We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of paradise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Hotel
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little slice of paradise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here a few weeks back and It was everything we could have wished for and more. From the moment we checked in until the moment we left. The beach hotel is set on prime real-estate in the heart of beautiful Byron Bay. The hotel it's self it literally a hop skip and a jump to everything. It's 50m from the beach, 25m to the Main Street and 5m to the best cold beers in town at the pub next door.

The accommodation itself it's very clean, comfortable, spacious and has some of the best views on offer in Byron. The reception girls were very help and recommended a few local spots to eat, drink and play which came in very handy! You also get a car space complimentary with your room which is super handy considering you have to pay to park in most spots in Byron.

After reading a few reviews we were a bit skeptical about the noise coming
From the pub but those complaining must have super sonic hearing because we couldn't hear a thing and we stayed on a Friday night- we got a perfect nights sleep (probably because we spent most of the night dancing up a storm at the pub and we were buggered- awesome music!)

We definitely got value for money - and we would recommend it to anyone thinking about a nice weekend away!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ellaay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    60
    45
    26
    32
See reviews for
50
71
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shellharbour
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My comments are on the pub food not the accommodations.
I don't mind paying for good food but what I experienced today will prevent me from coming back again.
Average quality food at best at expensive prices.
Try somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimbaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

Inverloch, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I are currently staying at the Beach Hotel. We are having a grand time. We are in one of the loft suites, which faces the beach and overlooks the pool. Whilst the hotel is showing its age and could do with a refresh, it still represents good value in our opinion. The reception staff are very helpful and the housekeeping staff are very friendly and efficient. The hotel pool and spa are fantastic and the proximity to all things byron is unreal. Great to have a park in the hotel,which is included in the cost. When I called to ask about the noise issue, I was given an honest assessment. For the record, it is not an issue! So if you are looking to stay in a comfortable and spacious hotel suite that is in the best location in Byron Bay, stay at the Beach a Hotel!

Room Tip: Room 21 or 22 have great views of the beach and the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vgreencan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This place is classically Australian - expensive for no good reason! I paid over $360 for what is essentially a cheap motel room, next to a noisy bar run by rude staff and steroid riddled security guards. This place kind of embodies everything that has changed, and is now wrong with, Byron Bay.

I have stayed in worse places for sure, and a couple of the ladies that staff the hotel were actually very nice. But everything else about the place isn't worth what they charge. My advice is to stay somewhere else unless you're desperate. Especially if you want to get to sleep before 1am.

They should gut the place and start over, because the location deserves to be something special.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel, or get a room away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TrySmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have stayed at the Beach hotel a couple of times when I had left booking till the last minute and not much else was on offer.
The rooms are extremely clean . The location is unbeatable.
It is in my opinion ridiculously overpriced, it is quite basic and very dated. If staying request a room as far from the pub side as possible for noise reasons.

Room Tip: As far from the pub side as possible
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jacaranda_blossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked last minute and were charged a fortune for the "pleasure" of staying in the Beach Hotel. When we arrived we were greeted at the main desk and given our room key. The room was ok, nothing great, the bathroom was awful as the shower flooded the floor at every opportunity and the general sense of the place was that it had not been touched since the 80's.

The whole selling point of this establishment is the location, and I will be honest that was great. It is literally just off the beach and a stones throw from everything. Unfortunately the hotel seems to bank on this and have spent absolutely nothing on the hotel as a result.

I do not know why this place is called a hotel, it felt more like a b&b. There was also no breakfast included in the price so i guess just a bed!

And now for the worst part of the stay....the noise. The hotel has a very very loud and late bar attached to it and they have loud music playing until the very early hours of the morning every night. The walls are paper thin in the hotel so my husband and I bought some ear plugs immediately. Also the rooms are all connected (a door locked or not depending on what you book) and due to this the walls again are paper thin. We had the misfortune of being beside a family of 6 (four children under 6) who woke at 5.30am every morning and screamed and screamed for hours.

All in all, if you want relaxation, dont go here. If you want sleep, dont go here. If you want value for money, dont go here.

When we handed in our keys at reception, the woman in charge didnt even ask us if we had a nice stay or not. She has obviously learned not to ask that question as she knows the answer. She thanked us for our keys and wished us a nice day.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ker_schnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Overpriced considering you cannot sleep at night. Noisy location beside nightclub. Typical of Byron Bay, suggest if holidaying keep driving to Tweed - more choice and better value and facilities!

Motel had standard facilities on offer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bondknight007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#12 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#16 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Property: Beach Hotel
Address: Bay Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Hotel Resort offers a location unrivalled in a region renowned for its natural beauty and numerous beaches. The 4 star boutique resort is positioned on Main Beach overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Julian Rocks and Mt Warning and backs onto the centre of Byron Bays shops, cafes and restaurants. Each of the 25 luxurious suites are spacious and well equipped to enhance your Byron experience. You can practically roll out of bed and onto the beach or let our friendly staff assist with planning the days activities. Stay one night or stay a while.Resort facilities include:- Beach Frontage- Luxurious pool (heated in winter)- Poolside heated spa- Air-conditioning / Heating - Secure, undercover carparking- 24 hour reception- Balcony or courtyard in every room (smoking permitted outdoors)- Complimentary Wi Fi- Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities- Minibar- King Beds- Flat screen TV’s, DVD players and AustarExperience the classic Byron beachside holiday. Simply sublime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing