We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, peaceful place, mixed staff”
Review of Byron Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Byron Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great location near the beach and if the tide is out you can walk to town in 15 minutes. Beware of the tide as at one point the are some rocks and you can get cut off there.

The minibus times are advised, but are infrequent, depending on the driver depends on the helpfulness. The one German guy we had was helpful and friendly, the other guy wasn't and even though the bus was full he wouldn't go back for those who couldn't fit in. I think this is bad service.

The reception staff were generally extremely helpful and friendly but one girl was just rude and disinterested.

The place is very clean though and maintained to a high standard. It is also very peaceful, although rules on smoking and washing up should be enforced not just threatened.

It's good you can have beach towels for free, but the wifi at $1 for 15 minutes is a rip off! Especially when you can get it for free in town.

We booked a tour through reception, which was cancelled due to bad weather and they gave us a refund no problems.

Laundry facilities are very good and you can dry washing in a dryer or on a line.

We would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PinkladyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 479 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel style place. Our room was clean and great value for money. The shared bathroom facilities were spotless, obviously cleaned several times a day and there was never a wait to use anything. Very close to a lovely beach and about a 15 minute walk into centre of town. Bikes available to use and surf/body boards for hire. Lots of friendly backpackers from all around the world, although this does mean a bit of noise at night but not too late. Loved our stay here

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank jk_17_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I didn't have great expectations for a backpacker place in high season and booked primarily due to the price and proximity to town. Not only was I really happy with the stay, we would've gladly stayed longer and saw nothing comparable anywhere in Byron. Accommodation was spotless & well equipped with some lovely little touches - hammock, flat screen tv with foxtel. The staff were extremely helpful and even though they were clearly mainly travellers, they were knowledgeable, good natured and efficient. Yoga in the morning was gorgeous. Free bikes and we borrowed a ball for our little kids (aged 3 and 5) Across the road from the beach and a 10 min ride into town if that! Free shuttle bus too! We stayed in a family room and although we did have noisy neighbours one night, we anticipated a bit of revelry from young backpackers. Would recommend this little gem and hope that it never gets too commercial as its charm lies in it's modesty. Thankyou BBR x

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank DeanKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Used to love this place. Been staying here for over 20 years. But increasingly, even though they've tried to grow up from being a backpackers to a resort they haven't lost the immaturity of the backpacker mentality. The rooms we had were substandard. A double with ensuite. Nowhere to hang clothes. Not even a chair to put your bag on. Towels hung over toilet bowl and basin so tiny just brushing teeth ensured a soaked floor. And don't ask about filling up the kettle. Our sheet had some wieird blood stain. The ten buck deposit to get a bucket with plates and cutlery just showed no class. In the past everything was available in kitchen, no worries. Lose a knife and lose your deposit? It was a bit like being on a school camp. For $105- $140 you expect better. Maybe $105 is cheap in Byron bay but that's only because Australians are used to being ripped off for accomodation. Changing rooms is a bit tedious. you need to check out at ten and wait til 2 for your next room because they have an inflexible cleaning system manned by backpackers working for their keep. Ask if they could possibly clean your next room first seems like your causing trouble. But its fair to say staff are nice. Only kitchen cleaner we saw was a pissed backpacker, jovial enough, but bagging rubbish late at night. One man we met booked 2 months in advance to stay for 8 days only to be shunted from room to room and had to push to get the advertised discount you get for 3 days or more because, they argued they didn't have to give it to him because he wasn't consecutively in the same room for 3 days. This place used to be more inclusive and not pretending to be something it wasn't. There is a pervasive inflexibility here. We've also stayed in a suite for $170/night and a sign above the sink in the room says if you don't wash your dishes you'll be charged an extra $25. All class. Too much attitude. Again, why is this a resort?? We were kind of glad to go but sad that we wouldnt be back. It is what it is, but bottom line, you don't feel like a valued guest.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vlatko_Burek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and I wish it could have been more! The kitchen and social areas are excellent with really good facilities and the dorm rooms are great. This is a great place to relax and only 2 mins walk to the beach. It is also a really nice, 20 min walk down the beach to get to the main stretch of shops in Byron Bay. Alternatively, they have a free shuttle which runs regularly to town and the staff are really friendly.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kevinmc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a private room with ensuite which was really nice. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy.
Staff were very helpful and friendly and even though it is located a bit from the town center, it was pretty cool to have your own "private" beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stidgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here in July 2013 in the funky cottages with partner and parents. Was soooo much more than I expected having paid very little for our stay. What value for money! The staff were so friendly and laid back and the extras like free beach towel hire and cheap surf board hire was a pleasant addition. The resort is only across the road from a lovely secluded beach and the free shuttle service provided to and from Byron centre was very handy! Such a quirky, colourful little gem and I would not hesitate to recommend in future.

Room Tip: Go for the cottages, really cool and perfect if there is a group of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chezzabelle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#34 of 65 in Byron Bay
416 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
405 reviews
1.2 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
3.1 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
2 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beach Resort

Address: 25 Childe St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Belongil Beachhouse)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $44 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Byron Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Beach Resort should be your choice if you're looking for an affordable beachside Byron getaway. Opposite the magical Belongil Beach we're a casual stroll (15 minutes) into Byron, or several minutes by car or our regular free shuttle bus. We have a a diverse range of options for all travelers & budgets. Single sex & mixed dorm rooms, budget Doubles/Twins/Triples with and without en-suites, Queen Spa rooms, Group/Family rooms along with 4 x 2 B/R Cottages equipped with kitchen, Rainforest showerheads, outdoor settings & BBQ's set among our tranquil gardens. Onsite Yoga daily classes for all levels & a travel desk for all your needs. Clean, chilled and a relaxing environment is what you'll enjoy. Join us for an affordable 100% Real Byron Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Byron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belongil Beachhouse Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing