We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Can't fault our experience at the Bryon Beachcomber. The staff were really friendly and accommodating and the hotel is in a great location - either a short walk down the beach (from the rear of the hotel) in to Bryon township, or along Shirley St. Room was clean, spacious, quiet and everything worked. We had a room at the back of the hotel away from the street because we'd read on Tripadvisor that rooms at the front get a bit of street noise.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter and nearer the beach.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Byron Beachcomber Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 164 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed as two couples for two nights in studio rooms. The location is great, walking distance to the middle of town and backing on to a track that leads to the beach. Our studio rooms were connected by an additional locking external door which would be very handy for families.

The rooms were very clean and private. They were a good size with a small kitchenette stocking the basics. Our only complaint was the rooms are only serviced if you are staying a week or so, which we weren't aware of. A daily sweep, restock of teabags & bed making would have made it a little more luxurious.

The common areas were very nice and well kept, the spa was great and the BBQ area was stocked with spray oil, paper towel etc making for easy BBQ dinners.

Overall we had a great stay and would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Studio rooms that are next to each other could easily be used as bedrooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank whatevsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this resort after completing a long 3 months of full time seasonal work and it really was like paradise.

The lobby wasn't overall inviting but the room was absolutely luxurious. It was very clean and had quite a warm feeling about it.

The resort was located just a 10 minute walk from the town centre and a short 5 minute walk from the beach.

The pool and spa were very well kept and equip with a generous BBQ area.

A great place to holiday with the family or relax as a couple. We will defiantly be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgialc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for an overnight stay to attend a wedding. It was a good location and good value for money (low season). The staff were friendly and accommodating, allowing us to check in early with our baby. The room was clean and spacious for my partner and I and our baby. I would recommend getting a room at the back as it is away from the road. Would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Antony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here 2 years ago and were really very pleased with the warm service and great pool and room.
I still enjoyed it this time but our room was not as good as the first room - very clean still but not as comfortable. It was the top room facing the street. it probably was so very noisy as it was a Saturday night on the long weekend and the following night was pretty much fine. Bathroom felt very small and awkward to move inside. The pool is great and very clean, lush feeling with a hot spa. Location very central. I'd probably choose somewhere off the main drag bext time, though its a quick walk to the shops/beach/dinner. When I booked i asked if they could provide a trundle bed so my sons could sleep in different beds and they could but at $30 each night which I really felt was steep on top of the room cost, especially as 2 years ago they provided it for free. Little things like this matter to me and make me feel more welcome an thus more likely to promote the place to others as a friendly place to stay. Very secure carpark with lift is good and makes bringing luggage up easy.

Room Tip: get a room at the back near pool.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank summerneety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel reminds me of your typical Gold Coast self contained resort. Rooms are spacious and sufficiently appointed although the appliances could use some maintenance or upgrade. The hotel is easy to get to and find and once you are there you can leave your car in the free security car park and walk everywhere in Byron Bay. There is direct access to the beach out the back gate where you can swim, sunbake or just enjoy the beauty of the place. Town is a five minute walk, either along the beach or the road (or the old train track if you like adventure!). We had a ground floor studio which looked over the pool area and had a great al fresco area where we ate most of our meals. Bed was comfortable but pillows were terrible. This is not a high end resort as some reviews seem to expect but a great, family friendly accommodation in an A1 location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back, overlooking the pool are the go. We had 9a and would happily stay again.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fridgenald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this place and unfortunately this is one of the worst value for money we had during our 1 month trip on the coast. Rooms, beds, bathrooms are extremely old and not convenient. Yes, it was the high season but 400$+ for a room without breakfast, no housekeeping (they even do not change the towels on a daily basis) is what we would call a "rip off". Another place where the management does not need to care about making customers happy as they are likely full most of the time due to their location. To be avoided if you can.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Blue_Ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberByronBay, Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and thank you for your comments as they help us to inform future guests about Byron Beachcomber Resort. Your stay with us during Easter coincides with the ever popular Blues and Roots Festival, making this time of year uniquely high season in Byron Bay, and prices do reflect the demand. We clearly market our property as self-catering with a weekly service, so I apologise that you were under a different impression. We offer studios and apartment accommodation only inclusive of resort amenities such as our heated salt-water pool, heated spa, BBQ, direct beach access, complimentary laundry and secure parking. A starter pack of fresh linen, towels, tea/coffee, soap/shampoo is supplied in rooms on arrival so you can relax after a day of travelling. Our property is 10 years old but is well maintained and the rooms are full of updates such as new furniture, beds, curtains, bedding, artwork, kitchen and bathroom refurbishments. We love welcoming our guests and helping in away we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
243 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
0.4 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
2.2 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beachcomber Resort

Address: 23 - 25 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range: $141 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Byron Beachcomber Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Byron Beachcomber Resort apartments in beautiful Byron Bay. We offer 34 spacious apartments suited to couples and singles alike. The property boasts a solar heated pool and spa, BBQ area and direct beach access to the pristine bay. It is also only a 5 minute walk to the heart of Byron where you can enjoy the cafes, shops, markets, main beach and all that this fabulous seaside town has to offer. The accommodation offers the best of both worlds as you can enjoy both relaxation and a chance to take in all the action. Make your next Byron Bay getaway a beachside escape at the Beachcomber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Byron Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Beachcomber Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing