We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location, fantastic pool, big rooms...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Hotel
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Amazing location, fantastic pool, big rooms...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This was the third time we had stayed and we had just as good a time as previously. The rooms are all the same downstairs so we knew what to expect - a few small things could do with some freshening up and the lighting could be better but it's still a big room with great access to the wonderful hotel pool area.

It's true there is a fair bit of night noise from the adjoining pub, at least on weekends - the bass of music mostly - but it was only really noticeable on the weekend nights we stayed.

The location is amazing - steps from the beach, centre of town and some of the best restaurants in the area. We looked around for alternatives prior to our latest stay and despite knowing about the weekend noise issues came back here because we still believe it is the best place for what we are looking for in Byron.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    61
    46
    26
    33
See reviews for
51
71
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have stayed at the beach hotel three or four times now over the last few years and had always loved the location and ambience of the place, however we were somewhat disappointed during our last stay in January 2013. Same great location, with wonderful room and amazing view but everything is just that little bit more dated, which would not in itself be an issue except that the service has also taken a bit of dive while the room rates have continued to increase. Reception was friendly and welcoming, and the room was still clean and inviting however there appeared to be a lack of staff in regards to maintaining the grounds and swimming pool. We could not find staff to get pool side service even though it is obviously still available as evidenced by the dirty dishes and glasses (with uneaten leftovers) littering the pool side all afternoon and overnight until well after the 10:30am checkout time. The toiletories once luxurous are now standard run of the mill (3 star) type, couches have been recovered and are comfortable but nothing else has been updated so bathroom in particuar is worn, stained and weary. On the plus side the rooms are amazingly roomy with lots of space and open air so you really know you are on the beach, love the sliding doors that open the entire wall. On the minus side the hotel menu needs updating (the food is edible but not good). Overall would have to say for the price the place is really no up to par ... such a pity as it used to be great! Will probably explore elsewhere in byron for our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Beach Hotel in Byron Bay is the perfect place to take in everything as it's located right on the beach and has all the amenities you could need. There is a pool on site and attached is a restaurant and bar along with a bottle shop (they'll even bring over your wine or beer if you call). They had a great breakfast every morning and did everything to accomodate us. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made every effort to make it enjoyable.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

this place is quite famous and in its hey day was really trend setting.... having said that now its a dirty scruffy broken down shadow of its former self and really needs to be knocked down and redeveloped...the prices were sky high like 22$ for a burger and over $30 for a steak and this for a second rate pub.... go have a look and move on... in the street behind., lawson street,, there are a number of cafes and restarants all with superb food but none better than the one called cool katz with the best staff and the owners working in the place.. was awsome and soo friendly if you can get in.. its certainly worth looking for but the pub. forget it its a gigantic rip off.dirty and broken down only has the position going for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brentt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

All they care about is their $68M view and the staff just wanna go surfing and they're bullies, rude and I wouldn't recommend this place if it were the last place on earth!!!

My experience was terrible. I was asked to leave because we parked our coach out the front of the hotel in the 15 minute parking zone while the driver went off to grab a coffee.

I sent all my 38 passengers into the and then a bar staff member came up and asked me to move the coach as it was blocking their $68 M view (that's exactly what he said).

When I said that I couldn't move it as I was only the tour guide and that the driver will be back very shortly he kicked me out and then went round and asked all my passengers to vacate the hotel.

As they were all walking out the driver returned and moved the coach.

Disgusting Beachy! You should be ashamed!!!

Little did you know at the time that the tour was a 12 day tour from Sydney to Cairns but I actually reside in Byron. Don't worry. I have told many people this story and many have supported me in not visiting your lousy hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank callatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I just spent 2 nights here for a girls weekend away and it was great for us and our needs. Good sized hotel rooms, basic breakfast included but a bonus as we didn't realise we had breakfast included in our package. We didn't get in the car once, the position is great and right opposite the beach. Its not a 5 star place nor is it a resort but as a hotel, we were happy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Me and my partner decided to stay in Byron for the night last weekend after going surfing in the morning and deciding to make a day of it and fancied a change from the gold coast.

We arrived at the hotel to enquire if they had any rooms- I was dressed in boardshorts and a cap- not the smartest, and was looked down my nose at by the lady at the desk. She told me they had rooms available- 210 for the night, so not cheap!

I returned 20 mins later with my boyfriend, also dressed casually- it is Byron bay!! and she proceeded to look us both up and down again, And made us both feel pretty crappy.

Room was lovely, bed amazing, blackout blinds on every window amazing. Very clean, pretty spacious and overall a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Had a swim in the morning, pool was really clean ad fresh.

Great location.

Won't be returning though because we were made to feel unwelcome- if we have the money to spend at your hotel, don't look at us like you wish we weren't- because we can easily spend it elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattoandAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvHBB, General Manager at Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear PatrickTKellyandAmy,
Our front office team are perplexed that you felt this way. I can assure you that this was not our intention and you were certainly not judged on your casual attire. Wearing shorts, a cap, thongs, singlets or anything similar is the usual attire for Byron Bay, in fact, we encourage it. Being situated directly opposite Main Beach, with an internal large pool and spa area, we encourage guests to relax, slow down, get comfortable and soak up Byron's unhurried, calm pace.
Again, I apologise if this is how you felt.
We hope to welcome you back one day,
Elke van Haandel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
0.0 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#17 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#12 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Property: Beach Hotel
Address: Bay Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Hotel Resort offers a location unrivalled in a region renowned for its natural beauty and numerous beaches. The 4 star boutique resort is positioned on Main Beach overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Julian Rocks and Mt Warning and backs onto the centre of Byron Bays shops, cafes and restaurants. Each of the 25 luxurious suites are spacious and well equipped to enhance your Byron experience. You can practically roll out of bed and onto the beach or let our friendly staff assist with planning the days activities. Stay one night or stay a while.Resort facilities include:- Beach Frontage- Luxurious pool (heated in winter)- Poolside heated spa- Air-conditioning / Heating - Secure, undercover carparking- 24 hour reception- Balcony or courtyard in every room (smoking permitted outdoors)- Complimentary Wi Fi- Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities- Minibar- King Beds- Flat screen TV’s, DVD players and AustarExperience the classic Byron beachside holiday. Simply sublime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing