Apartments Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing