We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and good hostel. Would reccomend!”
Review of Cape Byron YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape Byron YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great staff and good hostel. Would reccomend!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We travelled as a pair and loved cape byron! Staff were really helpful and knowledgeable. There was free wifi in the lounge area, and free bikes. Pool was lovely and there was lots of outside seating area where you.could eat and relax.

It was quite expensive but we stayed over the weekend. Only problems no locker in room but could keep valuables behind reception.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you Holly!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and some of the great free things we offer :)

We are working on lockers at the moment and getting quotes to get them installed so hopefully next time you come we will have them in your room!!

See you guys next time we would love to have you back!!!

Regards from the Team at Cape BYron YHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    101
    52
    16
    4
See reviews for
8
54
138
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay here, we were mostly out & about in Byron Bay so the hostel wasn't too important really. It's in a great location near to the beach, near to Aldi & near to the main street - perfect! Rooms were ok, standard for hostels we've stayed in across Australia. Wifi was free if you liked them on Facebook, fine by me!
Joel was exceptionally helpful, very nice guy. He helped with the booking process & then in person to recommend good cheap restaurants, things to do in town, nothing was too much trouble, it was great to have someone genuinely willing to help.
The hostel has free bikes too which we took for a spin! Great fun.
If you're on a budget, go for it!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you Melissa!

We are glad you made the most of your stay here. We enjoy to offer free things like bikes and WifI and are glad they were appreciated!!

We would love to have you back to stay and thank you for the kind words

Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Kind Regards,

The Team at Cape Byron YHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed my stay. Was a bit disappointed with the excessive chlorine in the pool and wished I could have checked in early as I arrived at 10.30am from Brisbane. Glad to have found accommodation so close to the beach, a skip from Aldi's supermarket and a jump from the towns busy nightlife without being in the middle of it. The café next door is a bit pricey but it is worth it. The communal bathrooms need a bit of maintenance as only 1 shower worked on the first floor out of 3. And although advertised and selected while booking, there was no air conditioning, with a wall mount fan which barely spat out any air. Also only 1 power plug point per room.

Room Tip: The pool has excessive chlorine, so be wary how long you spend in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your review we appreciate any feedback as it helps us improve on our guest’s hostel experience. I am concerned that you point out air con was advertised in your room? We do have rooms with air con and to my knowledge do not advertise anywhere that all rooms have aircon, I would like you to get in touch and let us know if this was not the case and you were misinformed in any way.

Check-in time is 12pm. Guests rarely have to wait till then only on very busy days. Our 10am checkout time means that a 10.30 check-in is simply not possible unless the room is empty; however our free wifi and free luggage storage normally keep people happy until the rooms are ready.

We are aware of the pressure problems in the shower and are scheduled to replace the water saving shower heads as well as put four way power points in the room (we provide four way powerboards on request). We have been working toward getting these done so appreciate the feedback…

On a final note our pool is consistently monitored and chlorine is administered according to the test results we get. Sundive use this pool many times a week to train divers and haven’t complained to me at all.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip in Australia and would like you to get in touch if you would like to come back to Byron Bay we would love to have you again so we could improve your opinion of our awesome hostel!!

Regards,

The Team at Cape Byron YHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Among the good points I'd mention the staff, who was really friendly and helpful (pick up from greyhound, guy from reception who changed the room I booked in order to allow me to check in sooner, free guided tour to lighthouse) and the location, close to beaches and the main street. However, the hostel is old and not that clean (pool, bathrooms,..) and from my experience very noisy at night - but I understand this is due to unrespectful people who chat aloud outside of the rooms at 4am and not to the hostel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matilde P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hey there!

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the kind words about our staff being friendly and helpful and are glad you enjoyed the location. It is always a challenge to keep a hostel looking nice and clean and am sorry if your impression was otherwise. Generally we have times where guests are clean and tidy and times where they are not. Our staff endeavor to keep our high standards but sometimes this is a real challenge.

As far as noise goes this, as you mentioned, can come down to a couple of people who have no concern for others we apologize on their behalf.

We hope you come to stay again!!

Happy Travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

After only one week in the Cape Byron YHA, I no longer wanted to find a share house or other type of accommodation in Byron because I already had everything I needed right here. Weeks turned into months and the YHA Cape Byron is now my home away from home. Everyone is friendly from guests to staff, the pool is brilliant, the bikes are convenient and the location is unparalleled. I love this hostel and would reccommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Byron bay whether it be for a short holiday or a longer period of time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisburrill95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hey Chris!!

Thank you for the review mate! We appriciate it.

We loved having you to stay and welcome you back anytime.

Good luck with your studies and let us know if your coming down for your study breaks at all.

Thanks from the Whole team at Cape Byron YHA... Even Agus.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at this hostel for 3 nights and I couldn't recommend it more. After a 14 hour bus journey from Sydney over night, it was nice to discover someone from the hostel there waiting to pick us up and take us to the hostel. The reception staff are extremely friendly and helpful! The rooms and all of the facilities are all clean, if you are going to Byron Bay then staying here is a must! It is a 2 minute walk to the beach and about a 5 minute walk to all the bars and shops. If you are there when the free walking tour is on make sure that you do it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaF1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thanks NIcola!! We really appreciate the review and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip and we would love to have you guys back sometime :)!!!
Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Super friendly staff! Give good tips on trips and what to do around the area etc. Everything (beach, supermarket, party areas) within walking distance of max 10 min, but no noise in the night. Rooms are spacious, nice and clean. So is the kitchen and there's a nice sized pool as well.
What more can you wish for in breath taking Byron bay? Def. stay here!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you Emma!! It was great to have you here and thank you so much for the maltesers they were delicious! Enjoy the rest of you trip!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#30 of 65 in Byron Bay
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Byron YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Byron YHA

Property: Cape Byron YHA
Address: Cnr Byron and Middleton Sts, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make sure you stay in the heart of Byron Bay - backpacker's paradise with superb beaches and scenery and lots of nightlife. Cape Byron YHA is a purpose-built hostel in the centre of town, just 100m to the beach. Relaxed atmosphere with common areas surrounding a large heated pool and BBQ area. Free use of bikes and boogie boards. Cafe, dive centre and seperate TV/reading room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Cape Byron YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing