We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel, Amazing Staff”
Review of Cape Byron YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cape Byron YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The YHA was really clean and tidy, with really friendly staff (all of them!) who helped us out with various inquiries about days out and had really informative advice from their own experiences. Kitchen was basic but clean, nice pool area, great location, beds were comfortable and it seems like the rooms and hostel was cleaned on a regular basis. They also offered free hiring of body boards and bikes which were great for getting around the area. They also picked us up from the bus stop (just around the corner) in the evening when the bus was late. This is a great hostel and I would highly recommend it when staying in Byron Bay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracee_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you!!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Byron and are glad we were able to meet your bus its always difficult to make sure we can provide that service for everyone especially the late buses haha. As I mentioned in a previous response its great to get feedback about our staff as they all try hard to make sure everyone is helped out and gets all the info they need so we will pass that on!!

Thanks again and safe travels!!

Regards

Cape Byron YHA!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 405 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

So before any of you read this, you might want to remember that this is a hostel and one must have hostel expectations. We were greeted by a great courtesy bus from the greyhound station that drove us to the hostel (like a 3 minute drive so great location, right in the middle of town and 5 minute walk to beach) and were given a top sheet (hurray!!....very rare so far in Australia which is crazy as its so hot and who's going to use a comforter?!) and pillow case.

Our room was clean and the bunk beds stable. The hostel is really nice with a pool in the middle and quite a large common room and dining area upstairs. We didn't use the kitchen facilities but it looked decent enough, The reception staff are incredibly helpful and helped us figure out a walk to the lighthouse for sunrise and a sea kayak tour which was awesome. Always smiling and joking around....oh and laundry facilities are great too!

The only thing I would have to complain about is noise at night. There are signs that say keep the noise to a minimum after 11pm but the outdoor dining area upstairs can be a bit loud as well as the people who (selfishly) slam their doors shut at night. But I'm a light sleeper and noticed others were sleeping alright. Also a fan in the room helped with noise and air circulation

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3inthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you so much for you Review!!

We are glad you enjoyed the hostel and all the things you did in Byron. We appreciate the feedback about helpful staff as we pride ourselve in the service we give and being as informative as possible so thanks!!!

Noise is always an issue for any hostel but some times its better than other maybe next time you come it will be a bit better :)

Enjoy the rest of your travels guys and thanks again!!!

Regards from the Team at Cape Byron YHA!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Cape Byron YHA was a great place to stay for us for our 3 days here. The staff is amazing, so friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean. Amazing lounge chairs by the pool to have a nap. Very central to everything!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thanks Guys!! Haha we love that you loved napping by the pool in the loungers, this seems to be one of our most popular activities... Thank you very much for the review and we hope you enjoy the rest of your trip!

Safe travels and we would love to have you back anytime!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We travelled as a pair and loved cape byron! Staff were really helpful and knowledgeable. There was free wifi in the lounge area, and free bikes. Pool was lovely and there was lots of outside seating area where you.could eat and relax.

It was quite expensive but we stayed over the weekend. Only problems no locker in room but could keep valuables behind reception.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you Holly!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and some of the great free things we offer :)

We are working on lockers at the moment and getting quotes to get them installed so hopefully next time you come we will have them in your room!!

See you guys next time we would love to have you back!!!

Regards from the Team at Cape BYron YHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay here, we were mostly out & about in Byron Bay so the hostel wasn't too important really. It's in a great location near to the beach, near to Aldi & near to the main street - perfect! Rooms were ok, standard for hostels we've stayed in across Australia. Wifi was free if you liked them on Facebook, fine by me!
Joel was exceptionally helpful, very nice guy. He helped with the booking process & then in person to recommend good cheap restaurants, things to do in town, nothing was too much trouble, it was great to have someone genuinely willing to help.
The hostel has free bikes too which we took for a spin! Great fun.
If you're on a budget, go for it!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you Melissa!

We are glad you made the most of your stay here. We enjoy to offer free things like bikes and WifI and are glad they were appreciated!!

We would love to have you back to stay and thank you for the kind words

Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Kind Regards,

The Team at Cape Byron YHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed my stay. Was a bit disappointed with the excessive chlorine in the pool and wished I could have checked in early as I arrived at 10.30am from Brisbane. Glad to have found accommodation so close to the beach, a skip from Aldi's supermarket and a jump from the towns busy nightlife without being in the middle of it. The café next door is a bit pricey but it is worth it. The communal bathrooms need a bit of maintenance as only 1 shower worked on the first floor out of 3. And although advertised and selected while booking, there was no air conditioning, with a wall mount fan which barely spat out any air. Also only 1 power plug point per room.

Room Tip: The pool has excessive chlorine, so be wary how long you spend in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwayCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Hello!

Thank you for your review we appreciate any feedback as it helps us improve on our guest’s hostel experience. I am concerned that you point out air con was advertised in your room? We do have rooms with air con and to my knowledge do not advertise anywhere that all rooms have aircon, I would like you to get in touch and let us know if this was not the case and you were misinformed in any way.

Check-in time is 12pm. Guests rarely have to wait till then only on very busy days. Our 10am checkout time means that a 10.30 check-in is simply not possible unless the room is empty; however our free wifi and free luggage storage normally keep people happy until the rooms are ready.

We are aware of the pressure problems in the shower and are scheduled to replace the water saving shower heads as well as put four way power points in the room (we provide four way powerboards on request). We have been working toward getting these done so appreciate the feedback…

On a final note our pool is consistently monitored and chlorine is administered according to the test results we get. Sundive use this pool many times a week to train divers and haven’t complained to me at all.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip in Australia and would like you to get in touch if you would like to come back to Byron Bay we would love to have you again so we could improve your opinion of our awesome hostel!!

Regards,

The Team at Cape Byron YHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Among the good points I'd mention the staff, who was really friendly and helpful (pick up from greyhound, guy from reception who changed the room I booked in order to allow me to check in sooner, free guided tour to lighthouse) and the location, close to beaches and the main street. However, the hostel is old and not that clean (pool, bathrooms,..) and from my experience very noisy at night - but I understand this is due to unrespectful people who chat aloud outside of the rooms at 4am and not to the hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matilde P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Hey there!

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the kind words about our staff being friendly and helpful and are glad you enjoyed the location. It is always a challenge to keep a hostel looking nice and clean and am sorry if your impression was otherwise. Generally we have times where guests are clean and tidy and times where they are not. Our staff endeavor to keep our high standards but sometimes this is a real challenge.

As far as noise goes this, as you mentioned, can come down to a couple of people who have no concern for others we apologize on their behalf.

We hope you come to stay again!!

Happy Travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.1 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
0.1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 65 in Byron Bay
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#16 of 65 in Byron Bay
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Byron YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Byron YHA

Address: Cnr Byron and Middleton Sts, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $43 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Byron YHA 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make sure you stay in the heart of Byron Bay - backpacker's paradise with superb beaches and scenery and lots of nightlife. Cape Byron YHA is a purpose-built hostel in the centre of town, just 100m to the beach. Relaxed atmosphere with common areas surrounding a large heated pool and BBQ area. Free use of bikes and boogie boards. Cafe, dive centre and seperate TV/reading room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cape Byron YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing