We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfeast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Eatery on Jonson

The Eatery on Jonson
Ranked #117 of 186 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great breakfeast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Best brekkie anywhere
Try the daily special for $16 includes drink very tasty
Free wi fi and excellent service

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beakyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    10
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had an early dinner and we had to wait a few minutes for a table. It was busy, which is a great sign.
The service is first class and the food was simple, fresh and tasty. It was all reasonably priced.
Overall a great experience.
If looking for something a little different again, go to the "brother restaurant" Fig Tree. Both these reastaurants are owned by brothers.
Highly recommend this little restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandybillc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A happy surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

One of my girlfriends suggested that we have dinner at the Eatery. I arrived to find her sitting in the front of the restaurant in a great seat facing the street, sipping on a red wine and typing happily on her laptop, "they have great wi fi here!", she explained. When we asked if we could have a meal the delightful waitress ushered us to a table with a big smile on her face. The food is Modern Italian and there was a great range of food on the menu. The service was great. I had a pizza and my friend had the fish of the day. We tried some of each other's meals and they were both delicious. The waitress was around just enough to make sure that we were right with everything we needed, but not so much that she hassled us. The food came quickly and was delicious and the atmosphere was perfect - the place was full but not noisy. I'd return here in a heartbeat and strongly recommend it. Also, my friend says they do great brunches. Her words, not mine. (But i might have to test that theory before I go home!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tillybeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, tasty, to die for food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I ate brunch here and we were flabbergasted at the standard of food prepared in an open kitchen by two chefs! Well worth a trip if in Byron and you must have their homemade muffin! Best I've ever tasted!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazel002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A surprising find...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Having newly changed hands I wasn't sure what the evening would hold.
My main of snapper was perfectly cooked and was very well presented.
After being talked into a dessert I had the "chocolate and beetroot pudding" it was to die for. Absolutely a stunning dish and one which left me satisfied.
What I loved about this place was that there was a great feel to the restaurant and the customer service could not be faulted. The chef even was kind enough to put together a take away fruit salad for my breakfast the following morning.
A great find and one which I will be back to!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TonsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eatery on Jonson also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to The Eatery on Jonson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing