We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hostel!”
Review of Cape Byron YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape Byron YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Excellent Hostel!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at this hostel for 3 nights and I couldn't recommend it more. After a 14 hour bus journey from Sydney over night, it was nice to discover someone from the hostel there waiting to pick us up and take us to the hostel. The reception staff are extremely friendly and helpful! The rooms and all of the facilities are all clean, if you are going to Byron Bay then staying here is a must! It is a 2 minute walk to the beach and about a 5 minute walk to all the bars and shops. If you are there when the free walking tour is on make sure that you do it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaF1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thanks NIcola!! We really appreciate the review and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip and we would love to have you guys back sometime :)!!!
Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    101
    52
    16
    4
See reviews for
8
54
138
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Super friendly staff! Give good tips on trips and what to do around the area etc. Everything (beach, supermarket, party areas) within walking distance of max 10 min, but no noise in the night. Rooms are spacious, nice and clean. So is the kitchen and there's a nice sized pool as well.
What more can you wish for in breath taking Byron bay? Def. stay here!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you Emma!! It was great to have you here and thank you so much for the maltesers they were delicious! Enjoy the rest of you trip!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at this Yha and our lovely big double room with own bathroom was great. The pool was good but sun beds in poor conditions. Staff were helpful and gave us some good tips about the area. Kitchen was challenge, with gas hobs not lighting automatically nor were there matches. The smokers with lighter were popular ! The location is superb, 2 mins from beach and same from cafes and restaurants. Byron Bay itself is fun and quirky, well worth a stop. The only downside was the dive centre next door. Early morning(6am) clanking of air bottles and revving of boat motor did make an early start inevitable. Also as dive school used pool for training it was sometimes not possible to use it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you so much for the Review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback. We will see what can be done about the noise in room 10 and mention it to other visitors when they arrive. Also great to bring the gas hobs to our attention we will investigate if we can install an automatic lighter on them...it is a great idea!

So thanks again and see you next time.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

This is the typical large hostel in a young city. People are everywhere and therefore their stuff is everywhere- swimsuits hanging from every possible location.

I do tend to prefer smaller hostels where the facilities are cleaner, you don't have to pay to rent kitchen supplies, or towels, etc. But they seemed to have a good, organized system down for doing it if you would like.

We were there at a very busy time for Byron Bay- school is out so it was very crowded with people so it may be different when there aren't as many people there.

The guy at the front desk was SO friendly and helpful with recommendations and tips etc. and took the time to give us an orientation of the city

Although the WIFI is free, I was never able to get it to work for me and others had the same problem. [Went to a great cafe around the corner though with live music so it all worked out :) ]

The bathrooms were dirty and no lockers or safes in the rooms. If / when I go back to Byron Bay, I will probably try to stay at a different hostel although I have definitely stayed in much worse.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

On the whole we really enjoyed our stay here - the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, the bathrooms were good, the pool was lovely, the kitchen was well equipped and the hostel itself was in a great location. The only thing we would complain about though is that they close off the communal areas in the hostel after 10pm, so you literally have nowhere to sit but in your room (and then obviously if people are sleeping in your room it makes things difficult!) If this hadn't been an issue then I wouldn't have anything to complain about.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My partner and I only stayed here for one night and that was enough for us. We paid for a private room and the room itself was one of the more basic hostel rooms I have ever seen. It felt as though we were in a jail cell with the grimey cinder block walls and the cheap single beds. The bathrooms were quite a walk from the room making it rather inconvenient at night. The pool looked really nice and they had sheltered parking which were pluses, but overall not the place to go if looking for a nicer more modern hostel. The kitchen also seemed to have funny hours as my partner and I wake early we couldn't access any of our food. The location was good,but everything is close in Byron anyways so I wouldn't stay here just for that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanna7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Public Relations Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello Lanna,

I am trying to get as much responses to our reviews as possible. I am going through some past reviews from before I started at the hostel at the end of last year, and replying to them where necessary.

Your review was the worst we received last year so I would like to respond to it and ask for any feedback if you feel it is necessary. I most certainly agree that the double rooms are basic and we are working this year to improve them and would welcome any suggestions.

The first point you make is the cinder block. The trouble with it is we would love to clad the walls with wood or something softer than the brick but this is a haven for all sort of bugs etc so not a possibility however we will be painting them and putting in new fittings and artworks any other ideas would be welcome (we plan to re-floor all these rooms also).

I would like to mention that the bathrooms are at the end of the corridor from the double rooms so unless people book an en suite room this seems a fairly normal distance.

I would also like to point out that our Kitchen is open from 6 am till 10 pm every day and closed for cleaning at 2 pm for 45 mins, fair hours for operation in my opinion...

Thank you for review and please if you have any suggestions for our improvements to the double rooms we would love to hear from you (byronyha@nrg.com.au - Attn: Joel)

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and would invite you come back again if you are back in Byron Bay we would love to accommodate you and improve your experience.

Kind Regards

Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Was the only yha still available when I needed to book and it's not bad. Clean place and friendly staff. Rooms needed to have lockers in them and a few more outlets. Five of us in the room were constantly swapping out chargers as soon as one of us were done charging. Location was great and close to the town and the beach.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 65 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Byron YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Byron YHA

Property: Cape Byron YHA
Address: Cnr Byron and Middleton Sts, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make sure you stay in the heart of Byron Bay - backpacker's paradise with superb beaches and scenery and lots of nightlife. Cape Byron YHA is a purpose-built hostel in the centre of town, just 100m to the beach. Relaxed atmosphere with common areas surrounding a large heated pool and BBQ area. Free use of bikes and boogie boards. Cafe, dive centre and seperate TV/reading room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cape Byron YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing