We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better!”
Review of Aloha Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloha Byron Bay
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently did road trip up the east coast of Australia from Sydney to Brisbane and stayed at Aloha Villas in Byron Bay for 2 nights on the way. Out of the 5 places we stayed, Aloha Villas was the best by far. We stayed in a studio room, it was clean and comfortable. We only met one staff member and she was brilliant. The breakfast was in the pool house with no time restrictions so we helped ourselves when we wanted too. Wi-fi was good. The bathroom was amazing, had a huge shower! An overall great experience, and we can't wait to get back to Byron bay. We won't be thinking twice about staying at Aloha again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Manager at Aloha Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

So happy you enjoyed your time with us here at Aloha! Cant wait to have you back. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 67 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Aloha Villas for 3 nights travelling as a couple. We absolutely loved it! Clean, modern and with friendly staff! We were able to check in early and check out late at no extra cost. I would definitely recommend to anyone :)
My only criticism would be that there were no blinds in the windows above the beds so it got quite bright early in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsJesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Manager at Aloha Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you very much for you feed back. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us! As for the blind issue, thank you for pointed that out. we have now newly installed blinds so that next time you stay with us you can have a comfortable sleep in.
Again Thank you and see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as we were attending a wedding. The room was lovely. It had a nice sitting area with tv which could also be swung around for viewing in bed! The bathroom was modern, clean and lovely with great fixtures. My only complaint is that you were given only one roll of loo paper! If you're staying a few nights you might want to bring your own!

We walked into town for dinner and it took about 10 mins at a casual pace.

If back in Byron I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Manager at Aloha Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your positive review on our villas. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and even better to know that you would love to return. In regards to the loo paper, we are very sorry and please accept our apologise as we do normally make sure that it is replenished after each guest and that there is more that enough there during your stay we have taken the issue up with house keeping so it does not happen again.
Looking forward to having you back in Byron Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Aloha Villas for a trip away for my birthday in April. The first day went well enough. We were driving up and got a call telling us that there would be no one there when we were due to arrive at 3pm so our keys would be left for us along with a note explaining how everything worked.

We arrived at 3pm, the keys and note were there, we got settled in the room fairly quickly and then the little things began. Firstly the toilet, turns out we had been put in the disabled friendly cabin, no real issue with that but when there was no way someone on a wheelchair could have accessed the room (steps at every turn and no stair lift) it seemed strange. Also all the fittings were very nice but for some reason a decision had been made to install a large blue loo seat which looked awful. All in all, though, we were still happy.

The location is great and the overall style is nice. We decided it was all good so headed into town for a birthday dinner, afterwards, when we got back to the room, I got down on one knee and asked my girlfriend to be my wife and am very glad to report she said yes! Next on the list for us was calls to our parents then we took to the web to tell our friends, planning to use the free wi fi at Aloha. Cue problem number two, incredibly bad wi fi, which we were only able to log onto as another guest explained where we could find passwords etc (this had not been included in the info that was left for us). Still we were in great spirits so let it go and headed to bed. Now when we got into the bed it skidded forward a couple of inches, turns out it is a slippy floor and the bed won’t stay in place.

But, it had been a good day with great news, and the promise of a sumptuous breakfast (as mentioned on their website when we booked) perked us up in the morning. Breakfast was till 9:30 so I got up and headed over to the kitchen area to find…nothing put out. I searched the cupboards and eventually discovered some muesli, spreads, tea and coffee, which seemed always to be in the cupboard. One this was not a sumptuous breakfast, and two why can I only have this till 9:30 when it is there all day, not even being laid out on the table at breakfast time?

After this breakfast came the best thing Aloha has to offer, Bec Haycraft. She was on duty and her manner and customer service were amazing, she listened to all our issues, helped as much as she could with the internet, gave us $40 to go and get a nice breakfast the next day and even brought caps for the beds wheels to try and keep it still. She was a ray of light on a cloudy day as far this resort was concerned.

That was where it ended though. After Bec had helped out on that first morning, the remaining mornings we were back to the kitchen supplies, none of the other staff checked we were ok and no one has been in touch since. The “heated” pool was not heated, the bed continued to slide and the internet was awful even after we got access to the staff wi-fi network. On our 4th day (we thought this was serviced when we booked but we were wrong – on arrival the letter explained you just a “room refresh” after 3 days) we were expecting our bins to be emptied, fresh towels and maybe even fresh sheets. What we got was two new towels left outside, no emptied bins, no made bed, and not even a replacement for the face towels.

So to sum up, the trip was amazing, the memories priceless, but Aloha Villas a massive disappointment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary_and_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Manager at Aloha Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us.
In response to a few concerns you had,
The blue toilet seat is a disability regulation seat and is that way under council regulations.
We have a lift for those with a disability how ever as we had only abled bodied guest staying with us at the time we had it scheduled for a routine maintenance check.
As for the internet issue, I am sorry for the poor reception, this is an issue we have had in the past and we are working to improve reception in our area.
In regards to the breakfast provided, we do describe what we provide on our website and as you pointed out it is left in the pool house so there are no time restrictions on the breakfast and we do work it on a help yourself basis so that there is no need for any guest to have to rush. I am unsure where you got the time limit information and i will be sure to inform staff not to tell any one that again.
We work on a 'please ask us if you need anything" basis so as not to disturb our guests during their stay with us. In regards to no room service during your stay we have a policy not to enter a guests room unless there are in there, so staff must not have caught you while you were there to do a refresher and had placed fresh towelling on the daybed on your balcony.
Thank you for your comments on Bec, she is an integral part of our team and i will be sure to pass on your kind words.

Again our sincere apologises that we did not meet your expectations, and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at Aloha Villas for five nights in a studio villa, and could quite easily have stayed longer! The villa was spacious and very clean, including the bathroom. LOVED the bed, it was so comfortable we wanted to bring it home with us!!
Having a self-serve breakfast at our own time was perfect for us, and it was great looking out over the pool over our morning coffee.
Great central location, and great staff - so friendly and accommodating that by the time we left we felt like family. Would definitely recommend Aloha for a luxurious relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMB0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Manager at Aloha Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words. Here at Aloha Villas we strive for excellence when it comes to our guests being comfortable and enjoying their stay and it is wonderful to hear that we have meet your needs. Cannot wait to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My fiance and I stayed for 4 nights in studio villa 3. The villa itself was well appointed with large bathroom, king bed and tv that swung out for snuggle viewing from the comfy bed.
We found the location perfect with the beach only 2 mins away and town an easy 10min stroll along the beach or shirley st. We found the breakfast adequate and having a pool/spa just for the studio villa guests is a nice touch too. Some reviewers complain about no staff but they provide everything you could possibly need and we had no need to bother the staff or have them around. One small negative was there was no blinds or curtains covering the windows above our bed so the sun would brighten the room at 6am ruining the chance for a sleep in but this would not stop us staying here again or reccomending it to all our friends and family. This is quite possibly the best value luxury accomodation in Byron Bay at the moment, loved it!! Well done Aloha Villas!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bdollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Manager at Aloha Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do act on a 'please ask us if you need anything' service so as though not to disturb our guests stay, which i am happy you appreciated. As for the blind issue above the bed, thank you for your feedback and that is something that we will look at fixing in the very near future.
Again Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A great spot which under-sells itself. It was not clear from our booking what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised. We had a studio villa which is a spacious, self contained unit with private deck and bathroom. The room was very clean with its own fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. I would say the quality of finish was high too. Within the villas was a separate, well equipped pool house where you could cook and eat should you choose.

The location is central and although there was some noise from the main road, I would say this is to be expected of such a central spot. A beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: The rear villas avoid noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Manager at Aloha Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hi Jenny,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is great to hear such positive things about our business as we put so much of ourselves into our work and to know that our guests are happy makes us feel like we are on the right track.
Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 33 in Byron Bay
190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 33 in Byron Bay
407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 33 in Byron Bay
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#2 of 33 in Byron Bay
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayhaven Lodge
Bayhaven Lodge
#9 of 35 in Byron Bay
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Byron Bay

Address: 58 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $158 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aloha Byron Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst tranquil gardens Aloha Villas are the essence of tropical living and are only a short stroll to the heart of Byron bay. Incorporating modern facilities with the relaxed beach life style, these villas are the perfect place to spend your holiday. Each private villa offers open plan living, king size bed and en-suite. With a wall mounted television, air-conditioning and free wifi, you will have all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Aloha Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing