We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing beachside apartment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Byron Beachcomber Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing beachside apartment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in a studio apartment that we booked relatively last minute for a very reasonable price. We were impressed with the location being less than a 5 min walk from the town centre with beach access through a private gate at the front of the property. The room was well prepared with comfortable bedding, good quality towels and the provision of tea, coffee and laundry powder. The pool area was well maintained and clean and we had plenty of opportunity to use the sun lounges along with other guests. We also made use of the poolside BBQ area. Another handy addition was the free washing machines on site. Overall we had a very lovely time here and would definitely come again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the back of the motel next door which was not extremely desirable, I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kec85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    58
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
32
84
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I booked a long weekend here with my son for a long planned special getaway and surf lessons. Booked via Agoda, and to be fair, it was non-refundable (the only option on the site.). The day before we left, the forecast was for heavy rains, flash floods, and dangerous/damaging winds. The bureau of meteorology and the SES had warnings to avoid the area. I decided to cancel. Virgin refunded my airfare no problem because of the weather forecast. Agoda said happy to refund hotel, but owner said no, that the weather was fine. (With radar showing huge storm there!) I understand he has a business and asked him to keep first night but refund me the other two nights, or give a partial refund. He wouldn't budge, no refund at all, told me I shouldn't have booked via Agoda ( although they tried to organise a refund and said the owner refused.). I found his attitude rigid and heartless. I didn't appreciate his lying about the weather- I heard from the surf instructor the weather was so dangerous they cancelled all lessons.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank friendinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberByronBay, Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear friendinoz, Again I apologize for your unhappiness regarding our cancellation policy in relation to your non-refundable booking via Agoda. Approaching us with a demand to refund the booking and then a promise to write us a negative review if we didn’t comply, does not change our policy. An option for you could have been to make a direct booking with us which would have provided you with more options in case of cancellation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband I stayed at Byron Beachcomber Resort for a week. Wow, what a place. We would definitely stay there again. We stayed in a self-contained one bedroom room apartment and it was large, clean, nicely decorated and quiet. Good quality linen was provide along with shampoo, conditioner and soaps. It had a private balcony which we enjoyed. Also loved the air-conditioning and comfortable couches for watching TV during the heat of the day. It is very secure, with underground parking provided and key entry to the back gate and after 7pm (I think) for the front door. There was a laundry room which was available to use free of charge. What a service.

The location is excellent. While the property is on Shirley Road, the main road in and out of town it was quiet. It was a few minutes walk to get into town on the footpath. The backpackers is two doors down and we only heard loud noise on Christmas Eve, which was to be expected. The property backs on to the old train line, the bush and then the beach. This section of Byron Bay beach is uncrowded, and is just a few minutes walk to the main drag. There was lots of birds and trees around the property which made the atmosphere very tranquil. The pool, spa and BBQ area are gorgeous and we spent lots of time enjoying them. We were often the only people using them, I cant believe how uncrowded the place felt despite being full.

The staff members were really nice. Ben was very helpful and the cleaner was the most bubbly person I have ever met. I'll have what she's having!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaireBare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have been a repeat visitor at this fantastic property and recommend it to all my family and friends. The rooms are large and excellently equipped with anything you can imagine. Housekeeping is superb and friendly! The managers, Ben & Lesley, are friendly and helpful and Ben is a gun at dealing with any rule breakers! (Loud drunks in the spar after 10pm - Ben was just a phone call away & had them out in a flash! Impressive!) Kid friendly however have been alone and also as a couple and each time it's ticked all the boxes!! Hands down the best location in town - 5 minutes walk to town and one of the rare Byron properties with beach access!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victorian_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is great value for money. The rooms were immaculate, great size for 2 people, with a cute balcony. The pool was lovely and relaxing. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Location was fabulous, a short walk to the centre of town. very secure as well. Couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louloulife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived Christmas eve, our second year in a row! So glad to be back :) had our same amazing room upstairs overlooking the pool and spa. Our two children had their own room and bathroom! Perfect :) We had a delivery of food ordered to our room before we arrived, Ben the manager kindly put everything away in our fridge ready for our arrival.Thankyou :) . Also just love how close the beach and town is! We had the best holiday and can't wait to go back. 5 Stars

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirrabilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We made a booking at the Beachcomber Resort and by mistake booked a room for 3 when we had 2 adults and 2 kids. We tried to re-book, but there were no larger rooms available over the peak period. A telephone call to try and resolve the problem was greeted with an argumentative manager and although there was a month to go, we were charged a $100 'administration fee'. Impressive customer service..I'm glad we didn't go and see what the rest was like!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberByronBay, Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
The booking was made through booking.com and our cancellation policy with this agent is clearly stated: if cancelled or modified up to 14 days before date of arrival, 100 percent of the first night will be charged. A confirmed booking indicates acceptance of the terms and conditions. Since the booking was made incorrectly and simply not just a change of mind, I absorbed part of the cancellation fee. We cannot change our maximum occupancy policy simply because you ring us and demand we do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
2.2 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
1.7 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beachcomber Resort

Property: Byron Beachcomber Resort
Address: 23 - 25 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Byron Beachcomber Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Byron Beachcomber Resort apartments in beautiful Byron Bay. We offer 34 spacious apartments suited to couples and singles alike. The property boasts a solar heated pool and spa, BBQ area and direct beach access to the pristine bay. It is also only a 5 minute walk to the heart of Byron where you can enjoy the cafes, shops, markets, main beach and all that this fabulous seaside town has to offer. The accommodation offers the best of both worlds as you can enjoy both relaxation and a chance to take in all the action. Make your next Byron Bay getaway a beachside escape at the Beachcomber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Byron Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Beachcomber Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing