We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beach Hotel , what a disaster !”
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Hotel
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I came here in the 90's and really was amazed. Returned 12 years ago with my wife and still a lovely place.
Just got back a week ago and boy , how run down , uninviting and horrble its become.
The food was ojk but way overpriced . The staff were that rude and the security belong in a zoo . They had no manners or people skills at all.
The toilets were worse than a backpackers hostel and when I brought to their attention , the manager without taking his eyes off the tab screen gave me a sidewards glance and told me to go and clean them.

Room Tip: Stay away if you are a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Damian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 257 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have always loved a meal or two at the Beach Hotel every time we are in Byron. This time however we really seemed to notice that there is a need for some maintenance here, the whole place in the Pub and beer garden area just looking the worse for wear. That plus the $18 burger prices (they were delicious, but that is an extreme price for a hamburger) gave me the feeling that it is a shame to see it going this way.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SasD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Only stopped here for a quick brekky on our first morning in Byron, and found the food and location good enough to want to spend a bit of time here. The views are outrageously good, as is the fruit loaf! Lovely place from which to start the day.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RosyBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is located smack bang across from Byron Bay's main beach and within walking distance of some great restaurants and cafe's. I would recommend staying here for a short stay in byron as the rooms are quite pricey, however you really are paying for the location. The pool area is lovely and the grounds are tidy and tropical. A great spot!

Room Tip: We payed for a king room with beach view (with balcony) however we could only just see the sunset at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel charges outrageous fees to cancel or vary a booking. They do not let you cancel your booking at all, so you forfeit the whole price of your room/s. Plus, if you book through Wotif, you will be charged an additional $25. If you want to change the date of your booking, you will be charged $50 by the hotel and $25 by Wotif. A very costly experience - I definitely do not recommend!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Sam32142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This was the third time we had stayed and we had just as good a time as previously. The rooms are all the same downstairs so we knew what to expect - a few small things could do with some freshening up and the lighting could be better but it's still a big room with great access to the wonderful hotel pool area.

It's true there is a fair bit of night noise from the adjoining pub, at least on weekends - the bass of music mostly - but it was only really noticeable on the weekend nights we stayed.

The location is amazing - steps from the beach, centre of town and some of the best restaurants in the area. We looked around for alternatives prior to our latest stay and despite knowing about the weekend noise issues came back here because we still believe it is the best place for what we are looking for in Byron.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have stayed at the beach hotel three or four times now over the last few years and had always loved the location and ambience of the place, however we were somewhat disappointed during our last stay in January 2013. Same great location, with wonderful room and amazing view but everything is just that little bit more dated, which would not in itself be an issue except that the service has also taken a bit of dive while the room rates have continued to increase. Reception was friendly and welcoming, and the room was still clean and inviting however there appeared to be a lack of staff in regards to maintaining the grounds and swimming pool. We could not find staff to get pool side service even though it is obviously still available as evidenced by the dirty dishes and glasses (with uneaten leftovers) littering the pool side all afternoon and overnight until well after the 10:30am checkout time. The toiletories once luxurous are now standard run of the mill (3 star) type, couches have been recovered and are comfortable but nothing else has been updated so bathroom in particuar is worn, stained and weary. On the plus side the rooms are amazingly roomy with lots of space and open air so you really know you are on the beach, love the sliding doors that open the entire wall. On the minus side the hotel menu needs updating (the food is edible but not good). Overall would have to say for the price the place is really no up to par ... such a pity as it used to be great! Will probably explore elsewhere in byron for our next stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavvanbah
Cavvanbah
#20 of 34 in Byron Bay
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#13 of 34 in Byron Bay
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#21 of 34 in Byron Bay
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#1 of 34 in Byron Bay
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Beach Motel
Bay Beach Motel
#22 of 34 in Byron Bay
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Address: Bay Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range: $216 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Hotel Resort offers a location unrivalled in a region renowned for its natural beauty and numerous beaches. The 4 star boutique resort is positioned on Main Beach overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Julian Rocks and Mt Warning and backs onto the centre of Byron Bays shops, cafes and restaurants. Each of the 25 luxurious suites are spacious and well equipped to enhance your Byron experience. You can practically roll out of bed and onto the beach or let our friendly staff assist with planning the days activities. Stay one night or stay a while.Resort facilities include:- Beach Frontage- Luxurious pool (heated in winter)- Poolside heated spa- Air-conditioning / Heating - Secure, undercover carparking- 24 hour reception- Balcony or courtyard in every room (smoking permitted outdoors)- Complimentary Wi Fi- Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities- Minibar- King Beds- Flat screen TV’s, DVD players and AustarExperience the classic Byron beachside holiday. Simply sublime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing