We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful”
Review of Roadhouse

Roadhouse
Ranked #96 of 194 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Byron, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“awful”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

we were 8 people on our table and all ordered our food at the same time. 2 people got there food about 10 seconds, yes thats right, 10 seconds after they ordered it (probably was meant for someone else) .. we ordered ours immediately after they did and ours came 2 at a time, i.e. the "well done" steak arrived before the "medium rare" and the fish was RAW in the middle. One guy didn't even get his steak until after everyone else had finished theirs. The food was pretty ordinary. The guy behind the bar said they don't claim to be a fine dining restaurant so I'm wondering why they serve meals there ? Atmosphere good.. trendy place to be seen but we will not be eating there - the food was awful. (this was the evening meal not lunch or breakfast).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank biker771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    53
    35
    19
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lennox Head, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for Coffee & Breakfast”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place has become an iconic Byron Bay attraction in such a small amount of time, its always really busy but the service is always quick and friendly.
They are pretty much open all day for coffee, breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks. We've been here throughout different times of the day and I must say its a winner in the Coffee & Breakfast department, it serves up delicious, fresh produce for a good price ( you must try the pastries) and make incredible coffee as well as cold pressed juices.
If there is one small let down I think it was their dinner, it tasted great but for $24+ for a main, I felt it was served up too casually (I had a moussaka, which was delicious but I wouldn't normally pay that price for such an easy dish, pre-made dish) I also felt it maybe wasn't the right environment to have such pricey, dining options when there was lots of people there just having casual nibbles & drinks at the same time. Anyways, definitely worth a visit for coffee and breakfast, or a late afternoon drink with antipasto platter.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlottev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice cocktail-disgusting service”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great drinks, but a shame that we were yelled at by one of the bar staff when they misheard my order. Made for an unpleasant first and last visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great cafe on the edge of town”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

You can beat the traffic and parking blues at the latest addition to Byron's dazzling panoply of cafes. It is on the South side opposite the nursery and next to the Blues Fest office.
Specialises in quality coffee - and it is very good - loud music and friendly staff.
I can't vouch for the food yet but it is a real happening scene (but that phrase shows my age) There's outdoor seating under tall palms and a wood fire inside for winter.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill9786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadhouse also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing