We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful long weekend”
Review of Rae's on Wategos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Byron Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rae's on Wategos
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Blissful long weekend”
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We have just returned from the most blissful long weekend at Raes. Yes, it is expensive, but the room was wonderful, the spa treatment sublime and the food in the restaurant was outstanding. Going to sleep with the sound of the surf through the shutters, waking up to the most beautiful continental breakfast served in our room - every aspect of the experience was superb. Their attention to detail was outstanding. We will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bikemanMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    32
    21
    14
    20
See reviews for
26
128
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Narlidere, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed in the hotel in the winter. The room was fantastic with a huge daybed which caught the winter sun. The nights were crisp but we had a beautiful logfire and were able to dine sumptuously in our room. We saw all the rooms in the place and thought all were funky and unique. For us the day temperatures of 22-25C were just right with the ocean about 20-22C. We enjoyed swimming with baby dolphins just in front of the hotel!!
The restaurant prices were expensive but you look at the extensive international wine list and range of fresh produce (we saw delivered daily) we had no fault with it. Although we found the service a bit abrupt on occasion.
Top marks to the day spa run by the delightful Marionne, truly international class here. My partner enjoyed a 2 hour ritual which set the tone for the evening.
Top marks also for the just right continental breakfast(free) served with cheery good morning.
Overall we found the hotel staff very obliging, knowledgable able to give very good local information and advice like the jogging/walking tracks in the forest surrounding the Cape.
So we were surprised by the negativity of some reviews but could only give 5 stars ourselves. We found the place very funky and relaxed, we never saw the other guests except at the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winoseti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Nothing could have prepared us for the beauty, tranquility and luxury of this truly unique hotel... to fall asleep to the sound of the waves and wake up overlooking the sandy white beach and sparkling ocean... absolute heaven. Thankyou to the wonderful staff who couldn't have been more attentive. Veronica

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silververonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2009

I stayed for almost a week and was blown away by this charming pure beachfront palace!
What a pity to hear negative stories as for me my this was a standout holiday and the location plus personal experience made this the closest i have come to heaven.
Their restaurant has top notch royal thai . . not to mention the freshest sea food fare I have experienced to date.
This exotic small hotel is even complete with a professional n glamorously fitted out but very private spa (try their facials pure bliss) ! Also the establishment hosts a wide range of other small touches in service and room detail which made me feel so relaxed & special.
Rae's is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world (and I have seen many of them) and it has gentle, top notch surf waves which are common place .
The vibe is relaxed and sure it is definately no chain hotel like Sheraton complete with ample rooms or kiddies pools -but that is why I loved it . . pure elegance and personal service make it standout.
If boutique is your style you MUST give this one in a million gem a go!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misstropicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Rae's is a nice hotel AS LONG AS YOU DON'T PAY FOR IT ! The prices are simply ridiculous for what you get. Just go have dinner there. The location is good, very close to the beach but it is not the best beach and you get a microscopic garden and pool, no social rooms for this price. You need a car in Byron Bay and there is nothing outside the hotel so forget it and stay at BYRONS AT BYRON for (half price, huge rooms and pool, walking distance to beach, amenities, etc).

Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank friendguyfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2009

This hotel's selling point is its wonderful position, terrific restaurant and really friendly staff. It's heading to the slightly shabby side of boutique especially for the price but the location -lovely !

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellavespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

I had been ther 4 year earlier for one night and had a nice stay

What has happened since I dont kow

For the amount of money they are charging the owners need to take a good look at the package they offer

Booked a room with no email or notification or confirmation just a call on the morning to ask if i am coming which makes you feel really certain they care....

I arrived 1/2 hour early ( at 2pm) to no one at reception and no effort to help get me settled....

My room was not ready and when finally ready the dirty floors was a poor welcome, doors do get stuck...aircon is dusty and old system, room had a damp uncared feel to it despite being spacious and large size.

no help with bags or even an offer to assist

Turn down service doesn't clean room just folds bed sheets and changes towels

The light fittings were either broken not working or simply not installed

Cable channels are stingy selection of the cheapest package they could open all channels for this money

breakfast at menu a la carte was $45 a head is not worth it

No bath robes until day 3 when I visited the spa

no glasses for water or mugs for coffee

towels and bed lined are crunchy at best form local linen supllier turck that arrives each - and the cheap stuff you get in 2 star accomoadtion

all the bath products are same as motel down the road which charges $60 a night - organic but cheap and not good

Dinner at the restaurant at $45 main and $45 for veg option is not worth it at all - very average meal and chef/ menu needs a rework ASAP - Thai is dated and lunch menu is overpriced as well at $45 fish and chips

waiters are a great compensation for the very poor food but thats not why you eat there. dirty ceiling above reasturant add to overall lack of care that eminates form this hotel

rooms are old style eccentric and a bit like the Sheraton mirgae meets faulty towers meets morroco gone worng overall doesn't work f

my other friend who had similar experience a few days before

they are clearly resting on laurels of past years and either dont care or making so much money they don't need to care....but maybe this will help move them to do something again

best thing they can do is close and renovate then start over with a fresh energy to deliver premium product again

spa is world class service and products and spa manager is very experinced which saved the whole trip....worth visting if you dont stay here you can still book treatments.....spa again is SUPERIOR to anything in byron bay ....

Its is a beautiful location at one the world best beach but that's not enough for $700- $1250 a night, Water mark at $400 a night is simpler and better value....or else save your money and go somewhere better


I would not reccommend going to Raes at Wategos

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — The Rooms standard and set up
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank leisuremaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
355 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#15 of 32 in Byron Bay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#24 of 32 in Byron Bay
23 reviews
3.4 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rae's on Wategos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rae's on Wategos

Property: Rae's on Wategos
Address: 6 - 8 Marine Pde, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rae's on Wategos in Byron Bay is Australia's most iconic boutique hotel. Voted one of the world's top 25 hotels by Conde Nast Traveller Magazine, Rae's offers a blissful and unforgettable Byron Bay experience. Our restaurant offers modern Australian cuisine catering for large functions or romantic moments. Our spa is a sacred space of healing at the hands of the highest calibre therapists. Calming curved walls, rich soothing decor, this is the most intimate getaway in a secluded corner of Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rae`s On Watego`s Hotel Byron Bay
Raes On Wategos Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing