We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service”
Review of Rae's on Wategos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Byron Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rae's on Wategos
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I came to Rae's with my partner for dinner our host Ashleigh, was amazing she was very understanding to my dietary requirements (no seafood) and made sure I still got great food.
When ever I come to Byron I know where to go now. Five star food five star service and all at a reasonable price.
I had a beet root salad which was just absolutely mouth watering and a cardamom brûlée which was just perfect, I've been to a lot of amazing restaurants around Sydney but none of their brûlées even came close to comparing with this!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 238 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were at Rae's recently for my daughter's special birthday celebration. Being a visitor from Sydney I relied on her recommendation as a local of Byron Bay for special place befitting the occasion. was more than pleasantly surprised, and moreso we were totally blown away by the impeccable 5 star service we received from our host , Dan. Everything from our start up cocktails, to Dan's extensive knowledge and recommendations from Rae's fine menu and complimenting wines, against the backdrop of the beautiful sight and sounds of the awesome Wattego's Beach, made this one very memorable evening indeed! I have dined in many fine places all over the world and I am proud and amazed to find one of the worlds finest dining experience and most charming hosts right here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sonia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Fell in love with this place instantly. Amazed I'd never ventured there before. Cocktails were delicious, service was authentic, friendly and detailed. For a small crew you could tell they loved the place and took great pride in everything. The banquet was exquisite and perfectly timed between drinks. Would live at Raes if I could. A perfect escape from the hustle of the bay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I am a big fan of small over large, boutique over big so when I can, I try and stay at smaller more personal hotels. Now Rae's is an institution. It's been 'the' place to stay in Byron forever and it is like staying in someones rambling beach house complete with private pool and big baths.It's not cheap.

The vibe is cool and understated. The location can't be beat and if you are a long board surfer padding down 20 metres to the beach every morning to a perfect wave is just incredible. The restaurant is high quality and I had the best curry I have ever had outside India here.

Now for the bad news: Raes is getting a wee bit shabby. Our suite was nice, but the door didnt shut, the bar fridge only worked intermittently and we noticed the bath wasnt completely clean.Service was inattentive. There was hardly anyone staying there so we kind of got the feeling that the 'A' team werent on and that they werent really trying.And that is a shame.

My husband and I had a massage at the lovely spa which was not the worst nor the best massage I have ever had.

Dinner was included in our package and the food was awesome as was the smiling service. Unfortunately, couldn't say the same for breakfast. We walked in to an empty restaurant except for another couple (tables still piled up from the night before blocking the views and a ladder up with some work going on). Our greeting from the woman (wait help?) holding a mop was "Are you the other room here for breakfast?" We answered yes and were popped into a side booth (no view). We were then simply bought out the breakfast, not asked what we wanted, coffee just popped on the table (would have been nice to have a proper barista coffee or what about tea?). Then we saw absolutely no one after that.

We heard the staff talking about the fact that Rae's is on the market. Mmmm- I look forward to seeing what the new owners do.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank imaginelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Wategos has been a favourite beach for many years - magic position, crystal clear warm water. Raes was a place my husband and I always wanted to try. From the outside it looked like just the sort of small, boutique hotel that we love. Reading tripadvisor reviews though, we were wary. Not all were positive.
Despite this, we booked a weekend and were not disappointed. We stayed in the Moroccan Suite - roomy, fabulous furniture, beach views. Service was sunny and attentive. The massage in the spa was excellent and the food at Fish Cafe delicious. For us, everything about this place was faultless. I'm glad we trusted our instincts.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

There is something special about staying in a small yet luxurious boutique hotel with a front lawn that flows directly onto the beach. If you want to hide Rae’s is the place to go. If you want quality and style Rae’s would be one of the best hotels in Australia to experience a private getaway and yet you give up nothing in the way of luxury, space and style. When you are close to Byron Bay, please don’t miss this hotel.
A big thanks to Lizzie. She delivers your breakfast every morning her smiling face and easy nature. A nice way to start the day in this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenDesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stunning hotel & the food divine. . The manager Marion was lovely. Perfect location right on the beach. We stayed in the Penthouse, so much space & eclectic furnishings from all around the world. Beautiful fresh breakfasts on the verandah every morning & the restaurant was to die for.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BelindaBrooksby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
430 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#14 of 34 in Byron Bay
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
0.1 mi away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#26 of 34 in Byron Bay
24 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#4 of 34 in Byron Bay
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rae's on Wategos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rae's on Wategos

Address: 6 - 8 Marine Pde, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rae's on Wategos in Byron Bay is Australia's most iconic boutique hotel. Voted one of the world's top 25 hotels by Conde Nast Traveller Magazine, Rae's offers a blissful and unforgettable Byron Bay experience. Our restaurant offers modern Australian cuisine catering for large functions or romantic moments. Our spa is a sacred space of healing at the hands of the highest calibre therapists. Calming curved walls, rich soothing decor, this is the most intimate getaway in a secluded corner of Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rae`s On Watego`s Hotel Byron Bay
Raes On Wategos Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing