We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vibe and amenities”
Review of Byron Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Byron Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vibe and amenities”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had a wonderful overnight stay here, checked into the triple room (No1) which is right on the road - enjoyed the hammock outside our front door as well as the hustle and bustle of the restaurant next door.

Other highlights were the proximity to the beach and the early morning yoga session with Russ! Great spot if you want to escape the mayhem of Byron Bay itself!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntoniaESydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug M, Guest Relations Manager at Byron Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for your comments & your review. We agree that our beachside location adds to the vibe that daily increasing due to our staff and of course the guests. Also the introduction of the onsite Yoga courses with Russell has added an entire new dimension to the property & the experience that guests can enjoy.

We look forward to hopefully having you join us again. If you would like to keep up to date with all that's happening at BBR & Byron Bay check out our Facebook page @ byronbeachresortau

Thanks again for your review

Byron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    158
    59
    16
    19
See reviews for
56
140
110
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in private double, enjoyed our stay very much. Great staff and friendly atmosphere with a beautiful beach only 30 meters away! As with most hostels the kitchen can be crowded but the rooms were very clean and reasonably spacious. Would stay again, good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete_travels84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug M, Guest Relations Manager at Byron Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for your comments about our great beachside location! We're also happy to hear that you enjoyed the size of our rooms (The 40's rooms surprise most people) & got into the communal vibe whilst cooking in the kitchen.

We look forward to hopefully having you join us again. If you would like to keep up to date with all that's happening at BBR & Byron Bay check out our Facebook page @ byronbeachresortau

Thanks again for your review
Byron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Beautiful hostel, good location just a bit outside the city and across the beach. You can take yoga classes for $8 and yes it has a good hippy/surfer feel to it. There´s a bar restaurant next to it as well. And free shuttle bus to the city and back. Only if you want to go out later at night it means a taxi or walking. And might i suggest you get free wifi! that would make this place perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22ahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug M, Guest Relations Manager at Byron Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments in your review.

As you seemed to have experienced with our beachside location we are very much trying to create a "Byron Experience", which given our location we find suits many people looking to enjoy Byron, but just avoid all the exuberance that comes with it. Onsite Yoga has been a great revolution & we hope to continue expending its offering. In relation to your suggestion regarding free Wi Fi, nothing is "free" & if its offered as free its generally hidden in room charges. Offering Wi Fi on an individual basis means those that wish a "digital free getaway" aren't paying for Wi fi in slightly higher room charges.

We look forward to hopefully having you join us again. If you would like to keep up to date with all that's happening at BBR & Byron Bay check out our Facebook page @ byronbeachresortau

Thanks again for your review
Byron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed in the triple room ensuite, and this was perfect even though we were worried about being away from the centre of Byron Bay - glad we were away from the centre in fact. The room and bathroom is a lot more spacious than we expected, and there is a fridge and tea/coffee facilities that we weren't expecting. There is plenty parking space, staff were really friendly and helpful, and its in a really nice setting/ rd literally a stones throw away from the beach. Restaurant next door is really lively although there is not a lot to choose from on the menu. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yesdear007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was one of the best Hostels we have been in up to now. Very friendly stuff who are open for all your questions. The rooms are nice, very clean and quite big! It´s just a 30 sec. walk away from the beach, which is beautiful and clean. We were very surprised about the awesome idea of a shuttlebus that goes into Byron almost every hour and is for free. Bathroom and kitchen are nice and tidy too. We had a great weekend up in Byron.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug M, Guest Relations Manager at Byron Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi,
This is just a short thank you for your review & we will pass on your kind comments to our general & front desk staff. As previously outlined management truly appreciate any guest feedback, positive or otherwise. The owners & staff also enjoy reading comments about how clients have enjoyed and or noticed the improvements we've been continually making to the property since taking over.

Lastly, we hope to see you return in the future.

Thanks
Byron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a great experience at this little beach resort. Our family of 4 stayed in one of the two room cottages. At check in the staff welcomed us with open arms. Our cottage was ready for us early. Very clean and quiet located in the back of the the resort facing the rainforest. The beach was about 100 yards walk from the resort. Nice beach 1/2 mile walk to Byron Bay main beach. Uncrowded with a nice surf break. Friendly Silver Bullet coffee cafe' right at the resort in a Airstream trailer. Great coffee. Restaurant next door is great! This is the place for a relaxing stay without breaking the budget.

Room Tip: The cottages are great for 4 people. Kitchen, living room, master bedroom and loft with two beds. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug M, Guest Relations Manager at Byron Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for your comments & your review. We’re happy to read objective comments & thoughts from all guests. We truly use them as a method of assessing if there is anything that we could improve on, rather than what we may be doing right.

You should have already received a quick message from us regarding your reply, but we do like to reply to all reviews. In closing we look forward to seeing you again, and if you’d like to keep up to date with what’s happening at BBR & greater Byron Bay you can do so by following us or checking out our Facebook page (byronbeachresortau) .

Thanks for your review & look forward to having you return

Byron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place from the moment we arrived. Check in was smooth and efficient, we were given a very conveniently placed room; a quiet one at the back with well placed parking, and found the room clean and well appointed. We particularly loved the huge shower head over the bath, and also took advantage each night of the spa bath. The private outdoor patio area was also delightful, as was being woken by tropical birdsong each morning. Altogether a fantastic resort, and one we will be happily returning to for our next holiday in July, and for longer this time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosyBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug M, Guest Relations Manager at Byron Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for your great review & we're very happy to hear that you'll return & join us again. The only problem you've given us with your review is that we can't find any negatives in & our manager will need to look harder for areas to improve on!

Also given you've outlined a possible return in July for a longer period, I'd like to make sure you're aware of our current special of 15% off Bookings of a week or longer (across all room types). If you're not aware of this you can keep up to date on it by checking out our website, following us on our Facebook page (byronbeachresortau) even by emailing or ringing us.

Thanks for your review & look forward to having you return

Byron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
369 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#31 of 66 in Byron Bay
398 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beach Resort

Property: Byron Beach Resort
Address: 25 Childe St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Belongil Beachhouse)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Byron Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Beach Resort should be your choice if you're looking for an affordable beachside Byron getaway. Opposite the magical Belongil Beach we're a casual stroll (15 minutes) into Byron, or several minutes by car or our regular free shuttle bus. We have a a diverse range of options for all travelers & budgets. Single sex & mixed dorm rooms, budget Doubles/Twins/Triples with and without en-suites, Queen Spa rooms, Group/Family rooms along with 4 x 2 B/R Cottages equipped with kitchen, Rainforest showerheads, outdoor settings & BBQ's set among our tranquil gardens. Onsite Yoga daily classes for all levels & a travel desk for all your needs. Clean, chilled and a relaxing environment is what you'll enjoy. Join us for an affordable 100% Real Byron Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Byron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belongil Beachhouse Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing