We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Relaxing Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beach Hotel
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Relaxing Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have stayed here at the Beach Hotel for many years. Every time it is a relaxing stay with staff always cheerful,helpful and friendly.
It is getting a little old re: showers, bathrooms and other little things from the 80's which should be overhauled.
However if you disregard these things everything else is perfect.
Can't wait to go back again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    60
    45
    26
    32
See reviews for
50
71
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Ok, so I was a sieve head and forgot to change my arrival day at Waves Hotel so landed in Byron a day early with nowhere to stay. Note, pretty much everywhere to stay in Byron closes at 6pm so there are no night staff on duty to take walk-ins. Luckily I stumbled upon the Beavh Hotel and was welcomed in by a nice guy who took pity on me. They have a special rate, but it still cost me $210 instead of $280. More than I wanted to pay but it was a lovely clean place.

Checked in to a massive room with a HUGE bed, clean linens, a kitchenette, free WiFi, minibar and woke up to a lovely view of the beach. the pool is cute and has loungers where you can relax. There's a great little cafe right opposite the front of the hotel and the beach is just across the road. See also my review on the Waves.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
514 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a great place to have a cold beer, admire the view to Julian Rocks and soak up the Byron Bay atmosphere but it is certainly not the best place in town to eat. The spaghetti marina I had was probably the worst I have ever eaten and was very expensive relatively speaking. Eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlepper1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The food was amazing, it was just easy and relaxed, don't expect table service and you I'll be very happ

Room Tip: If you are a 5* person.... Don't go to Byron, simple
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morber85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koro Island, Fiji
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

By far the greatest Hotel/attraction in Byron Bay. Once owned by John Cornel (Strop), of Crocodile Dundee fame, and associates. Situated right on the beachfront overlooking the most famous vista in Australia, with views out towards Julian Rock National marine sanctuary and grey nurse breeding grounds and international diving location.
This hotel has EVERYTHING. Great luxury accommodation. Wide screen continuous surf and sporting clips. Prolific wall mounted mementos of the original Dundee film. Great restaurant and early opening coffee and pasty cafe--where you can meet local and sometimes international celebs checking out the view.
Live local and international groups on weekends (free) till midnight. Tight security. Attentive staff. What more could you want. Reasonable rates and alcohol prices. Gaming room.Clean facilities. Easy access to businesses and other Byron facilities.Free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Non needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siddhazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We frequently travel to Byron, and usually enjoy a meal or 2 at the Beach Hotel each visit. However, after our last experience we will ensure we eat elsewhere in future. The great view overlooking the beach is still there, but the food was not good at all. Definitely not value for the money. Most of all beware the chips - mega expensive, and tasted so chemically that neither of us could eat them. How can you get chips so wrong? Have a beer, listen to the good local music, but I would advise you to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a recent stay at the Beach Hotel Byron Bay for five nights in one of their fantastic suites overlooking the beach. Ease of access to everything, and very friendly attentive staff made for a very very pleasant stay. We have stayed at many Byron resorts and thoroughly enjoyed the central locale of the Beach Hotel. The Pub next door made for great dining and our room was very spacious and well appointed. Cant wait to return there soon!

Room Tip: Choose the closest to the beach view is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#12 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#17 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Property: Beach Hotel
Address: Bay Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Hotel Resort offers a location unrivalled in a region renowned for its natural beauty and numerous beaches. The 4 star boutique resort is positioned on Main Beach overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Julian Rocks and Mt Warning and backs onto the centre of Byron Bays shops, cafes and restaurants. Each of the 25 luxurious suites are spacious and well equipped to enhance your Byron experience. You can practically roll out of bed and onto the beach or let our friendly staff assist with planning the days activities. Stay one night or stay a while.Resort facilities include:- Beach Frontage- Luxurious pool (heated in winter)- Poolside heated spa- Air-conditioning / Heating - Secure, undercover carparking- 24 hour reception- Balcony or courtyard in every room (smoking permitted outdoors)- Complimentary Wi Fi- Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities- Minibar- King Beds- Flat screen TV’s, DVD players and AustarExperience the classic Byron beachside holiday. Simply sublime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing