We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, well maintained, private” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloha Villas Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aloha Villas Byron Bay
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Relaxing, well maintained, private”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We got a fantastic deal for a one night stay at Aloha through Wotif. As we'd only seen the rooms online, we weren't sure what it would be like. However, once we got into our villa we loved it so much we decided to stay a second night.
The rooms are definitely suited to couples, rather than families. They're very balinese, romantic resort-style rooms. Big spacious bathrooms with modern showers, functional kitchenettes with fridge and microwave, and a huge, comfortable bed.
The entire property is fenced off and self-contained, so it's very private and you feel very safe leaving your belongings in the rooms.
The pool room and area is fantastic. The pool is bright and clean and has an attached spa. The whole are is very well-maintained. The pool room was the best feature as it has a fully equipped kitchen for guests to use, including stove top and oven, dishwasher, cooking and dining utensils, sink, fridge, coffee machine and a huge dining table overlooking the pool. There is also a help yourself anytime breakfast where guests can go to the pool room for a continental breakfast whenever they like. We really loved this, as we often like to have a later breakfast or a mid-morning piece of toast.
The only things I will say that didn't wok so well were the fact that when we arrived for check in, there was nobody around to help us, so we sat outside of the property in our car for half an hour before we heard from anyone. We had all our luggage and weren't sure where to go or what to do. We called the mobile and landline numbers provided at the entrance but there was no answer, so that made things a little confusing. There is also insufficient parking space, and we found ourselves having to park in the disabled space provided, or out on the street. Aside from this, the whole place is a great place to unwind.
It's a short stroll to the beach and about a 10 minute walk to the main street and shops in Byron Bay. The building seems very new and well cared for, which makes it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantalTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Manager at Aloha Villas Byron Bay, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate all of your feedback. In regards to you having to wait to check in we sincerely apologise. The staff member working on that day had a family emergency and needed to leave early that day and clearly there was a communication breakdown some where in the mix and for that we are very sorry. We do endeavour to make every stay a good one so hopefully if you choose to stay again we can show you our great service skills and give you the welcome you should have received. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    13
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glengarry, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Aloha Villas for 5 night and it was amazing, loved the easy access to the beach and easy walk to town. The communal kitchen was excellent, beautifully fitted out and breakfast was excellent even supplied pots and pans to cook bacon and eggs, pool and spa were fantastic, and our room was divine. Thanks to the friendly helpful staff had a great 5 days.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Manager at Aloha Villas Byron Bay, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hi Debbie.
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Narrabeen, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed in January 2014. The place was styled very nicely. Upon arrival we were advised that the lawns that the man would be in our yard for a little while mowing the lawns - not great after long trip. The bathroom was not very clean. We went to shops and bought some cleaning products. We still couldn't get rid of smell in our villa. On the last night of our second night stay we found mouldy food left overs in one of the kitchen cupboards. Manager was not in when we checked out so we rang to provide feedback. Response we received was thanks for feedback. Would not recommend place. Not enjoyable experience , esp for $$ paid for stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becchivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Manager at Aloha Villas Byron Bay, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am very saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. I was only given feedback from you upon check out and if I had of know earlier I would have organised for the cleaners to come back and do it over again. Unfortunately if I am only notified at the end of your stay I cant rectify the situation. Regardless however this situation was a let down to both you and I apologise and the cleaners were reprimanded the same day. Our property does require garden maintenance so unfortunately sometimes it does mean there is a gardener about the property from time to time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We checked in for two nights and found it to be very relaxing. The rooms were a decent size for a couple and we found it to be clean and comfortable with all the amenities you would need for a short stay. The Villas are located approx 10 minutes walking distance to the beach and that's at a slow pace.. Really not that far at all! If you are worried about road noise request a villa back from the road - we did and it was just fine. We have stayed at properties in the centre of Byron previously and the noise from party goers coming home from town really disrupted our stay. I'd rather stay slightly out of the main drag but still be close enough to enjoy everything Byron has to offer. We would stay here again and recommend the property to our friends. Would also give it a 4.5 rating if the option was available :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mira22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Manager at Aloha Villas Byron Bay, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and to hear that your would return is wonderful. We value our guests so much and love to hear positive feed back about our villas. So thank you and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here for a night and found it to be comfortable. The staff were lovely too.

But it's not exactly close to the beach or the action in Byron. Nor is it inexpensive. You're paying the same as a 5 star hotel room for what is essential a bunch of aluminium shacks plonked in suburbia - but I guess the price is driven by Byron's demand. They've done well to convert a corner block on a busy street into a demountable sanctuary, but it's not exactly serene. No amount of Buddha statues or sun parched bamboo can change the fact that it's an urban nook with a touch of mining camp chic.

I'd stay here again if there were no better options available.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrySmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Manager at Aloha Villas Byron Bay, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We value our guests opinions so thank you for you feed back. Although I am unsure as to where Aluminium Shacks come into it as the only Aluminium on our property is the window surrounds. As you know we are located on Shirley street which is the main gateway to Byron Bay and yes we do classify as being in a residential area but we feel this is part of our charm as it means you can get away from the crazyness of the main strip once you have had enough. The Belongil beach is roughly 400 meters from our front gate so maybe you only visited the main beach which in that case yes it is a little further away. Again thank you for feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked this villa for 4 adults and it was just perfect! 4 single beds, in 2 bedrooms, huge living room and open kitchen. Everything was modern and new, with more facilities than we even expected: washing machine, dryer, hair dryer (and even straightener), bath tub and shower, fully equipped kitchen (including dishwasher and Lavazza coffee machine). We were very pleased to find even bread, milk, cereals, tea, orange juice and Lavazza pods at our arrival. Private pool and recreation area.
Communication went smooth and easy via email/phone, we had free wi fi and newspapers.
Location is also good, 10min walk from the city centre so it was perfect for our 3 nights stay.
Although it might be a bit expensive for a family (or two) stay, it was quite affordable in this case (4 adults).
One negative side I should mention is the closeness to the road, but the noise was still not excessive for me personally.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anacamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Manager at Aloha Villas Byron Bay, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were more than what you had expected. We do try our best to have the little extras to make your stay a little easier and its nice to know it is appreciated. As for the road noise, We know is a bit of a bother but because of our location and the busyness of byron bay this cannot be helped. Thank you for your understanding. Hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice new apartments on the outskirts of Byron bay. We stayed in a studio with king size bed. Air con and Modern tv with all the digital channels. Pool was clean. No bottle opener which was annoying. Breakfast was included but only consisted of juice, toast and muesli. New roller blinds were fitted but still not great at blocking out the light or any prowling eyes.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Manager at Aloha Villas Byron Bay, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Your feed back is very valuable and we thank you for it. We will endeavour to make sure these issued are resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Aaron's at Byron Guest House
Aaron's at Byron Guest House
#36 of 39 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aabi's at Byron
Aabi's at Byron
#11 of 65 in Byron Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crest Byron Bay
The Crest Byron Bay
#1 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavvanbah Beach House
Cavvanbah Beach House
#1 of 39 in Byron Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayhaven Lodge
Bayhaven Lodge
#8 of 39 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Villas Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Villas Byron Bay

Property: Aloha Villas Byron Bay
Address: 58 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aloha Villas Byron Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst tranquil gardens Aloha Villas are the essence of tropical living and are only a short stroll to the heart of Byron bay. Incorporating modern facilities with the relaxed beach life style, these villas are the perfect place to spend your holiday. Each private villa offers open plan living, king size bed and en-suite. With a wall mounted television, air-conditioning and free wifi, you will have all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Aloha Villas Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing