We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back atmosphere with great staff!”
Review of Cape Byron YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cape Byron YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I came here after two nights at Nomad’s. I was placed in a 5 bed female only room and the space seemed adequate for all of us. There are four cubbies but no lockers. The rooms mainly surround a central courtyard where there is a swimming pool. There are toilets on both levels, and a laundry room at the first level. They have internet, but no wifi. You can hire body boards from the reception, but not surf boards.

The kitchen, on the second floor, seemed a reasonable size for accommodating the number of people cooking. There are quite a few burners on the stove tops but only two sinks, so the back-up tends to happen while doing dishes. There seemed to be plenty of refrigerator and shelf space. There was also free coffee and tea in the kitchen. Although the bathrooms were small - four toilets and three showers on each level - people tended to be on different schedules and there weren’t long waits. They did tend to clean the showers around 9am, but you can just go to the opposite floor and use the showers there! The reception takes a $20 key deposit and a $5 cutlery deposit, so be sure to have extra cash.

I cannot say enough good things about the staff here! They are all very pleasant and extremely helpful! When I wanted to stay an extra night and they were full, they encouraged me to continuously check back with them in case of a cancellation, which did happen. They were even able to shift some things around so I could stay in the same room and not have to move my things. They were absolutely great! They recommended places to get coffee, and surf shops to rent boards from. Very friendly, welcoming staff!!

The noise level was much better than that of Nomad’s! In addition, I did not get my ankles chewed by bed bugs - a huge relief that I had taken for granted until my previous hostel :)
I recommend Cape Byron YHA to anyone looking to just relax and enjoy Byron Bay with other friendly travellers!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surf207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 408 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in a 10 bed female dorm.
No lockers for valuables. This is worth an improvement. Small mirror and shelf in the room, liked that. Though the room was full it never felt packed, we had enough space for luggage and to walk.

Biggest downside were the bathrooms. The showers are in need of an urgent improvement. I know that some people behave like pigs, cause I worked in hospitality. But still it was yukky to have so many hairs in the shower. And anyway the bathrooms looked like they needed a renovation. Especially the showers were poor with no place to put your dry cloths..
I stayed in the Nomads before and they defo score with the bathrooms where every shower has an inside door, so you got like a small extra cabin where you can get dressed and everything stays dry.

Atmosphere in room and hostel has been nice and relaxed. Nice places to sit outside, nice pool. We did not use the kitchen, but it seemed quite small. Internet was pricy. I Always appreciate free Wifi in hostels.

Hostel is close to everything in Byron and just a short walk to beach and bus.
Staff has been friendly and helpfull.

As I mentioned before I stayed at the Nomads as well and defo liked the Cape Byron better. Apart from the bathromms the cape Byron is the better choice for me and was overall a good experience. Would stay again :-)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apolda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I travelled from Brisbane YHA to Cape Byron YHA and the difference couldn't be bigger. Brisbane YHA is huge, with big rooms, big lockers and a big kitchen. Cape Byron YHA is really small. A very small kitchen, small rooms: 5 girls in one room with their luggage is a bit too much. There are no lockers in the room, which is really a bad thing! You can pay (?) for lockers outside, but that system didn't work either. They clean the shared bathrooms around 9 AM in the morning, which is a really annoying time, especially if you have to check out at 10 AM. Positive notes: The staff was really nice and helpful and the location is fine!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the deck. It is quite noisy up there during the early morning and a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The rooms are poor, no en suite, air con or tv even when you are paying over $100 a night for a private room. It is well worth upgrading to the better ensuite rooms as it isnt that much more expensive.

On the plus the service is great and there is free boogy board and bike hire.

I think the accomadation generally in byron is more expensive than other places but if you stay at the yha in brisbane and compare it to here you will feel physically sick that this is more expensive when you compare the two!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stustustustustu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights in October.
The room was ok, still a bit pricy, but that's what you get in Australia.
The good thing about this place is that the curfew is actually enforced at 11pm. The night staff asks people to leave after that time, which ensures you that noone is drinking/being loud outside your door during the night.
This is a diving center, so you need to avoid the rooms located close to the "compressor cupboard", which makes a hell of a racket every morning from 9.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed in Cape Byron YHA on the way down to Sydney. There were many people there though felt relaxed at the same time. Set in the middle of Byron Bay it is in walking distance of the bulk of Byron. Everything was very clean, the staff not the friendliest, but nonetheless worth checking out.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed in a private 3 bed room which was really basic although clean. The bathroom was miles away but was also very clean. The staff were friendly but the due to the size of the hostel it didn't have a very welcoming feel. The kitchen was good and had everything you needed and the location was also good. Free boogieboards if you wanted to use them and the pool was also nice and often empty, although it did frequently have scuba lessons in it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoandSallytravelAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers
Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers
#34 of 65 in Byron Bay
424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Backpackers Holiday Village
#10 of 65 in Byron Bay
434 reviews
1.2 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#5 of 65 in Byron Bay
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#16 of 65 in Byron Bay
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
#19 of 65 in Byron Bay
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Byron YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Byron YHA

Address: Cnr Byron and Middleton Sts, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $61 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Byron YHA 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make sure you stay in the heart of Byron Bay - backpacker's paradise with superb beaches and scenery and lots of nightlife. Cape Byron YHA is a purpose-built hostel in the centre of town, just 100m to the beach. Relaxed atmosphere with common areas surrounding a large heated pool and BBQ area. Free use of bikes and boogie boards. Cafe, dive centre and seperate TV/reading room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cape Byron YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing