We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Cape Byron YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cape Byron YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I'd called the night before, looking to book a dorm bed. Nothing but friendliness on the phone came back.

I showed up to check in the next morning, and a smiling Todd got me set up within minutes, and gave me directions to the surf breaks, all within walking distance. He's great on local resources for surfers, and knows where to send you are according to your experience level. I was able to leave my surfboard in my room with no worries.

If you "Like" them on Facebook, you can have free Internet access (via wifi or hostel computers).

The place is crisp, clean, spacious, and well looked after. Nice big pool, too!

Just a good vibe overall, peaceful but not uptight, and it's ideally located -- close to everything, but well out of earshot of the late-night bawdiness. Don't worry about not getting a good night's sleep here.

A real treat after I'd stayed four nights elsewhere, at a place where common courtesy didn't appear to be in the cards as far as keeping noise down went.

Great place. Good people working here (Dana behind the counter is great, too). Go ahead, book your bed, and don't worry any further.

Thanks, guys.

Room Tip: Just show up. Or book ahead. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFSpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 404 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed here for a night and the room was very comfortable considering I had just come off a 12 hour bus from Sydney. It has everything that you need except lockers in rooms. The people I was sharing with where great so you felt you could leave stuff in the room without any worries, but possibly something for the future maybe? It is ideally located as well being one street away from the Main Street of Byron Bay and it is less than 5 minutes walk from the beach. I would recommend anybody to stay here.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank mjd6888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here (in a 5 bed share dorm) midweek for a short break. Compares well facility wise and cleanliness, quietness and locality to any hostel nationally or internationally. Does need lockers in room as the peace of mind this brings for someone who has had things go missing in other hostlels is somewhat important. Also, smoking directly outside rooms is not so enjoyable for a non-smoker. Cooking and bathroom facilities were clean and reasonably appointed and the idea of a $5 (refundable) charge for crockery appeals to me as it makes guests accountable to clean and care for their own dishes. Overall, excellently positioned in a central yet relatively quiet side street with all Byron Bay has to offer within walking distance. No problem recommending this hostel to backpackers or other budget travellers.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank Johnnygypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I only spent 2 nights in Cape Byron YHA but it was nice. The hostel is located within 3 minutes walking from the beach, 3 minutes from the start of the road leading to Cape Byron lighthouse and only 5 minutes walking from the main bus/coach stop (which is very convenient for backpackers traveling more or less light :)). The rooms and bathrooms were very clean, the staff very friendly. The only 2 things I could regret is that there is no locker in the rooms and no easy web access (wifi only accessible near the reception desk). I spent a nice stay there and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evesat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We only stayed for two nights over three days but we had a great experience. The staff were all friendly and made us feel very much at home, giving us a lot of helpful hints and suggestions. We were able to get a 4-person dorm for just the two of us because it was not the high season. I just loved the homeyness of the place, and wish we could have stayed longer. ATM located in lounge area, close to town and beaches, wi-fi, pool (we didn't use it, too cold). Would definitely stay here again, even though I think there are cheaper places in town. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sayohat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Few days here. Good common room, cooking and eating areas. Hostel well laid out room wise, but a lot of noise carries with people drinking and chatting outside at night. Toilets can be a bit if a trek. And are cleaned at peak times. Weird. Jas is friendly, knowledgable and helpful, top host.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gacco29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Cape byron is a great YhA, close to everything yet secluded with its trees and outdoor pool! Friendly and helpful staff and nice common areas! Clean rooms that you can tell were made for hostel purposes! Great coffee nearby too!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 34 in Byron Bay
244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
0.1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#32 of 65 in Byron Bay
404 reviews
1.2 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#5 of 65 in Byron Bay
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Byron YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Byron YHA

Address: Cnr Byron and Middleton Sts, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $24 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Byron YHA 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make sure you stay in the heart of Byron Bay - backpacker's paradise with superb beaches and scenery and lots of nightlife. Cape Byron YHA is a purpose-built hostel in the centre of town, just 100m to the beach. Relaxed atmosphere with common areas surrounding a large heated pool and BBQ area. Free use of bikes and boogie boards. Cafe, dive centre and seperate TV/reading room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cape Byron YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing