We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it - great value for money and would definitely stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Byron Central Apartments
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Byron Central apartments with our one year old for five nights from the 1st - 6th March 2012. Although the apartment was a bit smaller than I imagined, it had everything we needed and I would definitely stay here again. After reading some other reviews about the noise factor, I did email them and ask for a room that was on the "quieter side" if possible. However, we had none of the problems that some of the other reviewing guests complained about and found it to be a very quiet complex. Most of the time we were the only ones using the lovely clean saltwater pool and the other guests that were there kept the noise to a minimum. The apartment does have a noise curfew of 930pm and even has a 24 hour number to call if any other guests are rowdy after this time... so anyone complaining about the noise after hours only really have themselves to blame for not calling the night manager. The location was great - just a few minutes to the shops and beach and we were close to some lovely restaurants too (try Earth and Sea for great pizza). The undercover parking is a great treat and we found the beds comfy and the units clean. We used the laundry they have there and did not find it "grotty" at all as another reviewer did. The apartments are not serviced during your stay unless you are there for 7 nights + - but they have everything you would need in your apartment to keep it clean and comfortable yourself and provide extra towels and sheets upon request. I have stayed in a few different places in Byron now and this was by far my favouite - especially for travelling with a little one. I look forward to staying again in the future

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which has been newly renovated and was furtherest away from the pool/communal ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tassiejac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 244 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed in a loft apartment which was reasonably clean and had a very comfortable bed. Although it had been recently refurbished, the kitchen and bathroom were very small - there's no way I could've cooked a proper meal in the tiny kitchenette without banging my elbows! For a self contained apartment, this was a disappointment. The pool area was central to the apartments and, like an ampitheatre, the noise reverberated around. The wi-fi was unreliable, the common laundry area was grotty and some of the TV channels didn't work properly. However, the apartments are situated in a great location, just a few minutes walk to the beach or the shops and not bad value for money given the overinflated prices of Byron Bay accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epicvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Hi Epicvoyager,
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you felt the kitchen was inadequate for your purposes, all of our apartments have a full fridge, cook top, oven (some conventional) & microwave as well being fully stocked with all the equipment you might need for a Sunday roast. For guests which may be concerned about this I have uploaded pictures of both our kitchens and bathrooms to trip advisor to show their size.

Being in a regional area we some times have problems with our internet services and TV reception especially during major storm activity but generally they are very reliable. We are in the process of renovating our common laundry so I apologise for any inconvenience that may have caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed in a renovated apartment with our baby. The apartment itself was good. The kitchen was new, bathroom was fresh, modern furnishings, big tv, big comfy bed. Could not fault the apartment by itself.

The location was also good, down the road from the main strip and close to lots of amenities. The hotel also had underground parking for its guests.

The only downfall was that there was a communal pool in the middle of all of the apartments. Because of this (not the hotel's fault), there were lots of people (students I gather) who congregated on the picnic tables, doing their homework and walking between rooms. All the rooms had their doors open so it was a local hang out place right outside your room (very noisy and no privacy). It was quite awkward, especially when they kept going at night time and woke the baby up.

Unfortunately, due to the common area and the noise factor, we wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: As away from the pool as you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uptownerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2012

Dear Uptownnerd,
Thank you for the feedback. I can appreciate the frustration of having a baby who is woken by noisy guests. We have an onsite manager who is available 24/7 to deal with problems of this nature and have a zero tolerance for noise disturbances especially after hours. If we had of known of your discomfort we would have addressed the problem swiftly. The student exchange group that was here during your stay visit for a couple weeks a year which unfortunately fell during your stay. They are general very well nature and respectful but I can understand how they might of disturbed you. Please accept my sincere apologise for your discomfort during your stay.

Scott Wanchap
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at these Apartments. The location is ideal as the beach and major bus stop are only a short walk away. The apartments themselves are very quiet and although the furnishings are basic, our bed was extremely comfortable. The apartment suited us fine.

We were very impressed with the Staff. On our day of departure the weather was atrocious: our flight was at 4.55 p.m. and pick-up time was 3 p.m. We had no car and being both in our late sixties we could not go anywhere. Scott, the Manager, very kindly let us stay in the apartment until we were picked up. On arrival in Ballina our flight was cancelled because of the weather. On ringing Scott he offered us our original apartment and advised that he would wait for us. We got to the Apartments after 8 p.m. and Scott was there with the keys. Not only that, but he even offered the flat to us for the night at no extra cost. This was a tremendous boost as we had had a long day and we could now at least get back to the comfortable bed. A real gentleman

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLover342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in January so we could explore Byron Bay. We had a two bedroom apartment - downstairs was a sofa bed and upstairs had a double.

The apartment itself was pretty basic and was looking very dated and worn out. It wasn't the cleanest place and we had a bit of an ant problem in the bathroom.

Having said that the apartment served us well - the beds were comfy and the on site manager was quick to bring round some spray to sort out the ants.

The on site facilities are good - there is a pool and BBQ area.

Probably the best thing about the apartments is the location - they are just off the main drag in Byron and really close to the beach.

They are also great value for money as accomodation in Byron seems very expensive.

I would definitely recommend these apartments - I think they accurately reflected the 3 star rating of the place.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharepointalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here in a poolside, one-bed apartment, which looked to be recently decorated. The apartment had a small sitting area with plasma TV, and good sized, and well equipped kitchenette (no oven), while the pleasant and comfortable bedroom was on an upstairs mezzanine floor.
The location was perfect for us- just a short walk from the beach and the Main street, but just out of the bustle and noise. There was an excellent standard of cleanliness, and the manager was always be available for any queries. We very much enjoyed the pool, and lounge areas and made good use of the outdoor BBQ.
Overall, well done BCA- I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here!
As for Byron Bay, we absolutely loved it and didnt want to leave! Dont miss the walk to the Lighthouse - it is very scenic indeed. Lots of wildlife to see - we even saw turtles in the water!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Byron Bay accommodation is expensive compared to other destinations on the coast. We booked this place for a weekend and were pleasantly surprised with the convenient location. A short walk to the beach and hub of Byron Bay yet away from the late night noise from bars, nightclubs etc. We stayed in a loft apartment and apart from the very small balcony area we were pleased with the cleanliness and facilities the apartment had to offer. Pool area is clean and the secure car park is very convenient. Park your car, leave it and walk to everything! We would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.1 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
2.5 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#2 of 34 in Byron Bay
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Central Apartments

Address: 5 - 7 Byron St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range: $141 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byron Central Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Byron Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Central Apartments Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing